We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kowloon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham HongKong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham HongKong to your Saves list
The Langham HongKong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Chittagong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Kowloon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Langham HK is the best hotel in Kowloon bar none. I visit HK every two months for work and I have stayed at various hotels both in Kowloon and on the HK side. The Langham HK has extraordinary service. From the time of check-in and all throughout my stay, each of the staff I came across made a genuine effort to know about my stay or attend to my requests. They did this with a smile even when I called at 1.00 am! The hotel lobby is very luxurious and has that old world European charm, the rooms are spotless and the bed is very comfortable. I truly enjoyed my stay in HK this time. I stayed at The Mira on my last 6 trips but from now on, it will be The Langham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Shaker308,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Chittagong. Thank you for your loyalty to The Langham, Hong Kong. We take great pride in our ability to create a special stay for our guests, so I am truly glad to hear we lived up to and exceeded your expectations.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    430
    71
    38
    13
See reviews for
348
700
118
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been to Hong Kong a couple of times and this is the second time that I'm staying at Kowloon instead of Hong Kong Island.

The nearest MTR to the hotel is Tsim Tsha Tsui station which is about a 5 to 8 minutes walk via the underpass. You are practically sheltered the entire way. The hotel is just across the row of branded boutiques such as Prada and Hermes which perpetually have a queue to get in. The hotel is also right next to the DFS shop. Because of that, there are usually a few tour buses parked just along the road outside the hotel. The area can get a little packed with tourists who travel in these coaches and ferries from Macau (the hotel is near the ferry terminal). As the hotel is located on Kowloon, if you intend to take a cab to Hong Kong Island, there is a toll/charge. Oh yes, upon arrival at HK airport, if there are at least two pax traveling to the hotel, taking the cab is much faster and cost almost the same as taking the hotel bus.

The room is pretty nice and the bed is really comfy. However, my room had a slightly odour which bothered me a little but I didn't want to go through the hassle of switching rooms. Service was excellent upon arrival and that was pretty much where the good service ended. The chambermaids and restaurants staff were really friendly but almost everyone else fell short of the 5-star service I expected and received during my previous stays in the Marriot and Shangri-La, both on HK island. No one greeted/smiled/acknowledged my husband and I at the lobby even though they see you coming right through their lobby entrance. They literally stare at you. Yeap. I was a little taken aback by that hostile greeting. I usually like boutique hotels because I have (or had) the impression that they are more intimate, but I have to say that larger 5-star establishments in HK seem to hit the right note with service instead. If you are willing to top up a bit more, my personal choice is Shangri-La.

Food at the Chinese restaurant (T'ang Court) is pretty good and not as expensive as I expected. The experience was made all the more pleasant as the waiters were really friendly and helpful. I recalled the lobster bisque being divine. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanDimtriou, Manager at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mrs. Scarlet,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I hope you and your husband had delightful trip back to Singapore and enjoyed your overall stay in Hong Kong.

I am pleased to hear that our location, arrival experience, guest room and our multi-award winning Michelin starred T’ang Court Cantonese Restaurant had a lasting memory on your stay with us. I am also delighted to hear that our Langham Blissful Beds were too your liking, as we have spent a lot of time on researching the ideal bed to guarantee a refreshing and indulgent sleep for our guests.

I am however concerned to learn of your comments in regards to the “odor” you described in your room; as well as the shortfall of the warm welcome you mentioned when you and your husband were heading in and out of our lobby entrance. I apologise that we fell short in this regards. To gain further insight into the details of your experience, I would be very keen to discuss your experience in more detail to enable to gather more specifics as to why this shortfall managed to occur. I have provided my contact details below and if you would be so kind as to contact with me to enable me to better understand the details of your experience.

Mrs. Scarlet, we are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is only through positive and constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our hotel operation more closely.

Thank you again for your transparent feedback and I do look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
Dean.Dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhongsan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We got the suite here, complimentary breakfast, tea time, and cocktail buffet. Room was well well laid out and luxury at it's finest. Service was insane. Every time we left the room, it was cleaned up again.

The breakfast buffet downstairs was incredible. The selection is so vast that we didn't eat the same thing after 4 days. All I can say is Wow. The best breakfast buffet I've ever had.

Can't say enough about this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Stephanie N,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Zhongsan. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a great experience while in our hotel. Thank you indeed for your comments and words on our staff and property itself. In fact, all our staff are oriented into exceeding guests´ expectations.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Langham HK twice, and both times been incredibly happy with the experience. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, with beautiful furnishings. The bed is incredibly comfortable, and the bathrooms are indulgent. We ate at all of the hotel's restaurants - with the T'ang Court being our absolute favourite. The meal was the least expensive meal I've ever eaten at a Michelin starred restaurant, but the service is polished, warm and friendly. We organised massages up in the health club, and Candy is a magician. We look forward to returning on our next trip to HK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Catherine L,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Melbourne. Thank you very much for posting your most recent travel and vacation experiences on Tripadvisor.

The entire team is delighted to hear that you spent, once again, wonderful and relaxing days in Hong Kong.

With pleasure we read that our employees exceeded your expectations regarding service and go the extra mile for our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us! We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Hong Kong soon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for over 15 years, even before it became the Langham and it just gets better and better. They recognize me as a regular and always take care of all my needs.
This hotel is in a great location, very close to shopping on Nathan road and an easy walk to the ferry and restaurants. There is a U.S style deli downstairs for some comfort food. The tailor in the lobby is very friendly and does a great job making custom clothing.
The lobby lounge is very comfortable and great to relax in the evening and very comfortable for meetings.

Room Tip: Most rooms are newly renovated. Try and get a room with a city view as some of the views are not goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Merrick F,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Florida. Thank you very much for publishing your experiences, concerning your loyalty at The Langham, Hong Kong on Tripadvisor.

It has been our pleasure and honor to be your host again and we are delighted to read that you have been very pleased with the services and facilities provided.

Your comments regarding the enjoyable dining experience and our service-minded employees, is highly appreciated by all of us.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back, for your next visit and wish you a wonderful day.

Take good care, best regards and once again thank you for staying with us.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is just incredible: staff excellent, location unbeatable, rooms fantastic. Booked a package tour with orbitz for a very good price and still got an upgrade when we checked in, amazing. Mind you it was high season (many fairs in Hong Kong at that time) and the hotel staff was extremely busy, but they were as courteous/helpful as you were the only guest in the hotel. With the location in the middle of the most incredible shopping mall area, in walking distance to the Star Ferry, MTR this hotel is simply unbeatable. And believe me I know Hong Kong quite well after living there for 15 years and coming back after my retirement every two years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Cubist288,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Paradise City. It was a pleasure having you stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

People like you do make our job a lot easier and we are always happy to hear that our guests appreciate the commitment we make to customer service and the comfort of our guests.
You are right; we are situated in a ‘brilliant’ location and with bars, restaurants and shopping all so close by our guests can really take advantage of our location.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Hong Kong in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This just has to be the best place to stay in Hong Kong - it's amazing. Definitely not the poshest but unbelievable service, welcoming people, great food and genuine hospitality. We celebrated a birthday whilst staying and got a chocolate cake and card from the Front of House Manager. The little things mean a lot. They worked hard to make us welcome from the moment we arrived until we left - just a lovely, lovely stay.

Room Tip: Great rooms overlooking designer shops - look but don't shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamHK, at The Langham HongKong, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear June G,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

We hope you had a delightful trip back to Spofforth. Thank you for choosing The Langham, Hong Kong Hotel to celebrate your birthday. I appreciate your kind comments with regards to our restaurant, as well as the service provided by our front office team.

We are excited that we are now your first choice of hotel in Hong Kong and are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team at The Langham, Hong Kong
vanessa.chan@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham HongKong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham HongKong

Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham HongKong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomizes a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Two Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham HongKong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham HongKong Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham HongKong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.