We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel on Hong Kong Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.310 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Park Lane Hong Kong) (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent hotel on Hong Kong Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for a 5 days. The hotel itselfs is a little bit outdated, but rooms are clean, well sized and all ammenities are there. Every day a newspaper at your door and a perfect breakfast at Cafe One. Very nice staff there as wel by the way. Hotel is near shops and metro system and the Welcome supermarket just around the corner is very helpfull. Taxind hop on bus in front of hotel. Nice Victoria park just opposite the hotel.

Complaints? Yes a few. If you have more then two devices for Wifi they charge you with HKD$ 120 per day per device. Why? The hotel is not low cost please give it to your guest. I needed some prints for work and they charge at HKD 1 per page and HKD2 per page if you want to let it scan to an email adres. Please, include this in your prices. In the bar the proces are not that low. So after a few drinks you ask for peanuts and yes, a charge for HKD 20 for some peanuts.

Room Tip: We stayed in standard room, nothing wrong with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are pleased to know that you found our location to be convenient for transport, shopping and nightlife. We are also very happy to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast in Café One. Thanks for your kind words about our staff, rest assured your comments will be shared with the team.
I am sorry to hear that you found the rooms not up to your expectations. For your information, we have renovated 85% of our guest rooms since the last few years, and the remaining rooms have also been scheduled to be renovated in the coming months. Your comments in regards to our Wi-Fi and printing fees have fully been noted, and will definitely be taken into consideration in our future policy review.

We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    335
    116
    20
    15
See reviews for
142
163
37
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I would stay here again. Great location right in the heart of Causeway Bay, so it's great for shopping and restaurants. Very spacious, clean and nicely decorated room on 14th floor with superb park and part harbour view. I enjoyed the breakfast and found a great selection of dishes, eggs to order, noodles, dim sum as well as Western choices. Also enjoyed a meal in the roof top restaurant and deck. Victoria Park opposite has a tree lined running track and it was nice to watch the early morning tai chee. I found all staff very polite, helpful and attentive. Taxis easily available outside. Loved my stay here.

Room Tip: High floor park view. Some rooms have a glass bathroom, the king room had marble bathroom with corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at The Park Lane Hong Kong. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms and enjoyed the Park and harbor view. We are also very happy to learn that you found our location to be convenient for shopping and restaurants, and that you enjoyed your meal at our “RIVA and The Deck”.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, rest assured your comments will be shared with the team.
We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Having read other reviews on here I admit that I did have some reservations, but have to say we had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Everything was spotlessly clean, and our room, which was large by HK standards had fabulous view over Victoria Park and the harbour, and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. Contrary to some reviews, we found all the staff to be absolutely delightful. They were friendly, polite and helpful (even though they didn't know all the answers to our questions they did try to find out) and always had a smile. The location is brilliant, better than other areas we have stayed when in HK, so close to shops, markets, masses of places to eat, although due to it being the Chinese New Year some of them were closed for the holidays, but it is a really easy area to get anywhere from. Because of the holidays, it is true the area was absolutely packed day and night, but you could still enjoy the delight of watching the early risers in the park, doing Tai Chi and various other exercises. There is a lovely deck from the restaurant on the top floor, which is discreetly lit at night with gentle piano music playing and an absolutely lovely place to sit and enjoy a late night drink after a long day sight seeing. The breakfast in the attached Café One was superb, although we did have to ask the staff to turn down or off some of the air con fans as it was quite cold in there a couple of mornings.
The only one thing that let it down for me, which is why I have given the rating 4 rather than 5, was although there were 2 restaurants and a bar, you could not get a small bar meal. After a day out and about, sometimes it is nice to get back to your hotel and just chill, but you don't always want a big expensive meal. There is a great room service menu, which is what we ended up using one evening, but that means you have to have in the solitude of your room, missing out on the atmosphere of a bar, plus not matter how quickly you remove the trolley afterwards it does always leave a 'food' smell in the air for some time, not particularly pleasant when you are sleeping there. The hotel has Bar George, and if only a similar menu, ore even abbreviated one similar to the room service, was available in there that would be so much better - something I really think the hotel should consider.
We were staying to celebrate a 'big' birthday and although the travel agent advised us hotels always like to know this so made a point of putting it on the booking form, it would have been a nice gesture if it had been acknowledged when we were there, but it wasn't which seemed to make it a bit pointless to have highlighted it. That sad I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting HK, and would certainly stay there again if visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Best views on the higher floors - ask for harbour/park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms, which are the most spacious amongst nearby hotels. We are also happy to learn that you liked the Park and harbor view and that you found our room “spotlessly clean”, as well as finding our location to be convenient for transport, shopping and dining. Thank you about your kind words regarding our Café One and RIVA and The Deck. Your constructive comments about the George and Co. Menu and birthday issues have fully been noted and rest assured that improvements will be made.
We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a trip for Chinese New Year. Arrived mid afternoon and no wait at check in and was upgraded to a Park View Room on the 10th Floor. Great view across Victoria Park. The room looked recently redecorated and was spacious and comfortable. Best hotel bed have had in a while! The glass bathroom was a novelty and if you are sharing a room - remember to close the curtain!!

The location was fantastic, right in the middle of Causeway Bay and by the MTR. This made it easy to get around Hong Kong. Also a supermarket next door was handy to buy bits for breakfast.

The only thing stopping me from awarding a fifth star is the lack of free wifi. Ended up hovering around reception to log on to wifi now and again.

Room Tip: Ensure to get a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms and also liked the Park and harbor view. We are also happy to learn that you found our location to be convenient for transport, shopping and dining. Your comment about the Wi-Fi has fully been noted, and we will review our policy again, which is quite in line with the industry.
We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

By far the best thing about The Park Lane is the location. Shops, restaurants & public transport all within easy reach. Taxis can also be picked up easily outside the lobby entrance. Hotel staff are polite & efficient in what it is a very busy hotel. Rooms are tidy & well equipped. We stopped in a high floor with views of Victoria Park which was fantastic. Good housekeeping every day. Free internet access which you expect but rarely find in other hotels. All round a very good value for money hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at The Park Lane Hong Kong. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms and that you found our location to be convenient for shops, restaurants and public transport. We are also very happy to learn that you liked the Park and harbor view from our hotel. Thanks for your kind words about our staff, rest assured your comments will be shared with the team.

We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a very good stay the staff were excellent nothing too much trouble for them
good transportation links and plenty of shopping to see Taxis from hotel were cheap and Quick
We ask for and got a sea view The hotel is just across the road from Victoria park Very good sleep quality well appointed bathroom

Room Tip: We upgraded to floor 22 free breakfast and cocktails and snacks 6 to 8 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear valuable guest
Many thanks for your very detailed feedback about your recent stay at The Park Lane Hong Kong. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our harbor view and that you found our location to be convenient for transport and shopping. We are also very happy to learn that our room provided you with a night of quality sleep.
We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.

Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had never been to HK before. Flying in from Manila, our first experience was an extortionate 800HK$ taxi ride into the city centre - we had been informed that 350$ was normally about average. We stayed in the Park Lane Hotel for 1 night and had to wait in line for 15 minutes before we were able to check in. It's on a good location, and our room had a nice view but that was really all there was to it. The room was extremely cold and there was no heating. On our request, they brought up a small 500 watt heater (hahahaha!) which did not have a chance of heating up the room.The internet connectivity was pathetic - only spasmodic connection in some parts of the room. The hotel people spent a few hours attempting to improve matters. Eventually a whole new router was installed by bedtime.
The prices mentioned in the hotel's prospectus, supplied in the room, were out of date. A limousine to the airport was advertised at 650 HK$ but housekeeping department stated the price was 800HK$. No apology or accommodation was made for this error; we decided instead to reserve the cheaper shuttle-bus for the following morning, which we were informed left every 60 minutes. On checking out the following morning, we asked to leave early, but were then informed we could not cancel our later bus ride. By this time, the inflexibility and general unhelpful nature of the hotel staff was getting to us. The assistant manager arrived, and in his defence was suitably concerned and courteous, but by that time our brief stay in Hong Kong had been spoilt. We left with a clear feeling that the city in general and this hotel in particular is only after your dollars. We will not rush back to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: stay away do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLHK, Hotel Manager at The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear valuable guest

Many thanks for your very detailed feedback about your recent stay at The Park Lane Hong Kong. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.

First and foremost, we are sorry about the extortionate taxi fare. We failed to identify the taxi as it did not drop you off in the hotel driveway.
Thank you for your kind words about our rooms and we are glad that you found your location to be convenient. In regards to the price for limousine, please be advised that immediate action was taken to correct the information and we apologise for the confusion caused. As for your issues with our hotel staff, please rest assured more training will be conducted to our staff to ensure the best of our service is constantly provided. Your comments on our WiFi have been fully noted and we will investigate further to find out what actually had gone wrong.

We hope you will return soon and please do not hesitate to contact me should I be of any assistance to you.
Calvin Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel

Address: No.310 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Park Lane Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel is conveniently located within the business, shopping and entertainment districts. With 40 years of experience, hotel constantly upgrade to meet guest expectations. Overlooking the famed Victoria Harbour and Park with fully-equipped meeting and function facilities, accommodate guest with spacious guestrooms. The Park Lane Hong Kong provides a perfect location for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Hong Kong
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.