We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location, but check your Room Statement before you leave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
The Kowloon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for FREE WIFI
Ranked #152 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Location, but check your Room Statement before you leave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel has a very nice location but the staff should be trained a lil bit more. It was hard to explain that I did not cosume a drink in the room as I was on the club level. Speaking of that, Club level is a more expensive floor and If you get put on the 18th floor you have to go through stairs. The elevator do go only until the 17th. The hotel should fix that as it is in the "premium" floor. Nice touch in having smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Pay more and choose a Deluxe Room, it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Traveller_Brazilian,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are valuable for us in striving for better services. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    504
    261
    61
    33
See reviews for
149
317
100
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Can't fault the location, right by Metro station and very close to waterfront & Star ferry. Decent breakfast in restaurant caters to all tastes. However, rooms are tiny, even by Hong Kong standards. Two adults 2 suitcases and 2cabins bags and there's very little room to move. The reception area is too small and was always crowded, check out queues are standard. Don't leave check out to the last minute, you could be waiting in line a while, we were 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a tiny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Nikki255109,
Thank you very much for staying at the Kowloon Hotel and leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you again and we hope to see again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed 4 nights, very good sleep everynight. Tiny rooms even for our Harbour view (16th flr) room, Tiny closet - only my husband use it and I had no choice but to leave my clothes in the luggge. For some odd reason, the TV is small too, Dont think a bigger TV will take up much space. Sad the hotel did not subscribe to the English Premier League channel.
We got use to the small space pretty quickly and the room is equipped with almost anything we need.
Long and slow checkout queues in the cramped lobby.
Polite and helpful staff here also a plus for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear emily t,

Thank you very much for staying at the Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. Your comments are valuable for us to strive for better services. We wish to see you and serve you again on your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Kowloon Hotel is a nice place to stay, very tidy with very helpful staff. However I did find that the rooms were quite small with no views ( well mine didn't have one). Found a few bars and some nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Hong Kong as well as The Kowloon Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we genuinely look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here just after the New Year. The rooms are not large, but this is Hong Kong. They were clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff behind the front desk was helpful, even as I was dealing with a mini-crisis. Breakfast was included, and it was very good. The best thing is the fabulous location. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Joe R,
Thank you very much for staying at the Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are more than delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We wish to see you and serve you again on your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The convenient location itself is worth staying here whether business or pleasure. The hotel itself is quite good but it helps if you get a higher room with a partial view of the Hong Kong skyline. All in all, one must consider this if you are bowsing HK hotels..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear KD_loves_travel,
We hope that you had a great time in Hong Kong as well as at The Kowloon Hotel. It was our pleasure serving you. Thank you and we wish to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel has an awesomely convenient location, but is kind of dated in design. Targeted at tour groups and such; these will be your noisy neighbours during a stay. Maybe suffering from high rents in the city the rooms are tiny - even at the club level. The views are not bad if you get the right rooms (one side of the hotel and higher floors) but the TV's are still super small and old. There were hairs in the toilet of the club room I stayed in, plus bugs and flaking ceiling wallpaper. The breakfast buffet was passable, but the club lounge was tiny and with barely any offerings (juat coffee and dry biscuits). The 17 floor club rooms are supposedly the best, but you need to walk up a floor to reach them (no lift) and they are tiny as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Billy C,
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectation. Your concerns are well noted and we will follow up accordingly. Kindly provide us with your name and email address along with your check-in date to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com so that we can get back to you after investigation. Thank you.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.