We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location and super service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
The Kowloon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for FREE WIFI
Ranked #153 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Estepona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super Location and super service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times since 1995 and I have never had a complaint, the location is fantastic you can walk to the ferry or jump on the MTR to HK, the rooms are great every time I've stayed I've never been disappointed.My Mum even loved it she stayed there for 6 weeks in 97 and went back recently and said she felt so relaxed and comfortable not bad since shes 84 years old and these things are important!.All the staff where so helpful and solicitous.This hotel is so central to shops,MTR, ferrys and the island of HK only a short hop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Marie_AndreeEstepona,
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel since 1995. Our staff are encouraged to learn about your experience and we sincerely wish you a delightful stay with us. It is our honor to have you as our repeated guest. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing both you and your mother again in the near future.
Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    559
    286
    67
    37
See reviews for
167
347
116
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Hotel truly ticks all the boxes - location, staff assistance, food, cleanliness and also wifi were all above standard.

We stayed in a Club Room and the view of the Harbour both in our room and in the Club area was great. The train access is downstairs, no waiting for taxies and walking distance to the ferry and local restaurants.

After spending all day out it was a real pleasure to relax in the club before heading out to night time markets etc. The club staff were helpful with suggestions for sightseeing, directions and all other requests. They also appear to enjoy their work and this makes for an enjoyable environment for guests. The staff are to be commended!

The only suggestion I would make is the introduction of more drawer space.

Room Tip: The Club Room offer and the assistance of the staff are well worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear AnnMerie T,

Hope you had a great time in Hong Kong as well as at The Kowloon Hotel. Our staff are encouraged to learn about your experience and we would continue to deliver the best hospitality. Thank you once again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently I stayed 4 nights at the Kolwoon Hotel in Hong Kong and I found it to be highly recommended. Keep in mind to select room with Lounge Access (floors 16, 17 and 18th). You will get extra amenities with superb hospitality. Great location with direct access to subway (you do not need to go outside when it rains). My room was very clean, decent size with small but some view of the harbor. Will stay there if travel to Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Take room with Lounge Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear DozentC,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. We wish you an enjoyable time with us especially at the Harbour Club Lounge. It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming again on your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

used this hotel as the first part of a two centre holiday, 3 days in Hong Kong was a good idea. This hotel came as part of the deal and the details looked good.

We arrived at the hotel after a 14hr flight and transfer and having arranged an early occupation looked forward to a brief nap. The early check proved a challenge but eventually got a temporary pair of rooms.

The immediate impression is the ceiling in reception, it is either very new and stylish, or a 1970's hangover and in need of updating. There are a vast number of staff around the lobby to do whatever you need, I have never seen so many.

The rooms are disappointingly small for what was expected and the promised harbour view was obscured by the Hong Kong Peninsula, I could see about one square metre of sea through that hotels swimming pool walls, weird as we were on the 15th floor.

Breakfast was 'continental' style, and was just that on a tray, Boiled Egg, fruit juice, tea/coffee, bowl of cereal and pastries. The worst part was eating it in the open plan coffee shop in the lobby, as a 'get up and go' city this may be good.

We ate the bar stacks at night, more than sufficient and the live pianist added to the atmosphere. On our 3rd night we decided to have the buffet in the restaurant. Very expensive for what it was and had limited selection of 'eat all you can' local cuisine. The restaurant was very very noisy, being full of chinese on a one/two night stopover and taking full advantage of this.

The advertised swimming pool and gym do not exist on site and are shared with a local hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear AndyJBall,
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and providing a review on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to serve you and we wish you a enjoyable time with us. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you again on you next visit.
Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here several times, always great. Love the location, rooms clean and well laid out. Staff bright and helpful. Of course there are queues in lobby, it is a very popular hotel. Thanks Kowloon for another good weekend.

Room Tip: Stay Executive floors if you can, superb value and beats the queues in lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Ian G,
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to learn about your enjoyable experience at The Kowloon Hotel and it is our pleasure to have you as our repeated guest. Hope to see you soon on your next visit; we definitely look forward to it.
Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Long lines at check in/out everyday. When in comes to your turn its handle rather quickly. Rooms were small but comfortable. The toilet plumbing needs a lot of improvements, if you are lucky needs 1 flush. My record was 7 flushes to clear...beat that. Hahahaha.

Wifi : take not, no free wifi and from my experience please don't pay for it as I did. All 3 rooms had the same problem, paid and can't log in half the time. We got disconnected more often then we were online. Wifi is on a 24 hour basis make sure you check the billing with front desk if you really need to pay and use it. We stayed for 2 days used the wifi for 2 days but was billed for 3 days. Upon check out the staff insisted that we dial up for wifi service on the last day. Not nice if hotel staff start calling their customers liars.

Ok, bad stuff aside. The location of the hotel is a plus for shopping and dinning. Everything is a stones throw. Easy access to the MTR, easy to get a taxi from the hotel.

Room Tip: No point paying for a bigger room, we had a standard room, corner room and a delux room. Truth be to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear SkullHex,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are valuable for us to strive for a higher service standard and we will follow up accordingly. Kindly provide us with your name and email address to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com so that we can get back to you after investigation, thank you.
Best regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes !!! The location is super it is a 5 minute walk from the star ferry to central and it is on top of the metro so it is very easy to get around . We stayed in the harbour lounge rooms on the 17th and 18th floor which was well worth the money. The room was bigger than the standard room and the view was amazing at night over looking the harbour. The big plus to the harbour lounge rooms was the access to the harbour view lounge which offered a place to chill and look out onto the harbour with free soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks 24 hours a day . The staff were great always helpful and friendly. Overall - it is a great hotel !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear HANCHEL12,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. Our staff are encouraged to learn about your experience and we would continue to deliver the best hospitality to our guests. We sincerely wish to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.