We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for nothingness” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room Upgrade & Free Wifi
Ranked #147 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
cebu
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive for nothingness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Charging exorbitant fees for wifi.... They should add this as a hotel criteria to achieve star ratings and should consider any hotels without free wifi access only a max of 2 stars... This place has nothing, no gym, no wifi, no space, and extremely expensive for what it is worth.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear samdo,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
In fact, our hotel offers free WIFI service to Harbour Club Floor guests. You may choose top stay at the Harbour Club Floor so that besides free WIFI, you may also enjoy the complimentary refreshment as well as express check-in, check-out service and many more.
Your comments are valuable to us and we have reviewed it wholeheartedly with concerned departments for improvement and enhancement. We sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.


Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    671
    363
    93
    42
See reviews for
168
368
150
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulous location. Room very small, but comfortable. Watch your bill as we got charged $1100.00 Hong Kong Dollars for charges I have no idea about. We paid enough to our travel agent and did not expect this charge. Very nice breakfast but make sure you get in your package also Internet is expensive. Would stay again because of location.

Room Tip: We had the top was floor close to help desk and bar. Nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Robyn V,

Thank you for staying with us and provide the feedback on TripAdvisor. We value your comment as it always help us to strive for a higher service standard. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here – despite the extra charges. If you are doubted with it, kindly provide us with the staying period as well as your full name to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com, will get back to you after investigation.
Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to welcoming you soon on your next visit!

Best Wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I should start off by pointing out that I used points to book my reservation, so my perspective on value could be skewed since my time here cost travel points, not money. I stayed in a Harbour view room, and upgraded to the Harbour Class package. For Hong Kong the room was very big with a clean, modern design. The upgrade cost about $50 CAD and in exchange I received wi-fi in the room, free breakfast, all you can drink coffee, tea, and beer in the Harbour Lounge. All you can drink cocktails during happys hour (6pm-8pm) in the Harbour lounge, and private check out and concierge. There were other aspects of the package that I didn't take advantage of. The folks at the hotel were very helpful. I believe the staff are all trained at the Peninsula (Hong Kong's benchmark for luxury hotels), and they bring this professionalism to the Kowloon.

Since I was a solo traveller, the lounge was very nice, easy to chat with other guests. This was very nice, since I didn't feel like seeking out a bar at the end of the day by myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Ben N,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience here.
Our staff (especially the Harbour Club Floor staff) are encouraged to learn about your delightful stay with us; and we will continue to deliver the best value and exceptional service.
Upgrading to our Harbour Club Floor is definitely brilliant – not only with free WIFI; the lounge serves complimentary snacks and drinks (yes, our staff know how to make a cocktail by themselves). The lounge allows guest to know more about each other as well as planning their itinerary in HK.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we wish to welcome you soon in the near future!

Best Wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the 2nd hotel for my trip. Hotel no doubt has a very good location and indeed a busy hotel too. This hotel is a quite old and using small LCD TV but room is well maintained. Hotel reception and bell boy service are all very good. Hotel also accepted my luggage to be deposited on my 1st day although I am not staying in this hotel yet. Hotel has excellent location and it is just behind The Peninsula Hotel. The only negative part is Hotel does not provide wifi totally, not even in the lobby so it is a bit inconvenient. I think I will still consider staying in this hotel for future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear dordor-Sin

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and provide us with comment.
We are happy to learn about your delightful stay, and we will continue to deliver the best hospitality to our guests.
For our guests’ convenience, we accept luggage deposit even it’s not a consecutive stay (just make sure you’ll pick it back later!)
We do provide WIFI service at cost and you may enjoy it free by staying at The Harbour Club Floor.
Thank you once again for staying with us and it is our honor to serve you again in the near future!


Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in October 2012. The room had good facilities and were clean and well serviced. Although the rooms were small and quite expensive, (although all hotels in Kowloon are expensive) location was good. The bed was only a double and very hard. Had a room on the 14th floor which had some Harbour views from a corner window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a14th floor or above to get some harbour views. Request a King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jennifer Y,

Thank you for staying with us and provide us with feedback.
The Kowloon Hotel aims at providing the best location and value to our guests.
With the well-equipped room and hearty service, I’m pretty sure you’ve had an enjoyable stay here.
We have to apologise for the bed issue and will reflect to the housekeeping department.
Your comment always contributes us with insight to improve our service standard.
Thank you again for staying here and we wish to see you soon!

Best Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Its my second night here at the Kowloon Hotel.
Yes, the rooms are small, and the TV in the room is even smaller, however its cosy.
My issue is the noise you can hear from adjoining rooms.

When I checked in last night, i could clearly hear the next rooms TV... then at 6am, i could hear every word of my neighbors phone conversation.

The main issue, is that there is an internal door to the room next door, and it has very poor insinuative qualities.
I asked to be moved to a room without an "internal" door here on the 17th floor, and to my surprise/disappointment, I was told that EVERY room has an internal door to the adjoining room.
VERY disappointing to say the least... You can literally hear every word being spoken in the adjoining room...

DONT STAY HERE IF YOUR A LIGHT SLEEPER!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MUKHAIRCARE,

Thank you for staying with The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
We would like to first apologise for the noise problem.
The design of connecting door between the adjoining rooms aims at providing convenience for family.
You may wish to stay on other floors if you do not want to have an “internal” door.
Sorry again for causing you being insomniac but we sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience.
Looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is excellent with direct access to the Metro and easy to get cabs if required. Everything is within walking distance in Tsim Sha Tsui which is why we chose this hotel. However, the room is extremely small which is typical by Hong Kong standards, I suppose. Since we have to spend 3 nights in the hotel, it is not the most comfortable other than sleeping. The pillows are very soft so you do need to ask for more pillows if you do not want to feel that you are sleeping on a sheet of cloth. The hotel is reasonably priced so that is the compromise one has to make. Since there are many restaurants to choose from, it is not necessary to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear P L,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here on the TripAdvisor.
Our hotel is located right atop the MTR station; this offers convenience to our guests.
We have already reviewed on your comment regarding to the pillow and will pass it to the Housekeeping department for further retention.
Our hotel restaurants are also reasonably priced and showcased an array of international seafood to Michelin-rated dishes. You may have a try during the next stay here.
We are delighted to welcoming you again on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Manageement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.