We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value (and service) apartment hotel for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza North Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza North Point to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza North Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.665 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (Quarry Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great value (and service) apartment hotel for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We (husband, wife and 3 children aged 9,8 and 6) have just had 11 nights at Harbour Plaza North Point. It was great value as it is gave us a 1 bedroom apartment (with buffet breakfast) for the price of a hotel room (and 5 of us would not have fitted in 1 hotel room). This meant the 3 children shared the lounge room (2 girls in sofa bed and son in the rollaway bed). The apartment was small but there was plenty of storage space to pack away all our belongings. We were out most of the time so the space was not a big problem. The room was very clean and housekeeping serviced it everyday. We never had to request anything from housekeeping as it was so well done.

The hotel is located at one end of HK Island but has great transport. Tram and buses are on the street outside the hotel. We loved catching the double decker trams to Central - a long trip but gave the kids the chance to see so much. We also used the MTR a lot - just a minute walk away and trains come all the time to take you to anywhere in HK. We used the transport a lot as we went to Macau, Disneyland, Sha Tin, Cheng Chau etc and it was all possible using the hotel as a base.

The hotel also offers 2 shuttle buses - 1 that goes to Central, CauseBay Bay and the other goes to TaiKoo Place (where there is a good Italian restaurant for families charging about $100 HK for a bowl of spaghetti bolognaise) and CityPlaza (a big shopping centre).

Concierge was very helpful with directions - and they were always accurate.

We used the restaurant for breakfast which was good. We also had dinner there a couple of times. It has a large seafood emphasis but also offered food the children liked such as a chef that would make them pasta as they ordered it. The service was excellent in the restaurant - they were always so helpful and warm to the children.

Near the MTR is a Wellcome supermarket which made it very easy to buy bottled water, snacks, etc.

We also used a "laundromat" called Sammi's - on the corner of "Healthy Street" - just down from the MTR. It was $26 HK for each bag we gave them (for 1-7 lb) and it was ready that night washed, dry and folded. A great service.

Whilst the Harbour Plaza North Point is located out of the way, it is a good hotel and meets the needs of a family very well. Our children felt very comfortable and were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The many nearby transport options make getting anywhere possible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    386
    175
    43
    17
See reviews for
184
198
62
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed 6 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Upon check-in were offered ,and accepted, room upgrade to club (33rd floor, better harbour-view and includes daily buffet breakfast for 2, unlimited wi-fi and open mini-bar plus more extras) for under $AU100 extra per room per night.Service was first class, 'KIN' at the tour desk was very professional with booking our tours through Grayline (very good themselves).Breakfast and Dinners were excellent, good variety of Asian and Western. MTR is 100 metres away, tram is also close by, and the shuttle bus worked well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Nothing that separates this hotel from any other big chain hotel in service, cleanliness and value for money. Location probably not the best but near to the underground which makes it worth the while. Booked a harbour view room and could see only a little of the harbour. Have to say in their defense that I do prefer the smaller boutique hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I've stayed here 5 times on business trips. The most recent time, I booked a "deluxe view" room and got a small room with a view of high rises.

Room was basic with a fairly hard bed, desk and straight chair, small TV with satellite channels. Bathroom had standard amenities and an excellent shower.

No drinking water supplied in the room. You have to buy bottled water in the minibar.

Soundproofing is not great - I heard a guy next door coughing during the night.

The buffet restaurant near the lobby is good if you take the buffet, but crowded and very noisy. Menu/room service food is mediocre.

Service is always friendly. The hotel caters mostly to mainland Chinese and other Asian travelers and has the services they like. They provide a lot of in-room massage services and on previous visits I had calls in the evening asking whether I wanted a girl to come to my room. (This is common in China but not in Hong Kong.)

Location is OK because taxis are available and the subway is nearby. You will need them because the immediate area offers nothing.

Adequate for a night's rest, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Nice hotel and very reasonably priced. Although had a kitchen that was not usable as
there were no utensils, plates, pots etc. Great location for the MTR (1 min down road) and we made good use of it. So simple and efficient especially with the octopus card. Hotel is quite a way from all the main attractions so added quite a bit of travelling to our days. The room a little run down but comfortable as the beds get in Asia. Staff are great from housekeeping right through. All staff at the concierge desk extremely helpful and knowledgable about distance and costs of various activities. Expecially Kin. There is a great little supermarket across the road, Cafe de Coral a great little restaurant and very cheap - you need to order your food then wait for your number to come up and collect it from the counter or if you order bbq meat or drinks take your receipt to the end counter and they prepare your meal. Pizza Hut and Maccas around the corner just past the supermarket (Wellcome) also a few little bakeries and little restaurants which I wasn't game to try. If we went to Hong Kong again I would probably stay in Central for the convenience of getting around and having to catch fewer trains in one trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at the hotel as the final point of our 2 month RTW holiday, The room was huge allowing for our kids (5,7) to have a seperate bed for themselves and us to have a seperate bedroom. The MTR is very close and we made use of the Octopus card. Around the area are many local eateries.

One point to be wary of is expensive access to the internet at a whopping AU$18 per day and if you have breakfast there it cost us AU$77 for a buffet (the second most expensive )

I would recommend the hotel but try and arrange breakfast in the price or check around other hotels

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

First time in Hong Kong for a total of seven days , including New Year (2010) there and they made a good effort. Not the best location the price was good. Handy to the train. Staff where more than accommodating. Nice breakfast buffet. Overall no major complains

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza North Point

Address: No.665 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza North Point 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:Conveniently located in the Eastern District of Hong Kong Island, Harbour Plaza North Point is just one minute walking distance to Quarry Bay MTR Station (Exit C). We also provide quick access to the renowned shopping centre “Cityplaza” in Taikoo Shing area, Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Central and Airport Express Hong Kong Station by hotel complimentary shuttle bus service and other tourist attractions such as The Peak, Ngong Ping 360 as well as Hong Kong Disneyland by subway. Accommodation:Harbour Plaza North Point has 669 tastefully designed guest rooms and serviced suites. While most boast views of the eastern side of Victoria Harbour, all are equipped with in room broadband service, ensuring maximum guest comfort for both short and long term visitors. Rooms are categorized into City view, Hill view and Harbour view with choices on Superior, Deluxe, Studio and Harbour Club Floor. For whom commands more spacious accommodation, One-bedroom Suite and Two-bedroom Suite are also available.Restaurants:Savor delectable Chinese cuisine from our famous Hoi Yat Heen or sample the bountiful international menu and buffets at Greens Café. Sit back and relax in cozy environment to enjoy drinks at The Point. Enjoy a quick and light snacks at Java Mama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza North Point Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza North Point Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza North Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.