We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza North Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza North Point to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza North Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.665 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (Quarry Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 794 Reviews
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you want a great property that makes it easy to get anywhere in/around Hong Kong, this is it. It is located across the street from the Ginza stop on the light rail system which ties to the MTR from which you can get anywhere you need to via public transportation which is amazingly easy to use. If you are over 60 ask for the GREEN Octopus card for the transit system - it will save you tons of money as most rides are a flat fee of $2 when used on the MTR system trains/busses.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Our stay was 6 nights. Major drawback is internet access is expensive and the 'free' services in the area are cumbersome to connect to.
There is wonderful food and good shopping available in the adjacent buildings, even a cinema if you want to catch a movie.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the property - pools, playgrounds, etc. and was very quiet - we were also on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    386
    176
    43
    17
See reviews for
184
198
62
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 days. It's an excellent location. Lots of restaurants. Just a short walk from the riverside. The view from the hotel room was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. One problem was the internet. It was expensive, plus you could only connect one device. Other hotels in Hong Kong have unlimited devices - these days a big necessity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

On first arrival, this hotel looks promising. The location is great, and it appears to be very popular with tour operators as there were large parties of people checking in and checking out at various times, and the function rooms appear to be booked a lot of the time too. However, the rooms are very old-fashioned and tiny—even by Hong Kong standards—and, as other reviewers have pointed out, wifi is charged by the device. The breakfast buffet was OK, but the restaurant was overpriced, and not that good. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the harbour grand for 2 nights and found the rooms clean, and well appointed. We lost some baggage along the way, which the staff went well beyond the call of duty to assist in helping tracking down and having our bags returned to us.
Friendly, and helpful staff. Five stars !

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had stayed here on a 1 BR Suite by Self as well as family over a period of time. The service provided was out of the world by everyone. The Suite itself was very spacious with regular fruits provided along with normal housekeeping and all necessary appliances. McDonalds and Pizza Hut is very close-by. They also deliver. Starbucks is just opposite the road. Airport City Flyer Bus also stops right outside and MTR is also 2 mins from there. The free shuttle is great and goes every 30 mins to City Plaza and every 1 hour to Central. Among the exceptional service provided I must mention names of Mr. Ritchie (City Plaza shuttle Driver), Ms. Ching (Housekeeping) and Ms. Steffie Kwok (Reservations)

Room Tip: Go for Pool & Sea Facing. It's worth the extra bit you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was very central. Close to the MTR station and very convenient. But the rooms are very small ,clean and the service was good. Only problem is their shuttle buses does not operate on time. Though it was mentioned that it during the fair at the convention centre the buses are supposed to give a free ride to the guests , it did not happen during the fair times. We booked at this hotel mainly due to this facility and was disappointed when this facility was not made available. It was really misleading .

Room Tip: Should make the rooms large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a truly terrible hotel. It's clean, nicely furnished and may appear to be on the higher end but stay a little more than 2 nights and things start to get under your skin. I stayed a total of 5 nights and regret them all. Where to begin:

The shuttle charges per person so if you have more than one person in your party, a taxi is quicker and cheaper. I don't know why they can't come up with some sort of group rate that is actually a good deal for the customer. Why would you pay double to sit in a shuttle bus with a dozen other people for a longer ride?

The internet is a ridiculous $140/day charge for ONE device. It's not per room it is per IP address. So if you want to connect with your laptop, iPhone, and iPad you have to pay triple! It is also terrible internet. Half the time I couldn't even connect. Several other people in my party staying in different rooms said the same thing.

We ran out of toilet paper two days in and of course housekeeping didn't give us new TP when they cleaned the room. Had to call the front desk.

My room had a stove, microwave, and fridge....and no utensils or pots or pans or dishes. Good thing I brought my own set of cookware with me! Not! How useless! Why put a stovetop in the room and nothing to cook on - who is bringing their own pots and pans to use at this hotel??

The TV has about 30 channels.

The shower wasn't a tub combo which was unfortunate. Also, when you showered, water leaked all over the floor because the glass door slid along the floor. So if you tried to put a bath mat down, it just crumpled it up when you opened the shower door. Useless design.

The rooms were cramped! Even by Hong Kong standards. I have stayed in cheaper hotels in Hong Kong that had bigger rooms.

Breakfast was not spectacular and at $20 usd/person I would expect it to be.

The front desk is no help and not especially friendly. We had some problems with a SIM card we bought and were told they don't know how to help us and there is no China Mobil in Hong Kong.

There was ONE outlet in the whole room, including the bathroom!

And last but not least, my roommate had bed bug bites on his arms after we left. Beware!!

I have stayed at a lot of hotels in a lot of different cities and generally give good marks, sometimes even excellent. But the Harbour Plaza Hotel North Point does not deserve to charge what it does. The wifi thing was my biggest complaint. Join the 21st century and offer free wifi. Do not stay at this hotel, they don't deserve your money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza North Point

Address: No.665 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza North Point 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:Conveniently located in the Eastern District of Hong Kong Island, Harbour Plaza North Point is just one minute walking distance to Quarry Bay MTR Station (Exit C). We also provide quick access to the renowned shopping centre “Cityplaza” in Taikoo Shing area, Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Central and Airport Express Hong Kong Station by hotel complimentary shuttle bus service and other tourist attractions such as The Peak, Ngong Ping 360 as well as Hong Kong Disneyland by subway. Accommodation:Harbour Plaza North Point has 669 tastefully designed guest rooms and serviced suites. While most boast views of the eastern side of Victoria Harbour, all are equipped with in room broadband service, ensuring maximum guest comfort for both short and long term visitors. Rooms are categorized into City view, Hill view and Harbour view with choices on Superior, Deluxe, Studio and Harbour Club Floor. For whom commands more spacious accommodation, One-bedroom Suite and Two-bedroom Suite are also available.Restaurants:Savor delectable Chinese cuisine from our famous Hoi Yat Heen or sample the bountiful international menu and buffets at Greens Café. Sit back and relax in cozy environment to enjoy drinks at The Point. Enjoy a quick and light snacks at Java Mama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza North Point Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza North Point Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza North Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.