We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent Hotel but Far from Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Descent Hotel but Far from Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as the accommodation is pretty descent and I have read a couple of reviews before booking this hotel . Upon check in the hotel was so busy with a whole chinese groups that were checking in at the same time , nevertheless we expected the 4 stars hospitality . The room is big and got a splendid view over the area TSW ( Tsim Shui Wai) , very clean and neat . The hotel was always busy during the day because they offer shuttle service to town , because the area where the hotel is located is very far . We prefer to use the MTR which was quite easy and smooth to move around I should say . They were two small shopping malls close to the hotel and very limited . If you are on a budget trip and you would like to stay longer up to 4 or 7 nights and cheap is what you are looking for , then I would suggest the Harbour City .
I should add that the staff are very friendly and helpful all the times , one thing I didn't like about this hotel is it was too crowded during breakfast time and buffet selection was very limited .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    209
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
61
54
34
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from the 26th to 28th of NOV as part of an incentive trip. the rooms are big, spacious and very clean. The restaurant also offers some good choice. This hotel is in the new territories therefore a good one hours drive from the city, there was no problem as we were in group with a coach at our disposal but for induvidual travellers you will have to spend a lot of time commuting to the city. Transport network is good during the day and the hotel surroundings are very neat with lots of parks around. there is also a shopping mall next to the hotel. The bell boys charge a lot for getting your bags from the coach to the lobby and they have also set a minimum amount for the tips which is 5 HKD per bag

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Reasonable hotel if staying in the local area. Far from town for daily commuting, although takes about 40 minutes from nearby station. Local resturants only cater for the local cuisine, although there is a park and shop supermarket nearby. Room itself was decent although 27th floor air condition was questionable. I woke up with a dry throat every morning. Changed to 23floor which was better. Breakfast menu never changes and no room service. Staff was ordinary. Annoying however when they use the quest elevators instead of service. Elevators are busy in the morning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My client provided my with the "opportunity" to stay at the Harbour Plaza during a business trip in mid-November, 2012. I paid the extra $360 HKG to upgrade to a Harbour view queen club room. The room was very small, had an old mattress, and all of the furniture was scraped and dinged up. The room was in severe need of redecorating. Also, you are limited to one free internet connect at any given time...don't use your iPhone and iPad simultaneously, or you will be charged!

The hotel club was okay: breakfast was decent, free nightly wine/happy hour for two hours, and snacks. The bizarre thing is that in a city were you can't drink the tap water without boiling it first, the club charges for bottled water...what is up with that? This is the first hotel club I have every been in that charges for bottled water, even during the free-drink happy hour times! You have to call housekeeping to get free bottled water and at that they will not provide you with more than two small bottles. Give me a break!

The staff was generally nice (except when you ask for bottled water). Room service food was a good quality; I had the Thai green curry. The fitness area is okay with good lifefittness treadmills and a fair amount of weight lifting equipment. I had a deep tissue massage in the spa which was very good and got the aches out.

The hotel rate/price was low relative to other local properties...I also stayed at the Hotel ICON during part of my trip which is a much better property, but is also more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I travel often to HK as I fly Cathay Pacific. Our family has problems eating out in Hong Kong city, and we prefer to cook at home, so we researched and found this hotel which provides a kitchenette. There is a huge shopping mall with a grocery store next door that has been a great help.

The downside is that no paper towels, or cleaning liquid/scrubber are provided in the room. Also the utensils are limited and not adequate for cooking a full meal. It is a challenge to explain to the staff what we really need and get that sent to our room. For example on my last trip I skipped rice and just went for some soup dish, as I had no extra pan for cooking rice.

I stay often at the Marriott Residence Inn and the Hyatt suites, and am very impressed by the full range kitchen they provide.

The hotel is nice otherwise, even though located far away from the man city crowds. The bus service ends around 11 PM, else one will have to return by the metro or taxi, both challenges for different reasons.

Since I have no other choice and need to cook while on travel on a reasonable budget (for a 3-4 day stay), I will be back here again, but wish Hong Kong gets a Marriott Residence Inn or Hyatt suite option.

The restaurants in the mall really caters to the local HK population, and language is a big barrier. You might be hard pressed if you crave a typical Indian style meal.

Room Tip: If you party late in the city, then do not stay here. If you are a family type who can get back to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in February and have returned 3 times. It has everything we need. Good size rooms, near the metro (just 2 minutes walk). Shopping centre next door with lots of food options and a good supermarket.
The swimming pool, steam and sauna are excellent and everything very clean. But check because they close the pool on 18 November.
Staff are friendly and helpful except for the breakfast staff but they are the same everywhere, don't know why. 10 minutes before breakfast finishes they are clearing everything away and on the exact closing time there is NOTHING left.

They kept our luggage while we went for a break to Macau, I left my backpack on the transfer bus so I phoned and it was there at the hotel when we returned. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Buy an Octopus card at the airport or station, great value and easier to use than money. You can to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our second trip to HKG. Since our last stay was at Mongkok, we have decided to stay in new territories if we get best rates. Accordingly, we have directly contacted HPRC and have booked a deluxe room @ 860+ HKD per night accommodating our 2nd child. Took the shuttle bus from HK airport and on arrival, they have given us a park view room at level 22 and the same was large size according to HK standard. Tin Shui Wai seems to be very far from the city but you don’t feel the same due to the excellent transportation system in HK. Taxi cost you 400+HKD to Airport/City, so better to take shuttle bus provided by the hotel ( TST 24 HKD, Disney Land 50 and Airport 100 HKD per pax, 35-45 Minutes, running at regular interwells) or Public Buses if you are traveling with family/group. For MTR/Light Rail I think you need inter changing trains.

You can find large groups from China roaming around the lobby create a feeling that you are just landed at a Fish Market in China. So No wonder if some of the reception staff treats you one among them while interacting…!!!


Positives:-

1. Large Size room with Double bed, Sofa bed, 3 chairs, 3 tables, a microwave and the room is very clean and tidy.
2. Well connected with all transport facilities
3. Buffet breakfast is good. (88+HKD per pax)
4. Most of the Staffs are very helpful, service minded, efficient and quick.
5. Few good malls around Tower I & II including KFC & MacDonald’s and local eateries.
6. You can hire kitchenette from the hotel @ 180 HKD for 24 hours and make your homely food in case you don’t like HK food.
7. Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, Kids play area are good (In Tower II)

Negatives:-

1. Too far from city centre, needs to travel ~2 hours daily for up & down.
2. Though staffs are very good, some of them do not understand /speak good English.
3. They collect full rental+ 500 HKD as deposit on arrival. But shuttle bus charges /other services to be settled immediately and will not added to the room bill.
4. They should find out some alternative to keep the large group check in to avoid any unpleasant situations to other foreign travelers.
5. No Wi-Fi /No Free internet at Tower II rooms, only available at Lobby. Understand Tower I have Wi-Fi in rooms. Internet charges @ HKD 120 for 24 hours.


We have stayed in this hotel Tower II from November 4th to 9th 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.