We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent trips to Resort city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Calcutta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Frequent trips to Resort city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I travel often to HK as I fly Cathay Pacific. Our family has problems eating out in Hong Kong city, and we prefer to cook at home, so we researched and found this hotel which provides a kitchenette. There is a huge shopping mall with a grocery store next door that has been a great help.

The downside is that no paper towels, or cleaning liquid/scrubber are provided in the room. Also the utensils are limited and not adequate for cooking a full meal. It is a challenge to explain to the staff what we really need and get that sent to our room. For example on my last trip I skipped rice and just went for some soup dish, as I had no extra pan for cooking rice.

I stay often at the Marriott Residence Inn and the Hyatt suites, and am very impressed by the full range kitchen they provide.

The hotel is nice otherwise, even though located far away from the man city crowds. The bus service ends around 11 PM, else one will have to return by the metro or taxi, both challenges for different reasons.

Since I have no other choice and need to cook while on travel on a reasonable budget (for a 3-4 day stay), I will be back here again, but wish Hong Kong gets a Marriott Residence Inn or Hyatt suite option.

The restaurants in the mall really caters to the local HK population, and language is a big barrier. You might be hard pressed if you crave a typical Indian style meal.

Room Tip: If you party late in the city, then do not stay here. If you are a family type who can get back to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arijitda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in February and have returned 3 times. It has everything we need. Good size rooms, near the metro (just 2 minutes walk). Shopping centre next door with lots of food options and a good supermarket.
The swimming pool, steam and sauna are excellent and everything very clean. But check because they close the pool on 18 November.
Staff are friendly and helpful except for the breakfast staff but they are the same everywhere, don't know why. 10 minutes before breakfast finishes they are clearing everything away and on the exact closing time there is NOTHING left.

They kept our luggage while we went for a break to Macau, I left my backpack on the transfer bus so I phoned and it was there at the hotel when we returned. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Buy an Octopus card at the airport or station, great value and easier to use than money. You can to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our second trip to HKG. Since our last stay was at Mongkok, we have decided to stay in new territories if we get best rates. Accordingly, we have directly contacted HPRC and have booked a deluxe room @ 860+ HKD per night accommodating our 2nd child. Took the shuttle bus from HK airport and on arrival, they have given us a park view room at level 22 and the same was large size according to HK standard. Tin Shui Wai seems to be very far from the city but you don’t feel the same due to the excellent transportation system in HK. Taxi cost you 400+HKD to Airport/City, so better to take shuttle bus provided by the hotel ( TST 24 HKD, Disney Land 50 and Airport 100 HKD per pax, 35-45 Minutes, running at regular interwells) or Public Buses if you are traveling with family/group. For MTR/Light Rail I think you need inter changing trains.

You can find large groups from China roaming around the lobby create a feeling that you are just landed at a Fish Market in China. So No wonder if some of the reception staff treats you one among them while interacting…!!!


Positives:-

1. Large Size room with Double bed, Sofa bed, 3 chairs, 3 tables, a microwave and the room is very clean and tidy.
2. Well connected with all transport facilities
3. Buffet breakfast is good. (88+HKD per pax)
4. Most of the Staffs are very helpful, service minded, efficient and quick.
5. Few good malls around Tower I & II including KFC & MacDonald’s and local eateries.
6. You can hire kitchenette from the hotel @ 180 HKD for 24 hours and make your homely food in case you don’t like HK food.
7. Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, Kids play area are good (In Tower II)

Negatives:-

1. Too far from city centre, needs to travel ~2 hours daily for up & down.
2. Though staffs are very good, some of them do not understand /speak good English.
3. They collect full rental+ 500 HKD as deposit on arrival. But shuttle bus charges /other services to be settled immediately and will not added to the room bill.
4. They should find out some alternative to keep the large group check in to avoid any unpleasant situations to other foreign travelers.
5. No Wi-Fi /No Free internet at Tower II rooms, only available at Lobby. Understand Tower I have Wi-Fi in rooms. Internet charges @ HKD 120 for 24 hours.


We have stayed in this hotel Tower II from November 4th to 9th 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varghese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice Hotel.
About 1000 rooms with Kitchenette.
Food is Ok.
Budget stay whilst in Hong Kong.
About an hour drive away from Hong Kong which could be a dud!
Very well connected via road & rail.
Very well kept rooms.
Good Value for money!

Room Tip: Higher = Better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish_Murali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

While this hotel is outside the centre of hong kong it's value for money compered to other hotels in Kowloon !, the trains from this hotel cost only £1.25 and ran every 7 minutes , staff were very friendly and couldnt do more to help

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

ROOMS
Huge room with Kitchenette and dining table. Was able to fit a family with 3 adults and 3 kids. Clean and modern.

LOCATION
30 minutes outside the city via MTR. Located in a big residential area with lots of towering condos. Right beside the hotel is a huge mall with everything in it - restaurants, bakeries, supermarket, boutiques, etc.

Big park outside the hotel, good for a morning run.

Luohu / Lok Ma Chau border 20 minutes away by taxi.

AMENITIES
Complete hotel amenities. Gym is one of the biggest hotel gyms I've seen in HK, with an indoor running track.

PRICE / OVERALL VALUE
The price is very good for a room that big. We paid 600HKD for a big room with 2 Queen sized beds, 1 big sofa bed, kitchenette and dining room. You can easily pay triple for a similar room in the city center. Recommended for big families on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank changky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Harbour Plaza Resort City in Tin Shui Wai is a decent hotel, generally clean and in average upkeep. If you have reason to be in the New Territories or simply want to be out of the uber-crowded regions of HK, then it is worth considering. If you plan to spend a lot of time on HK island or in Kowloon, however, it is a bit far (they do provide an hourly shuttle bus service to TST which is the best way to get into town, as taxis are HKD400 and public transport requires multiple changes). The food in the hotel is also basically ok, neither terrible nor particularly impressive. The best things about the hotel are the price (quite reasonable by HK standards, around US$100-125 per night) and the large park behind the hotel. The service is also good (we were upgraded without asking and they kindly found connecting rooms for us and our kids).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#68 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,631 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#152 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#137 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Tsing Yi
Rambler Oasis Hotel
Rambler Oasis Hotel
#276 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing