We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for big families on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 644 hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel for big families on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

ROOMS
Huge room with Kitchenette and dining table. Was able to fit a family with 3 adults and 3 kids. Clean and modern.

LOCATION
30 minutes outside the city via MTR. Located in a big residential area with lots of towering condos. Right beside the hotel is a huge mall with everything in it - restaurants, bakeries, supermarket, boutiques, etc.

Big park outside the hotel, good for a morning run.

Luohu / Lok Ma Chau border 20 minutes away by taxi.

AMENITIES
Complete hotel amenities. Gym is one of the biggest hotel gyms I've seen in HK, with an indoor running track.

PRICE / OVERALL VALUE
The price is very good for a room that big. We paid 600HKD for a big room with 2 Queen sized beds, 1 big sofa bed, kitchenette and dining room. You can easily pay triple for a similar room in the city center. Recommended for big families on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    211
    45
    14
    3
See reviews for
60
54
34
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Harbour Plaza Resort City in Tin Shui Wai is a decent hotel, generally clean and in average upkeep. If you have reason to be in the New Territories or simply want to be out of the uber-crowded regions of HK, then it is worth considering. If you plan to spend a lot of time on HK island or in Kowloon, however, it is a bit far (they do provide an hourly shuttle bus service to TST which is the best way to get into town, as taxis are HKD400 and public transport requires multiple changes). The food in the hotel is also basically ok, neither terrible nor particularly impressive. The best things about the hotel are the price (quite reasonable by HK standards, around US$100-125 per night) and the large park behind the hotel. The service is also good (we were upgraded without asking and they kindly found connecting rooms for us and our kids).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel, shuttle service from airport (reasonable price) plus shuttle service (leven more reasonable) toother areas. Guest room is a great size, wonderful view, staff extremely helpful, very large warm swimming pool on the roof top with tennis court, children's pool. Hotel has tower 1 and 2 linked together with a shopping mall with everything you would need. Large fridge, microwave, small but adequate eating area, TV, safe, computer desk and lots of storage. We just love it.

Room Tip: They gave us Tower 1 as they said it was quieter and there is a laundry room on our floor. We see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As my wife is HK Chinese we visit quite frequently. This time we couldn't stay with friends and being there for three weeks looked for a hotel. Harbour Plaza offers special rates for stays over 14 days and while Tin Shui Way is a good distance out from HK Island was very good value at @GBP 50 per day.
Tin Shui Way is a residential area with a really nice park adjacent to the hotel and a bus garage about 50 yards away. Journey time to Central is about an hour with buses every 10 minutes or so.

The long stay rooms are very large by any standard with a small kitchen area, a lounge area as well as beds. This hotel has a tennis court and a really good large outdoor swimming pool.

It has an airport shuttle service but the ordinary double deck airport bus is only slightly slower and much cheaper.

If you can accept the long journey time to HK Island this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: There are two towers that make up this hotel. Chinese tours tend to take the left tower (looking fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

typing this review at the hotel.

company helped me to book this hotel as it was near to my office.

i arrived quite late (past 12mn) with 3pcs of luggage, so no one was at the lobby to help me with my bags. ok no problem..but as i stepped into the lobby, they had at least 7 to 8 front desk staff standing around. a case of misaligned manpower usage? i definitely would have appreciated someone helping me with my luggage.

after i checked in, i was told that my room is in the other tower about 200m away and the 2 buildings are not linked..so i had to drag my luggage and backpack to the other building myself. again, i would have appreciated if there was someone to help me with it.

i think the rooms in the other tower are more of serviced apartments because it is pretty big with a kitchenette (oven and convention stove) and a 2 door fridge. weirdly enough, they did not provide any pots or cutlery.

in-room safe and kettle are available.

the tv in the room is a little pathetic though, a small 14" CRT. definitely out of place in such a nice room.

1 thing which i must commend is that the wifi signal is excellent because they have a wireless router in each room. superb speeds at HKD120 per day.

breakfast was pretty decent for an asian palate. had to walk to the main building though.

there is a shopping centre just behind the 2 buildings, so you can get whatever you need there. supermarket on the top floor. i saw macdonalds, pizza hut, and a few eateries.

do not know about the transport around here though. afterall, this is not a touristy place but the general standard of transport in HK is good.

overall a nice,comfortable stay although i feel that the service when i checked in could be better. if it is raining, I dont know how anyone can walk betwen the 2 buildings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Did not include my booking with breakfast. Nevertheless went to have a look at the buffet breakfast before deciding. But the spread was quite basic for about HKG100.

We ended up going to the Tim Sum Restaurant one floor directly above the reception. Two of us spent about HKD80 in total each morning. I think the Tim Sum is quite cheap compared to Singapore standard. SGD12.8 for 2 person in an aircon restaurant with service is rather cheap.

So if you are not a Muslim, go and eat at the restaurant rather than the New York New York coffee house. If you get tired with the restaurant there are many other eating outlets in the shopping complex next to the hotel. BTW it is connected to the hotel.

The shopping at this hotel complex is something like Parkway Parade. Maybe a shade lower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I had stayed on Feb-March 2012, nice clean hotel in a quiet not crowdy neibh of Hong Kong, very good transportation outside the hotel.

Very convienient the shuttle bus to the airport in excellent price.
The room is big and spacious and the value for money is excellent, as Hong Kong is extremely expensive for accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.