We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Grand Kowloon to your Saves list
Harbour Grand Kowloon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HK$200 HOTEL CREDIT
Ranked #30 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Service and room excellent. Beautiful lobby. Location very good as long as you do not mind being out of the core downtown of Kowloon. There is ferry close to the hotel which goes across the harbour to Hong Kong (north point) and the hotel provides a convenient shuttle bus service every 30 min to downtown Kowloon. Region around hotel is mostly residential and has convenient shops and restaurants

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view have spectacular view of harbour and Hong Kong and in my opinion worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review and for your wonderful compliments. We’re delighted to learn that you have explored the area around the hotel - hope you also made use of the shopping discounts that we have reserved for our hotel guests for this area? Regardless of which, we hope to have an opportunity to greet you both again so if Hong Kong is in the horizon again – feel free to contact us directly to personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    569
    136
    36
    16
See reviews for
381
717
70
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Driving into our hotel for the first time was an experience I will never forget. The tall blue glass tower, shimmering waters... Sigh. Till we approached the check-in counter and were told our rooms were not ready, which is quite a damper for someone who needs to eat and nap. Another thing that caught us off guard was that the girl at the reception insisted she wanted a credit card to swipe for a fully paid room. All well, till we receive an email telling us that the credit card has been used. Not cool. Just hope we don't have to pay twice for those rooms!
Our rooms took a while to become available, even though we had reached well after the check-in time. But, walking into the room, I forgot all my irritation. What a view!! I could live at Harbour Grand, Kowloon all my life.
The view of the harbour, the promenade below, ships and boats sailing past: its what romance is made of.
Breakfast, which is only up to 10 am - again not very considerate for people on a holiday - is nice. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit and of course the view.
The concierge, Bob was particularly helpful and so enthusiastic. Just as the tall and burly Sardarjis at the door.
Complimentary mini bus services take guests to the center of the city, which is really good.

Room Tip: A room with the harbour view will be well worth the money! There's a free shuttle service to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We love your comment on our harbour view: “it’s what romance is made of”. I have also passed on your praises to those that contributed to making your experience wonderful – they are brimming with happiness and gratefulness. If you happen to have plans for Hong Kong again, feel free to contact us directly to handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here 8 nights and were blown away by the Magnificent views from our room. we were lucky enough to be there just 2 weeks prior to Christmas and were surprised by the beautiful Christmas lights on the buildings across the Harbor which we could see from our room. Beds were extremely comfortable and I really would love to buy the pillows they had! Just soooo comfortable. On the down side, for the cost of the accommodation one would think they could afford to supply free wifi but they dont! That was extremely disappointing....I guess that's why the owner is one of the wealthiest men in HongKong.
On a completely different note, it was fascinating to see how many couples arrived every morning to have wedding photos taken in the foyer and on the beautiful marble staircase. Many of the grooms and male wedding parties wore less than traditional outfits for the occasion! and the wedding cars were decorated in an amazing way from Hello Kitty to Heavy Metal themes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing 5-star review on us and we are very happy to learn that you found the views “magnificent”. It might be a bit late now but we do offer room packages with and without wifi together with other optional features to cater for differing needs. Next time you have plans for Hong Kong, please feel free to contact us directly so that we can assist with your booking directly: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we wish you a fantastic 2014 and look forward to seeing you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

the Harbour grand hotel in kowloon is a superb hotel and excellent . The reception the Sardarji at the gate is the ultimate tour guide and is vey helpful and informative. The entire family is aware of all the details of Hong Kong and places around. Rooms are very good andexcellent. The room service is a bit uncooperative. They were charging 22 HKD for heating some food but any way over all stay was very good.

Room Tip: rooms facing the harbour have very good view and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have relayed your compliments to Sardarji and he would like to thank you for your kind words. In the meantime, we wish you a fantastic 2014 and hope to greet you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights as a family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 4 and 6). The lobby area was beautiful. We were supposed to have a Deluxe Harbourview room, but were downgraded to a Superior Harbourview room as the hotel advised that it was a more spacious room. The room had two double beds, but they were very small, so we were provided with a single rollaway bed. Our room was on the side of the hotel, so the only views we got were across to the Mega box shopping mall and cruise ship terminal, not the sweeping harbour views we expected.

The hotel was a fair distance from the main part of the city, but a mini bus service was provided half hourly. In the early parts of the morning (around 9-10am) the bus filled up quite quickly. There were other shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, so getting food was not an issue.

We were surprised one afternoon to come back to the room to find a slice of cake, bottle of wine and birthday card from the hotel. We had not arranged this, so it was a lovely surprise!

We ate breakfast at the buffet each morning as it was included in our package. We would not have eaten there had we had to pay for it separately as it was very expensive and didn't change the whole time we were there (over HKD800). We had lunch at the Harbour Grill on the day we arrived as our room wasn't ready and they accommodated our kids, even though it wasn't exactly kid friendly and the views were amazing. We ordered takeaway pizza from the Waterfront Bar & Grill, which was very tasty. We also had the coffee/cake combo from the cafe.

Our package had added benefits of discounts and coffee/cake combo from the coffee shop. We were not made aware of these and only discovered after reading our itinerary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the views and made use of the hotel’s amenities and surrounding area. In regards to the room change and not being made aware of the added benefits – I would like to follow-up into the matter so if it’s not too much trouble, please email me directly: wendyj@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, from the whole team at Harbour Grand Kowloon – we wish you a Happy New Year, and hope to serve you and your family again if the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hotel has nice lobby area with good view of Hong Kong. I booked Harbour View room which was also equipped with nice view, furniture a little dated and not the quality I would expect from 5star accommodation. The hotel location is also far from major areas and a taxi is needed just to get to MTR, you can use the shuttle bus however.The real let down we're the staff, I found the staff to be rude and unprofessional, especially breakfast area and lobby, no customer service skills and if my questions or presence were an effort to get answers, can't be bothered type attitude. I would not use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we’re glad you have enjoyed the views at the Harbour Grand Kowloon. We do invest in customer service and the guest experience so your comments are of value to us. If it’s not too much trouble, please email me directly so that I can look into the matter in more detail: wendyj@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, I wish you a Happy New Year and hope to greet you again if the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

From the moment we entered the Hotel it was a whole unforgettable experience, booking in was dealt with promptly and efficiently, enabling us to get to our room and rest after a long haul from Heathrow Airport. The room on the 15th floor had a panoramic view of the Harbour and Hong Kong Island, the feeling of luxury was every where. Even the swimming pool on the roof terrace has glass sides so you could see the swimmers, the terrace had large wicker armchair, so you could chill out, relax and have a drink. We stayed for 3 nights, breakfast was buffet style and at £20,00 each a bit pricy, but the food selection catered for everyone, if you came away hungry it was your own fault. Free shuttle to the main shopping area was brilliant, we actually walked back to the hotel a couple of times along a lovely promenade. Shops were every where, along side plenty of restaurants and bars. Everything about this Hotel was wonderful, I could not fault a thing and would recommend it to everyone wanting a never to be forgotten holiday.

Room Tip: we had a superior Harbour view room on 15th floor with view across the Harbour. These rooms were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. Your unforgettable experience at the Harbour Grand Kowloon has sent us straight to Cloud Nine! If you happen to have plans for Hong Kong (or if any of your family or friends) – we would be delighted to personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, from the whole team – we wish you a 2014 filled with everything you’ve wished for! Hope to welcome you both back in the near future should the opportunity arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel with 554 beautifully appointed rooms and suites located along the Kowloon waterfront offering breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour. Conveniently situated next to the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa, the hotel is adjacent to the ferry pier travelling to North Point and is only five minutes away by complimentary hotel shuttle bus to MTR Hunghom Station and downtown Tsimshatsui's business and shopping district. Key facilities include wireless broadband Internet service - available throughout the hotel, a deluxe fitness centre with sauna, steam bath and spa services, a rooftop pool featuring a one-sided glass wall overlooking the harbour, six renowned restaurants, a 4,500 sq ft. Grand Ballroom and four versatile function rooms for meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Grand Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.