We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Centre Far East break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Save Saved
You added Harbour Grand Kowloon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel Web - HK$100 extra
Ranked #29 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“3 Centre Far East break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a harbour view club room on the 18th floor. The views were astonishing. We ate in the Chinese resturant ( Hoi Yat Heen ) on the second floor service and food was excellent . We also ate in the Grill ( Harbour Grill ) on the 1st floor which was very enjoyable.
We ate breakfasts and afternoon snacks in the club room on the 19th floor. We also popped in early evening and had a few drinks which were all included.
The check in was very smooth, and all staff were very helpful. The conciege gave us excellent directions on how to get to Victoria Peak ( this I thoughly recommend ) , the views are spectacular, but there is always a little haze.
The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to the Star Ferry ( this is the first stage to the tram for victoria peak ) and back every 30 minutes.
The hotel looked very nice on arriving it had been set up for a wedding.
This was a 3 night break prior going to Borneo & Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    707
    443
    110
    30
    12
See reviews for
291
547
58
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked my trip through American Express. First time visiting Hong Kong so I was a bit nervous about finding my way around. I went to the front check in counter and they said that since I booked the club level room (make sure you do too! I got the special for about $250 USD per night) I can go check in at the club lounge on the 19th floor. Someone personally walked me to the lounge and I was treated so well. The level of service at the club lounge is top notch. The lady checked me in promptly as I was eating some complimentary snacks and drinks. And when I told her it was my first time in Hong Kong she gave me a map and recommended many places to visit and how to get to those places using the complimentary hotel shuttles and public transport. I don't think my experience would have been as great if I did not stay at the club level. Its nice to be able to use the club lounge throughout the day until 11pm. By the way, the gym and rooftop pool are really nice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had four nights here in early March ... our first trip to HK .... we stayed here to meet friends at the end of their trip as bit of a surprise ... everything was new to us .... we opted for a Club Room with access all day including breakfast, afternoon tea, canapés and evening drinks.

The room was excellent with views to wards HK and the old airport and the harbour .... the Club was busy each day - the food was really good and the service was attentive .... without exception the staff were excellent and helped us with our may queries.

The shuttle bus was invaluable in getting in to town ... its only a 6 minute ride but due to construction on the way you cant walk along the promenade all the way in.

Next time we are in HL we will say here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on the way to Sydney and were absolutely delighted with it. If you can, go for the Harbour View Club room, you will love the view but more importantly the perks of having a club room. This gives you access to the club lounge ,where you can take coffee throughout the day and take advantage of complimentary afternoon tea and pre dinner snacks and wine. These both were fantastic with a wide range of food available, so much so that if you'd eaten breakfast, taken afternoon tea and pre-dinner snacks you probably wouldn't need to eat anything more. Breakfast was very good with a large range of European and Asian food on offer.
The hotel has several restaurants ,offering a range of styles of cooking.The hotel is a little out of the way but the regular free shuttle bus is reliable and quick.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Use the club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed March 2013 for four nights. This hotel is a classic example of the high quality travellers should expect from Hong Kong hotels - the foyer, restaurant and lobby areas are spectacular and harbour view rooms excellent. The location in Whampoa is a little distance from the Nathan Street and Tsim Sha Tsui shopping areas but the harbourside is very much harbourside - there is just a pavement between you and the water. The hotel offers a regular free shuttle to Hung Hom, Tsim Sha Tsui and Nathan Rd (stops at Peninsula Hotel) running every 30 minutes. Taxi always available and inexpensive to most places of interest.

The primary advantage of this hotel is that it is quiet. The Whampoa area is well serviced for shops and range of good price restaurants and is very safe to walk around - Whampoa is a up-market residential area and shopping and eating here is at local prices. You can get everything here along Tak On St from shopping malls to more traditional street shopping at the northern end. The biggest asset is the promenade walkway which follows the harbourside for 1-2km in each direction and is a lovely walk, particularly in the evening with the lights of Hong Kong Island..

For those looking to do something different take the local ferry (next to hotel) to HK North Point, walk south-west to Kings Rd through the street markets then catch the double decker rattler tram in to Hong Kong central (Peak Tram stop is on the way), come back via the Star Ferry and collect the Hotel Shuttle outside the Peninsula - this is an experience that shows off the different faces of Hong Kong and very inexpensive.

Whampoa extension to subway and local station is currently being constructed and will be finished in next 12 months, providing rapid connection to Kowloon and Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Harbour View rooms, well worth it. Rooms look over Kowloon Harbour and North P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Grand for four nights at the end of February 2013 and were absolutely delighted. The staff throughout the hotel were attentive and courteous, the public rooms were roomy and well serviced and our bedroom was roomy with one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a harbour view room which was breathtaking.

We have previously stayed at the Marco Polo hotel by the star ferry which whilst it has a better location is not nearly the standard of the Harbour Grand. We used the complimentary shuttle bus a few times into town but also used the local taxis which are very inexpensive and only took a few minutes.

All in all highly recommended

Room Tip: try for the habour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 dys in march on our way back from china , we picked the hotel on a special with harbourWa views , o my god it was increadable . The food , service and location all fantastic .if budget doesn't matter it's a must stay when in hong kong .nyou have plenty of shops around you or it's a quick taxi to ladies market .
Great hotel stay stay sty stay stay

Room Tip: Upgrade to harbour view it's worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel with 554 beautifully appointed rooms and suites located along the Kowloon waterfront offering breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour. Conveniently situated next to the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa, the hotel is adjacent to the ferry pier travelling to North Point and is only five minutes away by complimentary hotel shuttle bus to MTR Hunghom Station and downtown Tsimshatsui's business and shopping district. Key facilities include wireless broadband Internet service - available throughout the hotel, a deluxe fitness centre with sauna, steam bath and spa services, a rooftop pool featuring a one-sided glass wall overlooking the harbour, six renowned restaurants, a 4,500 sq ft. Grand Ballroom and four versatile function rooms for meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Grand Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.