We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Grand Kowloon to your Saves list
Harbour Grand Kowloon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
DOUBLE MILES AWAIT!
Ranked #31 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my wife and two children who are both currently students. We stayed fir two nights on route to Australia.The hotel is extremely well presented and our adjoining rooms were very spacious and very smart. The hotel is a short distance away from the centre of Kowloon however there is a half hourly shuttle bus service which we made use of on several occasions. The views from our bedrooms were stunning, looking out over the harbour and distant high rise buildings. We had breakfast at the hotel which was very good with a huge choice.

Our onward flight was not until late in the day but we were given a late checkout time at no extra charge. The hotel staff were all very helpful and welcoming.

There is a swimming pool on the roof top with stunning views.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    514
    123
    31
    15
See reviews for
345
623
64
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waroona, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we were on a budget so found the harbour grande with a 30day advance booking and pay with a no refund clause at a very reasonable rate. Absolutely wonderful accomodation, buffets, free shuttle into town. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: We didn't have a harbour view but spend time on the pool deck or in the buffet room and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 and 3 nights breaking up the long haul flight to NZ.
Great welcome,efficient check in and transfer of luggage to room, which was a Harbour view ( 16th and 9th floor on the occasions we stayed)
Breakfast (extra) is in the promenade-buffet style and well presented and stocked.
We also ate in the Harbour grill which very good.
Lovely comfortable bed and pillows. Good bathroom,large shower and bath.
The hotel has been exceptionally busy with weddings (year of the dragon-for good luck)
I did use the rooftop pool good changing facilities adjoining. Lovely views across the harbour.
Some shopping opportunities nearby in Whampoa otherwise best to take a taxi or link bus to the main shopping area (would be a good 45 min walk-don't do it -too easy to get lost)
Nothing could have prepared us for just how busy and crowded Hong Kong is.
But inside the Harbour Grand is great.
One thing though-its a pity they don't provide an iron/board. There is a laundry service but that would be expensive when you just want to iron a shirt and look a bit more presentable.
Another thing is this is one of the few places that still provides those horrible little pots of whitener for tea and coffee, a small carton or bottle of milk would be far better.

Room Tip: Harbour view and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights from 14th to 23rd November 2012....in a Club room (1903). We had a wonderful stay....(romantic holiday ) ! A big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.... The view across the harbour is magnificent....and the room is very well appointed...and the bed very comfortable ! Thank you to all the Club Floor staff....who greeted us so warmly every time we went into the Club Room for (a full) breakfast...or afternoon tea ! I would also like to mention the housekeeping staff who kept our room immaculate......and the Indian doormen who always had a smile on their faces !

I stayed at this hotel many times in the 90's when the Hilton closed on HK island....and the staff were moved over to this hotel (same owner)......it always was one of my favourites...and it remains so in 2012 ! Some hotels one remembers...and this is one of them !

The view is magnificent ...so much to watch.....and the hotel runs a free buss down to the Peninsula / Star Ferry area...very convenient. But don't forget to explore the local area around the hotel (in addition to all the well known sites in Kowloon !) .....many shops nearby. Taxis are also relatively cheap (compared to Norway anyway !) in Hong Kong. Location - considering the view....right by the water..is excellent. One can always have a quick dip in the pool on the roof whilst admiring the view...which we did several times ! The hotel is a hot spot for weddings...with the staircase making a great backdrop for memorable photos....

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who plans to stay in Hong Kong (Kowloon side)......

Seasons Greetings to all staff at the Harbour Grand Kowloon !

Room Tip: Choose a Club Floor Room with Harbour view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

REALLY good top class hotel - stayed in their club rooms which were so good - stunning views and staff really friendly and helpful at all times
Only downside is that the hotel is located about 35 minutes walk from nearest MTR stop - pleasant along waterfront but still quite a check. Hotel provides a shuttle service twice an hour which works fine but - obviously - restricted to their timings
Other than this my stay was perfect in every way and I would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georginacw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 young children. Typical large high quality hotel with great facilities and views. Free bus to the city is prefect too. However we will remember the kindness offered to us by the staff and the genuine warmth and welcome given to us. Ideal for a couple if nights in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Harbour Grand Kowloon situated in Hung Hom is a 5 minute free 1/2 hourly hotel shuttle ride away from Kowloon. I open this review with this fact as it was the hotels highlight for us. When we arrived on a day with a surprising 95% precipitation with same inclement forecast for the rest of our stay we started counting our blessings as soon as it exposed itself, namely the shuttle. It travels along Tsim Sha Tsui via Mody Road to Hankow Road (next to The Peninsula and YMCA) and fro. From there you can either move upwards towards Nathan/Canton Road or Harbourwards to the Star Ferry / Central and HK Island.

I naively expected HK winter in December to be pleasant and with no winter clothes packed we had to engage in some serious winter clothes shopping. It wasn’t sale time and with prices similar to those at home we realised HK is not as cost-effective as we thought. Thankfully it never rained again for the duration of our stay and we were on the road with 2 kids in tow. Our first City vacay without a pram presented no challenges, as besides the shuttle, the bus, taxi, train and ferry service was affordable, accessible and reliable. Well Done Hong Kong! Catch a Whampoa Gardens Bus that'll end up in the terminus and you’re within the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa precinct and a 5 minute walk away from the Hotel.

Victoria Harbour is a dazzling cityscape by day and the view from the hotel (especially the rooftop pool) overlooking the skyline at night provides for an unforgettable multimedia spectacle. The Hotel itself is beautiful. No wonder newly wedded couples choose it as a venue for their wedding receptions. There must have been 5 weddings during our stay!

This busy hotel, albeit 5 star and out of the way (which has either its advantages or disadvantages depending on what you’re in HK for) is saved by the shuttle service and breath-taking harbour views.

Room Tip: Harbour view room recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel with 554 beautifully appointed rooms and suites located along the Kowloon waterfront offering breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour. Conveniently situated next to the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa, the hotel is adjacent to the ferry pier travelling to North Point and is only five minutes away by complimentary hotel shuttle bus to MTR Hunghom Station and downtown Tsimshatsui's business and shopping district. Key facilities include wireless broadband Internet service - available throughout the hotel, a deluxe fitness centre with sauna, steam bath and spa services, a rooftop pool featuring a one-sided glass wall overlooking the harbour, six renowned restaurants, a 4,500 sq ft. Grand Ballroom and four versatile function rooms for meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Grand Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.