We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service but not the best location, with roadworks going on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Grand Kowloon to your Saves list
Harbour Grand Kowloon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
DOUBLE MILES AWAIT!
Ranked #30 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
near London , UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great service but not the best location, with roadworks going on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a lovely harbour view room, it was huge and very nicely appointed. The service and welcome was first-rate and everyone we encountered was focussed on ensuring that we had a great stay.
My husband celebrated a milestone birthday and a lovely card, cake and bottle of wine was delivered to our room, on the day, a lovely surprise!
The rooftop pool is amazing, but underutilised whilst we were visiting.
The views are super but you miss the light show in central...one of the key reasons to stay Kowloon side, as you're too far around the bay.
The roadworks all around the roads near the hotel are a massive pain, getting anywhere takes MUCH longer at the moment, you need to factor that in to your plans.
Try the Harbour grill if you're staying, the food is suuper and service first rate.
The only other downside for us was the massive number of weddings, meaning that the upstairs bar was unavailable for most of our stay.
That said, it's a lovely hotel with very helpful and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and request a harbour view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The roadworks outside is rather unfortunate but it also an exciting means to an end where we will soon have the MTR right on our doorstep making transportation that much more convenient. Thank you for leaving a review and I hope you will stay with us the next time you and your husband are in Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    512
    123
    31
    15
See reviews for
343
623
64
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Superb 2 night stay at this hotel last month as a stopover to Australia. The first thing you notice is a fresh scented smell when you enter the lobby, it smelt like heaven. Check in was smooth, rooms are spacious and clean. Concierge helped us out a little bit, the only downside - a good 15-20 min walk from Hung Hom metro station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest, We always happy to hear the word "Fantastic!". Thank you for writing a review and just a quick note should you find yourself in our neighbourhood again - the complimentary shuttle bus also stops at the Hunghom metro station on the half hour. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

I have to say that it didn't start very positively as we arrived to the hotel at 9.30am and were told that the standard check-in time was at 2pm. It's probably more the travel agent's fault as they didn't communicate this to us beforehand but after 11 hour flight and a 45 min drive I really hoped they would offer a temporary room.Anyway, we spent our first few hours in Kowloon inside a Starbucks waiting for our room to be ready :) Apart from this little inconvenience everything else was spot on.

The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The view on the harbour was to die for. Every morning we found an english newspaper outside our door and the room was always very clean and smelling gorgeous.

The breakfast buffet was immense, so many options! I wish we could have chosen our table in the morning but instead we were sat in between other tables which were very close to one another .You could almost rub shoulders with the person sitting at the table next to you so there was very little privacy. I really didn't understand that as there was plenty of room.

I've read some of the reviews about the location..I agree that it was a little far from the main attractions and from the pier to catch the ferry to Hong Kong Island. However the hotel did offer complimentary shuttle service to one of the main stations and also to the busy Nathan Road.

Personally the location was perfect for us as we love walking around so we just walked down Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade down to the Star Ferry Pier every morning. a good 40 mins walk..to help burn off all the yummy Chinese food!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest, Congratulations again on your recent wedding! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us. Will look into the breakfast table arrangement but thank you for leaving us your comment. Perhaps we will have the chance to serve you again - anniversarymoon??? Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is a little dated but the service was top notch. The staff is as good as it gets. We enjoyed the lunch buffet that covers any craving but was a little pricey. Great roof top infinity pool / bar / hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very busy luxury hotel with its main interest being events and business people. If you can cope with the frenetic pace then go for it. Check in was confusing and we were not given orientation to services available. Eg breakfast room, free shuttle. The concierge on duty on the day we checked in was not remotely interested in being helpful. That being said the rooms are luxurious and spacious as is the hotel with its magnificent views. Our room was not overlooking Victoria bay as requested and there was also problems with the plumbing in the bathroom. We were offered another room but the prospect of packing everything up again did our head in. We stayed put. Wi if is expensive. The breakfast was sumptuous and we found a quiet corner bar away from the mayhem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Victoria harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. Rather disappointing to hear about the 'twist' - will definitely pass your comments onto the appropriate departments. Thank you again for bringing it to our attention. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic views overlooking hongkong and other side mainland china. Lovely lounge area, very clean, service first class. Reception staff very helpfull. Stylish rooms. We booked harbour view rooms, great views at night. Plus point free pick ups and free coach to city. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Harbour Grand Hotel has a grand entrance lobby with large light filled windows overlooking Hong Kong's magnificent harbour which is a delight. However the only we faced was connectivity to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden | Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel with 554 beautifully appointed rooms and suites located along the Kowloon waterfront offering breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour. Conveniently situated next to the Wonderful Worlds of Whampoa, the hotel is adjacent to the ferry pier travelling to North Point and is only five minutes away by complimentary hotel shuttle bus to MTR Hunghom Station and downtown Tsimshatsui's business and shopping district. Key facilities include wireless broadband Internet service - available throughout the hotel, a deluxe fitness centre with sauna, steam bath and spa services, a rooftop pool featuring a one-sided glass wall overlooking the harbour, six renowned restaurants, a 4,500 sq ft. Grand Ballroom and four versatile function rooms for meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, AsiaRooms, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Grand Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.