We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby Sevens Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bellingen, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rugby Sevens Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Went with my teenage son to the rugby sevens and it was ok for that, however it is surrounded by girly bars but they don't bother you . Friendly staff, good location and clean with good breakfast . Beware beds are from the Flinstones and are quite firm.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    253
    188
    42
    25
See reviews for
47
71
69
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location of hotel, friendly and honest staff (forgot my IPhone in the room and front office staff told me to wait because i forgot my phone in the room), half hour drive by taxi from airport if no traffic jam.

Room Tip: great clubs and bars with live musik near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent location especially if you are in town for the rugby 7's. Right in the middle of all the Wan Chai action. Security friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok but did the job..just be sure to take your breakfast vouchers otherwise they get very annoyed. Hotel needs more signage for where their amenities are as the gym and breakfast are hard to find first time and there was no info on check in from front desk. Overall a good hotel and rooms satisfactory. Will stay here again in the future...oh yeah and if your tall be prepared to have your feet hanging off the end of the bed!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights mid March on the 14th floor. The hotel is well located on Lockhart Road and only a two minute walk from Wan Chai MTR. It's located in a lively, but very safe area of HK. There are lots of bars, 7 Eleven stores and food outlets in the immediate vicinity. There is even an excellent bar in the basement. Looking at criticisms on other reviews, the only ones I would agree with are about the firm beds. My twin room was a good size, clean and much like hotels I've stayed in when visiting mainland Europe. Checking in and out took about two minutes and staff were very helpful throughout. I would definitely stay there again

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over last weekend, the rooms are very clean, nice bedding, towels etc. we payed a very good price and were overall pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a very lively area but we knew that beforehand. Staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Firstly I will say that we did not use the restaurant so I cannot comment on this. Having paid I was surprised when my card was charged with a HK$1000 Guarantee but it seems that this is normal in Asia. The room was kept very clean but there seemed to be a damp Musty smell throughout the corridor and room. The bed was Hard but then I like a hard bed so for me was perfect for a good nights sleep. Unfortunately the shower flooded after every use and the toilet did not flush very well The staff were not overly bothered and di nothing about it. Despite being in the center we did not hear any street noise. I would say this is a good hotel for a city break or business. The staff were not overly friendly or helpful and were quite put out when I booked out 2 days early due to a change in my travel itinarary. We were supposed to go back there for another week but I couldn't face it so we accepted an offer to stay with my Fiance's uncle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stay in the hotel for 5 nights. It was in excellent location for us close to subway and lots of nice restaurants around. The only downside was the pool as it was a quite hot weather and the trip was simple leisure, it looked bigger on website but I guest that's how it works these days. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Wanchai, The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is within easy walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, known for its large scale of exhibitions, concerts and trade fairs. The Hong Kong Arts Centre and all major public transportation systems including the MTR underground railway and the unique traditional trams are just a few minutes away. The famous Star Ferry, which will take you on a fascinating ride to the Kowloon Peninsula, offers spectacular views of Hong Kong's unique skyline is also situated in the Wanchai district. The hotel offers a very convenient location for both business and leisure travellers, 45 minutes from The Hong Kong International Airport surrounded by a plethora of restaurants and just 5 minutes from the Central and Admiralty business districts. Popular shopping areas, such as Causeway Bay and Admiralty are just a short ride away by taxi, tram or MTR.The loveliest sights of Wanchai can be discovered on a walk. Wanchai has its share of unique historical buildings, famous historic sites and cultural relics, such as the oldest post office in Hong Kong; old Wan Chai Post Office, and Hung Shing Temple. At the same time, well-known modern buildings and places such as the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center, Central Plaza and Golden Bauhinia Square make their presence felt in the urban landscape. Like many areas in Hong Kong, Wan Chai has a mix of the modern and the traditional. Wanchai offers visitors a captivating cross section of life in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharney Guang Dong Hong Kong
Wharney Hotel Hong Kong
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.