We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ideal hotel for a business trip to Hong Kong. It is a short walk from the Exhibition and Convention centre. As a result the hotel fills up very fast when there is a major convention or exhibition. The rooms are somewhat on the smaller side, but very thoughtfully designed and with all amenities. The service is good and the food in the restaurant was also very good. The proximity to all means of transport is a very big plus when staying here. Will recommend to anyone visiting for a business trip. Best is to book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    267
    198
    48
    27
See reviews for
51
78
73
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a well run, comfortable hotel in the middle of Wanchai district, which is pretty central in Hong Kong island - in other words it's lively and you can get everywhere. Wanchai MTR underground train is just fifty metres away and there are trams in the next street (the cheapest and most fun way to traverse the main parts of Hong Kong). Taxis are stacked outside and passing frequently.

I got on the "executive floor" which was worth it in my view. I got free wi-fi with a great connection, a comfortable room with an armchair as well as an executive office chair and desk, a good bed and a small bath with shower over the top. There's also free breakfast in the "executive lounge" which is basically another room without the bed and a few tables and chairs in there. Breakfast is Western and fine. The hotel also has a spacious gym with good equipment and a small pool, steam room and sauna, making it worthwhile for an extended stay.

Note that outside is a zoo though- this is the centre of Wanchai's red light district with multiple noisy bars, hostess bars and the usual clients right outside the door. So try to get a high floor facing the rear of the hotel if you don't want to hear shouting and music at night.

Overall, I really liked the Wharney Guag Dong. The staff are polite and efficient, and it's recently renovated. I'd consider this one a bit of a find as I got a better rate, even for an executive room, than many "budget" hotels.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor facing the back of the hotel if you want a quiet sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

a great location, good price, and a very friendly and responsive staff earn 4 stars for the wharney guang dong hotel in wan chai, hong kong.

i am a firm believer in 'you get what you pay for', and i chose this hotel based primarily on price, but was pleasantly surprised to find that the service did not suffer as the price decreased. if one wishes (and can afford) to pay $400 upwards per nite for a harbour view room, great ... but when traveling on a budget, the wharney GDH is an excellent choice.

the wan chai district offers the traveler excellent food, drink, and entertainment while at the same time being accessible to the subway, bus, and taxi queues.

hint: skip the hotel's breakfast buffet, and head out onto the street.

cheers.

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the less chance a traveler will be bothered by the sounds of wan chai's ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here in this hotel for my business trip because it was only a walk able distance to the Hong Kong exhibition and convention center.they had a shuttle bus operating from the international airport to the hotel only for Hong Kong $125 which i think is very cheep its a 45 min journey from the airport to the hotel.they have a decent reception area but no sofa or any thing to sit while you wait.the front office staff are well trained.the rooms are very small but very clean and tidy.i booked directly through the hotel for a regular room but i got an upgrade to the executive floor deluxe room .the house keeping did there part of the job well no complaints.the WiFi was included in my package.they had a good breakfast at their Japanese restaurant with a wide verity of food for Hong Kong $108.the hotel is situated in the vibrant area of Wanchai.there is a strip of shopping places,bars/pubs, multi cuisine restaurant and convenience store, the 7 eleven are the most.overall my stay at this hotel was comfortable and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a long time favorite of visitors to the Wanchai district of Hong Kong. An abundance of bars, restaurants, and convenience stores line Lockhart and the nearby streets. The hotel provides all the basics, and the staff is friendly and well trained. The Wharney has 355 rooms and was constructed in 1987 and was last renovated in 2004. The rooms are clean, but starting to show their age a bit.

The Wharney has no coffee shop for breakfast, but you can venture up or down the street for an English Pub breakfast at the Queen Victoria of the local fare at a variety of small cafes. Some of my nearby favorites pubs were the Queen Victoria, Old China Hand, Insiders, Spicy Fingers and The Wanch.

Hong Kong is one of Asia's most expensive cities, and a room that might cost $50 in Bangkok is likely cost $140 in Hong Kong. That's the rate I paid for my 3 day stay at the Wharney. it was worth it for the location.

On arrival at the Hong Kong Airport you can take the Airport train to Wanchai for 100 HK dollars and then a short taxi to the Wharney Hotel. I took the hotel bus service for my departure, which picks you up at the Wharney and drops you off at your terminal at Hong Kong Airport for 150 HK dollars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the last 5 years as recently as July 2012 and will be going again January 2013. The reason I stay here is that it is a good all rounder.

The location is great in the heart of Wanchai, its opposite some good pubs/bars so if nightlife is your thing you couldn't stay in a better location. Despite this I have never been disturbed by noise from the street apart from when the rugby 7s is on which unless you are there for the rugby I advise you to avoid Hong Kong at this time. There are numerous convenience stores within a 2 minute walk also kebab, pizza, Thai and subway takeaways again less than 2 minutes walk away. At the end of the street (50 meters) there is a "pacific coffee" which is a starbucks style coffee shop which is great for morning coffee and croissant.Dont be put off by wanchais reputation as a red light district its hardly noticeable unless you go looking for it and very tame (look out for ladyboys outside 7/11 after midnight )

The rooms as in most of Hong Kong are quite small but functional on my last stay we were on the 17th floor and seemed like the room had been renovated it was in good condition and clean but I cannot vouch for all floors as I have had rooms in the past with stained carpets but possibly the whole hotel has been renovated. We are a family of three and there is space in a double room for an extra bed which the hotel will happily provide . Didn't get charged for the extra bed on my last visit but have in the past in fact as we were checking out there were some Irish ladies complaining about the fee for the extra bed so a bit hit and miss.

Getting to the hotel is simple from the airport. Catch the airport express from the airport to hong Kong station in 25minutes cost HK$100. Catch a taxi from station to the hotel in less than 10 minutes and cost less than HK$30. The MTR station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel great for getting around Hong Kong. If fashion shopping is your thing then Wanchai doesn't have much to offer but does have a decent street market which is worth a visit and the wanchai computer center above the mtr station and 24hr mcdonalds is great for geeks(sorry)

My only negatives about the wharney are that the room service menu is very limited to Asian dishes and expensive but as mentioned there plenty of places to eat on your doorstep from traditional pub grub to delicious thai restaurants. Also the tv choice for english speakers is limited to Sky news,cnn and national geographic channel.

recommend this hotel and can be had at a good price most of the year through BA.com

Room Tip: 17th floor was nice and clean no view from either side of hotel so choose back for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Convenient location with lots of eateries, popular wanton noodle shop, egg tarts shop and convenience stores just minutes away. It is also 5 minutes walk to the MTR station. However, no fashion retail shops or malls nearby.

This hotel is located in the red light district but the crowd is not rowdy. Although there could be some noise coming from the bars during the weekend, we were not disturbed by the noise as we were located on a high floor and facing away from the main road. However, as this hotel caters mainly to tourist with kids, we were frequently disturbed by the hotel guest shouting at each other across the rooms. The thin wall of the hotel room made it impossible not to be disturbed.

If you can bear with the noise from your neighbour in the next room, this is a “value for money” hotel, which is conveniently located near amenities and transportation. Service staff are always polite and ready to help.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main road and on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Wanchai, The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is within easy walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, known for its large scale of exhibitions, concerts and trade fairs. The Hong Kong Arts Centre and all major public transportation systems including the MTR underground railway and the unique traditional trams are just a few minutes away. The famous Star Ferry, which will take you on a fascinating ride to the Kowloon Peninsula, offers spectacular views of Hong Kong's unique skyline is also situated in the Wanchai district. The hotel offers a very convenient location for both business and leisure travellers, 45 minutes from The Hong Kong International Airport surrounded by a plethora of restaurants and just 5 minutes from the Central and Admiralty business districts. Popular shopping areas, such as Causeway Bay and Admiralty are just a short ride away by taxi, tram or MTR.The loveliest sights of Wanchai can be discovered on a walk. Wanchai has its share of unique historical buildings, famous historic sites and cultural relics, such as the oldest post office in Hong Kong; old Wan Chai Post Office, and Hung Shing Temple. At the same time, well-known modern buildings and places such as the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center, Central Plaza and Golden Bauhinia Square make their presence felt in the urban landscape. Like many areas in Hong Kong, Wan Chai has a mix of the modern and the traditional. Wanchai offers visitors a captivating cross section of life in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharney Guang Dong Hong Kong
Wharney Hotel Hong Kong
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.