We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Regal Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.30-38 Sa Po Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CLUB ROOM TRIAL
Ranked #152 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent hotel for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here two nights. I found the hotel nice but a bit out of the way, not being in the best location. The hotel is not near a metro station so you have to take a mini bus to get to the MMR. The room was average, it looked a little dated. The beds were comfortable, although they gave me two double beds when I had asked for one queen. There is really nothing special about the hotel, and based on the location I wouldn't stay here again; I would want to be closer to the action. The hotel is a good value though if you don't mind the location. The one plus of the location though is it is in "Thai Town" so you can find some really, really, good Thai food. It was actually the best food I had while in Hong Kong. If you are traveling alone I would recommend checking out "Mingle on the Shai" for a good (but small) room in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
38
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been staying at hotels in Hong Kong for 25 years, and this has been my worst experience. First, the toilets overflowed on three different occasions. Second, my room safe deposit box did not work, and I had to wait three hours for the manager to reset it, after calling multiple times. Third, the breakfast buffet was not pleasant - the food quality was poor and it was too crowded and noisy. Fourth, on the day I was leaving, I called for the bellboy multiple times, and it took about one-half hour for the bellboy to appear. Finally, the airport bus did not go directly from the hotel to the airport. Instead, it went to other locations to pick up and drop off people before going to the airport. It took more than 1½ hours to arrive at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The reception executive is so slow that there is a line of check in and check out guests.
the food selection has practically nothing for a vegetarian. Break fast offers halal section but hardly any thing for a vegetarian. the staff interaction borders on rudeness. rooms are spacious with very comfortable bedding and bath facilities.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the rooms are spacious and well equipped. the front desk is always overcrowded and slow which is very irritating and trying. also the service levels if the staff is from rude to indiffrent. we were given our room close to 3 with no apologies or concern for our comfort despite the chisk in time being 2:00 pm.
the breakfast is decent spread but does not cater to a vegetarian. the dishes are hardly cleared so much so, that one morning i piled all my plates and offered to self clear them myself.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

在其他酒店,就算是被升級入住行政樓層,也可以享受適當的禮遇,例如evening cocktails,club lounge免費早餐等等,但酒店方面說我所訂的房型是club(trial),只能入住行政樓層的房間,並不能享受任何相關禮遇,為什麼在訂單上的房型不註明club(trial) without club floor benefit呢?

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mostly, in the room, the view and the decollation was satisfied. But you can add socket in convenience place that you can let guest used easily. Also the buffet dinner is good. But Sa-se-me taste should be improved. Finally the hotel instruction can be more prefect for example provide the famous place nearer or the traffic way (times of hotel shuttle bus, how to go to MTR) etc…

Room Tip: sea view and high level room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROH-GM, General Manager at Regal Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear friendy I,

What a meaningful and valuable feedback! We particularly appreciate you love our rooms and enjoyed dinner buffet at Café Neo. Our concierge team is also happy to have been your guide.

We aim to achieve 100% memorable hotel experience to every guest so 15% to go! Thanks again and keep coming back.

With best regards,

Christoph Szymanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A 3-star hotel, that welcomed us with a huge amount of crowd in the lobby area. Being a Sunday, I could understand the rush trying to check-in. But what I failed to understand was, why such a big hotel had just 3 people supporting the amazingly small front desk they have. If only they had a bigger reception area, they could have more people working on the check-ins thereby reducing the crowd in the lobby. Thankfully the lobby was big enough to acoomodate the huge crowd, else things would have been worse. This is the first hotel (of its size) I have seen having such a small front-desk. After standing in the huge line, thankfully, there was 1 person who attended us, completed the check-in process and were handed over the key to our room. Just 1 key for a room of 4. Really? Upon requesting, we were given another key (thankfully).
Anyhow, moving on, another terrible thing here is, like other hotels in HK-MO region, they give wifi access only in the lobby region, as if that was not enough, you have access to the network only for 30 minutes (continuous) a day from the time you first login, thats it.
We were 4 of us and asked for a single sharing room, so we kind of expected to get a bigger room. Much to our surprise it was a double split room that had 2 more beds. Apart from these things, the room was good, so was the housekeeping as they responded pretty soon for our requests.
The breakfast buffet like any other 3-star had a huge range of dishes and varieites. Starting with a soup, ending with seasonal fruits. Since the hotel had quite a lot of Indian tourists, they had a couple of Indian dishes on both the days that we stayed here.

Room Tip: Try asking for a spare key during check-in, as they usually just give a single key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROH-GM, General Manager at Regal Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear soorakarthik,

Thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback after recent stay. We are most grateful to you for sharing your experience on quick response from our Housekeeping team. Many guests really enjoyed sitting at our hotel lobby – makes the ambience here so lively!

We will not sit still and will constantly improve upon what we do. Hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,

Christoph Szymanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Oriental Hotel

Address: No.30-38 Sa Po Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regal Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only international standard hotel in the Kowloon East area, the Regal Oriental Hotel offers great convenience and value-for-money accommodations. International travellers appreciate the hotel's proximity to major shopping complexes, industrial districts, and scenic and heritage spots. Local visitors like the Regal Orienal's location in Kowloon City, well known for its vibrant cultural and historical background. Likewise, the area abounds with restaurants offering fantastic culinary delights for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Regal Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal Oriental
Regal Oriental Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.