We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, avoid if you are western” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Regal Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exciting fun Whiskers!
Ranked #163 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Terrible, avoid if you are western”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Firstly, this place is NOWHERE NEAR Hong Kong. So unless you actually want to visit Shatin, forget it.
Secondly, it's geared up for Chinese Mainland tourists. If you have no idea what this means, it means tour groups of folks who have never left china before, who don't know how to use a toilet or eat in a western restaurant, who believe that noise is important for life and who have never come across westerner culture before (queuing, politeness etc etc). So, you will be sharing your large hotel with many people like this - so noisy lobby, noisy neighbors etc etc.
Back to the hotel. My room was large. It was the most positive thing about the hotel.
In the bathroom was a sign saying the water quality had won awards but you should still drink from the minibar instead - this just about summed up the hotel - all about extracting extra cash by lying and cheating. (Hk water is completely safe to drink even without winning awards, I live here).
We ate in the Italian restaurant - food was average/poor; prices high for HK; we both got sick the next day with stomach cramps and diarrhea.
We used the carpark twice. After paying HKD200 for overnight parking I asked if there was cheaper parking nearby and told no. Walking outside the hotel I realized there are TWO HUGE carparks within 50m of the hotel, each charging HKD40 for overnight parking. Later, they charged us a weekend rate for 1.5 hours parking even though it was Friday - refused to accept that Friday is not part of the weekend (we are in HK folks, not Arabia!). That whole discussion was handled in the rudest manner imaginable.
The whole stay was a disaster. I wanted to stay here because we had an event happening over the weekend nearby and I live a while away in HK. But never again. It was dire. Particularly if you are western and have any concept of customer service or fairness.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear fairhsa: Thank you for staying at Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that you seem to have taken exception that we have many Asian guests. Being a hotel with over a thousand rooms, and accommodating not only the tour groups but travelers all over the world, our lobby and some public areas can therefore be a bit crowded especially during the prime time. It is only a gentle reminder for not recommending guests drinking the tap water considering the acclimatized issue, so that to avoid those similar symptoms you have mentioned. In fact, we are going to implement complimentary bottled water in all guestrooms. We are surprised that the food from our Avanti Pizzeria was not up to your expectation since most feedback for this restaurant is complimentary. Our parking facility is only an extra service for our guest’s convenience and our guests can surely make their alternative choices.

We appreciated your constructive comments and will certainly reinforce our training on customer service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    388
    205
    71
    47
See reviews for
223
164
82
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks - given a triple room with a tea/coffee making facility with sink, however it was leaking and stunk everytime i opened the fridge (as it was next to sink). Tried to exchange rooms however they gave us a smaller room so therefore we jus stuck with the first one. Shower head not manoeuvrable - big disappointment.

Staff are inconsistent, to me they are there when its quiet but non existing when its busy. Housekeeping staff do a brilliant job and keep on top of everything! Rude staff at the bakery shop, need customer service training.

Overall, ok hotel to stay in for a few days but not 2 weeks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Jasoline: Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong and your contribution at Trip Advisor is appreciated.

Your valuable comments are well noted and we will certainly take every step necessary to make appropriate improvement. We will, in the meantime, reinforce our internal training on customer service and ensure the finest standard is maintained at all times.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience may have caused. All of us at Regal Riverside look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel one night so we could not begin to take advantage of all it had to offer. It sits on a beautiful location on a river that has pedestrian bridges across and walk/jog/bike trails on both sides. Previous reviews have mentioned problems with check in and check out so we paid particular attention ... it took us 5 minutes in line to get to the check in which was quick and the employee was very helpful and patient...check out was also very quick..no complaints at all. The room was very large and spacious with beautiful picture windows looking over the river...only missing an ironing board and iron but I'm sure if I called one would have been delivered immediately. There was a safe in the closet and a mini fridge. We ate at the Italian restaurant but there were several others in the hotel ..has over 1,000 rooms. We used the fitness centre which had every machine you could ever need and a separate room for aerobics, and exercise, again with everything you could need. The package I purchased online the day we checked in was not only a great price but included the fitness centre use and free shuttle to the airport! This hotel was excellent value for the money and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room about 9th floor and higher and overlooking the river...the view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear dmakk: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and your positive comments are highly appreciated.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and our services and facilities were to your expectations. We have 10 restaurants and bars serving different cuisines and most of the comments are complimentary.

Your kind compliments really warmed our hearts and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon when we will do our utmost to make your stay a most enjoyable and comfortable one.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed in a newly refurbished room (floor 17). The decor was a bit over the top (loud carpet in the hallways like a casino, mirrors everywhere in the room) but the room was high quality and very clean.
The gym was free, which was nice. The wifi was not free, which I think is pretty ridiculous in a modern city in 2013. The hair dryer was a bit rubbish and the cord was too short.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kat H: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your constructive comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that in general the room assignment was to your expectations. We do have many types of rooms and you may check on our hotel website for good offerings during your next visit so that you will entitle to complimentary airport shuttle, in-room WiFi and many other privileges.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a deluxe room with king size bed and river view and we looked so much forward to check-in @hotel after our long journey(20 hours with fligh). We arrived yesterday at 6 pm and were told that we could not have our ordered king size bed but a twin-bed. If it's just a short stay we might probably say ok but our stay is rather long and we did pay for a king size bed. Thus we refused a twin-bed room. Alternative was given: we could wait for one hour so that they can clean our ordered room. Normal check-in time is 2pm and we arrived at 6pm. One hour to clean a room that was ordered many months ago is not acceptable! Then we got a room,it was a tiny room and it was with no river view. We could not accept the room since it was not what we paid for. Then we were asked to pay HKD 200 extra per night (our stay is around 2weeks) for a river view room. We said we did pay for a river view room and they still insist for the upcharge if we are to get a river view. They started to discuss with each other in cantonese (local language in hk) and the coversation was bad! They said we want a river view room even if we are dying right away! I felt so bad,it was very hurtful to hear that. My husband cannot speak cantonese but he understands a little. He fully understood they were talking badly about us by their tone,facial expression and the "die"word. Worse for me,since I understood everything. We did not do anything wrong to deserve this,we just asked for what we ordered and paid for. We showed our booking plus email conversation/confirmation about the river view room. They did not seem to understand fully the email written in English and I translated to them.

We were told to wait for 40 mins. And we did give them, come back in45mins and waited for 10mins more. We finally got our room. However the shower did not really work. Theres water coming out but it was very little water. I stood for 10mins under the shower and could rinse away the bubbles from shampo. We called for help,and a young guy came for check. He said to me "Se,water is coming out!" I ssid yes I saw water is coming out but it was so little. He said if he found it was totally ok. I said it is not ok,he then promised he would have someone to check day after. And he didnt do - no follow up from him.

It was a big mistake to have ordered this hotel,again. 2011 were we here, we waited at reception for 1 and a half hour. And when we got our room, a used bag welcomed us next to the bedside table. We understand this is a hotel but "such a thing"should be cleared before nrw customers arrival? We did get a sincere apology from the manager,and he was nice to give us some breakfast coupons. We did not use those coupons so much,as there is sooooo much nice food/restaurants in hk! But he showed he cared and we appreciated. This time, I called a lot and they didnt pick up my call.The shower gotta be fixed. Last time I called, the call didnt go though at all (@front desk,was just 10 sth!) I gotta go down to try finding someone to help me at lobby. Sigh...
We will not recommend this hotel to my family and friends. And we will definately not stay in this hotel again ourselves...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We enjoyed the stay very much. Unlike reviews we dint have to wait at checking or checkout counters. Very pleasant decor of rooms. Buses to nearly all parts of city available just outside hotel.lovely location.
I had stayed first 2 days at regal oriental which was just not enjoyable. Long checking time, poor room decor here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Ajakanoi: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside and posting your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us, and very much enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. Rest assured that the entire staff will continue in our endeavor to maintain our quality standard at all times.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not distant future.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just like everyone I faced the same delay in checking in, took about 35 minutes but my checkout was flawless. Beside that they assigned me a twin bed room instead of a double which was clearly shown in my booking. But I am happy to have a room which as almost double the size of those on the island.

Learn to take the bus and you will find this place interesting. The bus 182 right outside the hotel goes all the way to Hong Kong Island passing Gloucester Road and ending at Macau Ferry Terminal. The fare is HKD 16. After midnight the bus number change to N182 with this service ending at 5 am, fare is HKD 24. Bear in mind the whole journey takes more than 75 minutes. Going to Shatin Railway Station and Shatin Town Center is a breeze as you won't have to wait for more than 5 minutes for a bus to come along. The MTR Station Sha TIn Wai not Sha Tin is about 15 minutes walk. It is convenient for those going to Mongkok by using the East Rail and getting off at Mongkok East.

You can make a considerable saving if you make use of the FREE hotel Shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are now charging for transport to their sister hotel Regal Oriental, Kowloon and Hong Kong. It used to be free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Thaksin: Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you were happy with the room size although we were not able to assign you a double-bed room. Seems that you are pretty familiar with the transportation network and we trust you had a pleasant trip in Hong Kong.

Again, thank you for constructive comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Riverside Hotel

Address: 34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Shing Mun River in Shatin, Regal Riverside Hotel is only 30-minute drive away from Hong Kong International Airport and is located conveniently near 2 MTR stations and a mega shopping complex featuring over 900 brand boutiques, individually operated shops, dining and entertainment places. The 1,138-room hotel operates routine shuttle services to Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disney Land, Ngong Ping 360 and Tsimshatsui East together with other public transports right on the hotel's doorstep, guests can easily connect to all shopping, entertainment and business districts in Hong Kong. Shatin features places of interest such as the 10,000 Buddha Temple, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Jockey Club, a famous world class horse racing arena, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Science Park. The hotel also features 10 restaurants and bars as well as a wide range of recreational facilities such as the beautiful outdoor swimming pool (closes during winter period), spacious fitness center with sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and beauty services. The hotel's OM Spa, designed in contemporary Thai style and infused with a soothing sense of harmony and serenity, provides professional spa and massage services to discerning guests for nourishing their body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regal Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Riverside Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Riverside
Regal Riverside Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.