We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regal Riverside - enjoyed stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Regal Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super Saver, free Wifi
Ranked #159 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 797 Reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Regal Riverside - enjoyed stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good value for money and many bus stops takes you to most tourist attractions. Big chopping centre approx. 15 mins walk away and the metro/train network in shopping centre. 2 entrances into hotel which makes taking food into your room less embarrassing (from back of the hotel where there are plenty of restaurants and convenience stores). Big comfortable family rooms for what I paid and would definitely consider going back to this hotel if rates remain low.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear kwan h: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the convenient location of our hotel. We do have 10 restaurants and bars that are very well received by both the local residents and our guests, you may try some cuisines during your next visit.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    352
    184
    63
    38
See reviews for
200
144
76
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I arrived on a Fri 1200hr and had 7 rooms booked for my group, the staff COMFORTABLY said to come back at 1600hr as the rooms are not ready. So we went out and gave them ample time, got back at 1700hr, and the same staff came back out to say that we can have our rooms "now". We sat at the counter, she started keying in and we finally got our rooms at 1920hr!!!!

Then I couldnt get my wifi to work, they kept passing me to multiple other departments and still it wouldnt work and at the end of nearly 2 hr, the reception said that my last name had not been keyed in.

At checkout, while my group was busy settling our passports among ourselves, This really rude guy called "sunny" shouted at us to move to the side and while we were about to move, he rudely grabbed our bags and chucked them away. That's not all, after that, he had the cheek to come up to us to say, "no eating in here".... I was just having a banana, come on!

The extremely bad experience with the service out-weighed the nice rooms there. So if there was a zero star, they will get it my vote for that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Raihando: Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong.

We appreciated your valuable comments and will certainly reinforce our internal training and re-emphasize the importance of customer service to our associates. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Super busy hotel you will find quene nearly among all hours everyday.
They have different type of rooms- with/without bathroom-we have checked into one without bathroom then swap afterward.

Overall nice hotel with this price- no where you can get in Hong Kong.

The only drawback would be the location; it's not near any MRT so be expected to wait for buses. However there are sufficient choices of buses to pick you up.

Overall not a bad hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Stephwan: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and posting your constructive comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that in general you had a pleasant stay with us and our services were to your expectations. We do have many types of rooms and you may check on our hotel website for good offerings during your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is located at a good location. Rooms are good and specious.

The only problem is that the hotel has a very poor check in facility. They claim that they have 1,138 rooms and assuming that every room has a guest whoes average stay is 3 days. Then you have about 400 Check Ins and Check Outs daily.

To support such volume, they just do not have enough staff and infastructure. You will always find a queue for Check In and Check Out, which could take anywhere between 30 minutes to 60 minutes.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for Non Smoking room, if you are not a smoker. Smoking rooms sting a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear AjayMShah: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel as well as our room furbishing. We were running a very high occupancy during the period of your stay and the Front Desk was extremely busy during the prime time for check in and out. Appropriate action had been taken to ease the situation and we have additional counter for check in during peak hours.

We do apologize for the inconvenience may have caused. All of us at Regal Riverside will continue in our endeavor to maintain our standard at all times, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stay - 3 Nights (1 Nov - 4 Nov'13)
Room - Superior (2 Adults)
Pros - Clean, new, and spacious rooms, nice other properties, large LCD tv, good location (i wanted to stay in new territorries-ShaTin), bus stop right outside hotel (HK is better explored by Bus in my opinion), MTR not far away, River side etc etc.
Cons - we were not lucky to have early check in!! (surprising aint it for hotel with more than 1000 rooms, waiting for more than an hour after 12 hours journey is quite a putoff you know), superior rooms are not exactly river facing (thats what staff told us), they dont give bills during check out!
I am happy with my choice & definitely recommend to others...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear PravirShah: Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our room furbishing was to your expectations. We were running full house the night before you check in, perhaps that was one of the reasons that our Front Desk associates were engaged by the heavy check out during the peak hours. To support the environmental friendly concept, receipt will be given to guest upon request only.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience may have caused. Your comment on recommending our hotel is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First and foremost, if you are planning to stay at this hotel save yourself heaps of money on transfers from the airport by taking the A41 bus from the airport, this bus drops you off right outside
The hotel, just walk under the very safe subway and you are virtually in the hotel reception... You need the right change for the bus but for approximately £2.00 (22.30 HKD) you can't go wrong... Pretty amazing really when you compare the £25.00 (275.00 HKD) it will cost you in a taxi.....

The Hotel, this is set in a residential area of Sha Tin and if your lucky enough to get a room over looking the river your view will be good, our room overlooked the local residential area, still it wasn't too bad.

We have done a lot of travelling and checked in at many hotels, but I must say that the check-in
at the Regal is some what behind the times, not that the staff aren't doing their best, their system is
out dated and long winded....we where 8th in the Que to be checked in and 45 minutes later we finally got to the desk, 20 minutes after that we finally got our key to our room.

The room was of good size and very clean, the beds are really good and we slept very well during
Our six night stay. The bathrooms look a little tired and could do with a lick of paint but the shower
Is really powerfull with plenty of hot water.

We where there for six nights and on the fourth day we asked for our room to be made up, the towels where changed but on examination the sheets had not been changed ( my small chocolate
Stain was still on the corner of the sheet) and in the heat of Hong Kong we found this a little unhygienic .....

The Hotel has a few different places where you can dine, although at a cost, but the food was good, we also found that the head barman in the 'Shartin Soho' bar/restaurant could do with a
Lesson in politeness/manners, very rude to customers.

All in all this hotel is at the lower end in the star rating, you only get what you pay for, maybe next
I visit Hong Kong I may dig A little deeper into my pocket.....

Room Tip: Unless you want the same sheets for a week, go to another hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear RaymondC: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and satisfied with the room furbishing. We do have many types of rooms and you may check on our hotel website for good offerings should you prefer a river view room during your next visit. We apologize for keeping you wait for the check-in, we will certainly revisit our operation procedures and reinforce the training to ensure the service standards are maintained at all times.

Our hotel is embarking on a Green Program and encouraging our guests to participate by reusing their beddings and bath towels during their stay. However, we will remind our Housekeeping associates to be more proactive to anticipate guest needs and replace the linen with dirt mark. We will in the meantime, re-emphasize the importance of customer service to all our staff and we expect only the best for our guests.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience may have caused. All of us at Regal Riverside look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We (family of 2 adults and one 7yo child) stayed here recently. It was a very good room; extremely spacious (for Hong Kong) and my son had his own bed (sofa bed which housekeeping very quickly set up for us on arrival).

We visit HKG at least once/year and would likely stay here again. We didn't get a room with a view of the river (small point). The hotel is located 20 minute walk from the Sha Tin MTR station which quickly and cheaply gets you to where the action is in Hong Kong. The New Town Plaza in Sha Tin is vast and you can easily spend many days there shopping comprising of lots of Western shops/brands. There is also a bus stop directly outside the hotel taking you directly to the Airport (bus number A41), Tsim Sha Tsiu, Tai Po, Kowloon Bay, among other places. Bus travel is convenient and cheap. (HK$22 to the airport which is 50 minutes away; about £2!)
"Snoopy's World" a small playground attraction for young children is located next to the New Town Plaza, is free and provided an hour's distraction for our child.

Negative points were that we spent 35 minutes queuing for check in (after a long 13 hour flight, this was not welcomed). There were 2 hotel staff just standing around and not seeming to 'manage' the queue or speak to the guests which was quite annoying. We also went for cake and coffee in the pizza restaurant attached to the hotel; 3 portions of cake and 3 drinks came to £27, which I feel is quite extortionate! The Moon River cafe style concession also attached to the hotel was basic but excellent value for money (we ate here on 3 or 4 occasions for dinner and breakfast but its open all day).

Additionally we were asked to leave a HK$1500 on check in and this was cancelled on check out but I had to ask for this to be done. They also asked us for HK$2 additional charge when we checked out, as the room rate for one of the days had changed slightly. For 20p I wasn't going to argue but I felt the hotel could have swallowed this miniscule fee for the sake of customer relations!

All in all a very pleasant stay at the Regal Riverside and its likely that we will stay here again when we visit HKG next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the stunning river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear vodkaangel22: Thank you very much for staying at Regal Riverside Hotel during your recent visit to Hong Kong and sharing your constructive comments on Trip Advisor.

We have sent a reply to your personal email basing on the information you have stipulated on our guest satisfaction survey. We once again thank you for your valuable contribution and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Riverside Hotel

Address: 34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Shing Mun River in Shatin, Regal Riverside Hotel is only 30-minute drive away from Hong Kong International Airport and is located conveniently near 2 MTR stations and a mega shopping complex featuring over 900 brand boutiques, individually operated shops, dining and entertainment places. The 1,138-room hotel operates routine shuttle services to Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disney Land, Ngong Ping 360 and Tsimshatsui East together with other public transports right on the hotel's doorstep, guests can easily connect to all shopping, entertainment and business districts in Hong Kong. Shatin features places of interest such as the 10,000 Buddha Temple, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Jockey Club, a famous world class horse racing arena, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Science Park. The hotel also features 10 restaurants and bars as well as a wide range of recreational facilities such as the beautiful outdoor swimming pool (closes during winter period), spacious fitness center with sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and beauty services. The hotel's OM Spa, designed in contemporary Thai style and infused with a soothing sense of harmony and serenity, provides professional spa and massage services to discerning guests for nourishing their body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Regal Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Riverside Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Riverside
Regal Riverside Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.