We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some downsides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
Regal Kowloon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
GETAWAY PROMO /w 25% OFF
Ranked #138 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 855 Reviews
Zaventem, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel with some downsides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Regal is not the best hotel in Hong Kong, but considering the location and the room prices, it offers good value for money.
Even though Mody Road is not in the middle of the action, it is close enough to most attractions in Tsim Sha Tsui and just a couple minutes from the MTR station. I got a room upgrade to a renovated floor and those rooms are tastefully decorated, adequate size (small but it is Hong Kong after all), with good shower-in-bathtub.
Something that bothered me is that there is not a single seat in the lobby to wait for someone or use the (15 minutes) free wifi. The wifi is supposedly free when you book through the hotel's website, but that is little consolation if you get the hotel through a package deal or through your company travel agent. When the hotel is busy, as was the case when I was there, the staff struggles to keep up, whether it is at the reception, the breakfast room, or just the cleaning staff.
Would I go back? Hmm, maybe. But I'd first check if I can find a similar deal in another hotel.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are much better, but probably more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your generally positive comments about your recent stay with us. Generally there are 2 seats in the Lobby but I understand that is not a lot and this is due to the fact that the area is quite busy so we want to keep it as open as possible for good circulation. I understand that it is not always convenient to book using the website so you can take advantage of the free wifi service. We are planning and internet service area in the Lobby which will help resolve this problem. When the hotel is full, it can get extra busy in certain areas but we work hard to keep up with this. I do hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    412
    177
    60
    35
See reviews for
161
165
55
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have sent two mails on 7 March and 18 March regarding an enquiry on room cancellation but I have yet to receive a reply.

I tried calling your hotel line at (852) 2722 1818 but I get transferred to a separate line which has nobody answering it at all.

All I ask for was a simple answer with regard to a room cancellation but it has ended up in so much of a hassle.

I have chosen Hotel Regal because of the many positive reviews which I had read on this site and I believe they have enjoyed their stay in this hotel. I hope I did not make the wrong choice.

Thank you.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry that you did not get a response to the 2 emails you sent us and that the telephone option was also unsuccessful. I know that my colleague has now been in touch with you regarding your request. Please accept my apologies for this lapse in service and we have addressed this with the department concerned. We will do our best to may your stay an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you and your party to Regal Kowloon.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've just spent 4 nights at this hotel and couldn't praise them enough for the courtesy and professionalism of the staff in the Regal Club lounge. Yolanda and her team could not have been more helpful , as was Maureen Hung , Assistant Front Office Manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for this positive review and especially the kind words for Yolanda, her team and Maureen. I will make sure they receive a copy of this as it is most encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from the regal Kowloon
Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff.nice reception area with free wifi.
Spotlessly clean. Plenty of bars close by , try bulldog bar opposite Victoria river and sticky fingers had happy hour two for one until 10 00 pm and a tree course meal special every day for the equivalent of ten pounds.i read reviews in this hotel when booking and was a little worried as a few people complained about the staff.
The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel especially the associates and I am glad you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hong Kong.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We picked this hotel because the photos and view they posted on their website and Expedia looked really good. The rooms were modern on the photos but when we got to our room, it was an old dingy room with crappy amenities. Shower Door is only on one side so when you take a shower, there's water on the floor. No regular outlets, only 3 prongs. Everything is outdated which they explained that they are renovating. The thing is they should not put those photos until they are done with the renovation because travelers expect that what they see is what they're going to get. The only redeeming factors are the location and breakfast buffet. Staff hardly smiled. The only person who smiled was the lady that does the omelet. The elevators were super slow. There was a pile of garbage bags on the front near the entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for the room shown on the advertisement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for the comments on your stay and I understand your view on the older rooms. New carpets have actually been laid in these rooms to help enhance them until we can complete their refurbishment. I am not sure what the problem with the amenities was and I would be happy to look into this if you provide more information. Adaptors are available upon request. Unfortunately we are not allowed to install multi plugs as they are not approved by the local authorities. We are adding some new signage to alert guests to the other bank of lifts that some guests may not have been aware of, I am sorry for this inconvenience. The rubbish bags belong to the adjacent hotel and it is most unfortunate that they have no where else to place them prior to pick up by the council. Fortunately this only happens in the late evening but I agree it is unsightly. Please accept my apologies for the disappointing stay but if you are returning to Hong Kong, please let me know so that we can take better care of you.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

HK hotels are generally hard to find a good deal on. This one can be reasonable or expensive, depending on when booked.

Plus
Convenient..walking distance t East Tsim Sha Tsui subway station. Also they have a free bus to the airport but it takes at least an hour because of the all the stops they make. Room is nice and spacious by HK standards. Internet was good. Rooms have a modern - star trek kind of decor. Lots of nice restaurants nearby.

Minus,
The lobby is small and cramped. The bus to airport is infrequent (cant complain if it is free). if you are on the 18th floor like I was, you have to take the elevator to the 17th floor and then drag your suitcase up a flight of stairs. No significant complaints.

Overall, good hotel if you can get a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that in general you were happy with your stay with us. With regards to the location of the room on the top floor, accessible only by a staircase, we have reminded our associates at the Front Desk to alert Concierge when allocating guests to these rooms. We are always happy to assist you with your luggage and I am sorry this did not happen on this occasion. For the best rates, please always check our website and remember that free internet is included when you book through our website, and also the shuttle bus is complimentary!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hong Kong

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

While maybe not a full four stars, this 3.5 star hotel is good value for the money and close to the subway and the harbour. It is well worthwhile to upgrade to the club floor since you get free airport transfers, a good breakfast, nice evening snacks and unlimited drinks at happy hour, and a late check out until 6pm. This beats most other similar hotels in Hong Kong and you cannot beat the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are working hard to be considered a 4 star property. 3 more floors will be upgraded within this year! I am also glad you liked the experience on the Club Floor, surely that was worth 4 stars!

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong's renowned commercial and entertainment district, the Regal Kowloon Hotel is an exquisite blend of classical European elegance and Oriental hospitality. Catering to the needs of the most discerning travellers, the luxurious hotel offers gracefully furnished guest rooms, ample meeting space for any type of event, and a variety of excellent food, including Cantonese cuisine, classic American grilled fare, international buffets, stylish healthy specialties and refreshing cocktails.Welcome to Regal Kowloon Hotel in Hong Kong! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regal Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Kowloon
Regal Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.