We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi is not free! Not ready for large groups of people.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
Regal Kowloon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
GETAWAY PROMO /w 25% OFF
Ranked #141 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Makati
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“WiFi is not free! Not ready for large groups of people.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was here on holiday with my wife who stayed here many years ago.They tore down the old larger rooms and turned them into more smaller rooms. They also changed the lobby orientation. This resulted in imbalanced and insufficient elevator capacity. You have to wait 15 minutes for a ride. The WiFi is free for 15 minutes only for your whole stay. Otherwise you pay HK$120 for 24hrs and 80 for 12 hours. Take the elevator lobby closer to Mody Rd since there are 4 elevators there and not just 2 beside the front desk. There are only 3 people at the front desk to check people in and they are inexperienced requiring 5 minutes to check each guest in, so give 40 minutes allowance to check in and 30 minutes to check out. Every move in the hotel has a charge including a $HK20 mouthwash. The arcade beside has many sex shops and massage parlors, so is not a place for young kids. Fortunately there is a McDonalds, Cafe de Coral and International Marketplace supermarket across the Plaza, so you can really save on food. Its 300 meters walk to the subway entrance and about 1.2km to the train itself, but there are several horizontal escalators which make the trip easier.

Room Tip: Choose a lower numbered room as they are closer to the 4 elevator bay. Non-smoking rooms on the club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sir
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay and I am surprised to read them. Our rooms have not been altered over the years and have definitely not been made smaller and neither has the Lobby orientation been changed. There are 2 elevators adjacent to the Reception counters making it convenient for access direct to the floors and then a further 4 elevators at the other end of the Lobby providing quite a good balance for the traffic flow. At peak times there will be a short wait for the lifts but that is not unusual for a busy hotel. If you book through our website, then wifi is complimentary in the hotel. Unfortunately we cannot control the mix of shops in the building next to the hotel but we have not received any negative comments before about this. The overall atmosphere around the hotel is really pleasant especially in the Centenary Gardens that front the property. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    409
    175
    60
    35
See reviews for
159
165
54
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

very good location, you have all you ned in walking distance
clear rooms,
very good service, nice smile from the staff
nice view to sea and island from my room, from regal club floor
I will stay again there

Room Tip: ask for the corner rooms, with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for six nights end of September to early October. The hotel in T.S.T was in a great location, 100 metres from the harbour, 500 metres from the MRT and in an area where there were a number of restaurants and bars. We stayed in a club room which entitled us breakfast in the Club lounge and complimentary food and drinks every night fro Happy Hour, which went for three hours. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly and were there to assist in any detail. The concierge was very helpful directing us to shops where the shopping was a.little bit cheaper. My wife required the services of a doctor and the assistant manager arranged this in a matter of minutes. She then enquired with a call to the room that night before she went off duty to ensure that my wife was feeling better. The rooms were spacious and clean- they were serviced every day- and our room overlooked a square, which contained a number of restaurants and bars. We availed ourselves of the free shuttle bus to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Regal Kowloon hotel for 10 days. (Oct 6th -Oct 10th 2012) We had $400.00 (US) in brand new shoes stolen from our room. So, far very little help from hotel. We realized this the last day when we were looking for the large shopping bag the shoes came in. Hopefully the hotel will find the person who stole this from their cameras which are right outside our room.

Room Tip: dont leave anything valuable in the rooms....
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agneschan, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mr. Spar

We have completed the investigation into the loss you reported whilst staying at our Hotel. Although we have not been able to identify exactly where the loss occurred, we have urged you to report the case to the Police so that we can work with the Police to find resolve the case. We have taken this case very seriously and we work hard to assist our guests with any problem they experience during their stay.

Thank you for choosing Regal Kowloon Hotel and we look forward to being of service again in the future.

Best regards

Glen Farmer
V.P. – International Sales | Regal Hotels International
General Manager | Regal Kowloon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Great location, close to the MRT, restaurants, shopping and the Kowloon foreshore with great views across the harbor to the island. Staff were very helpful and friendly, quick to respond to requests. The hotel gives the impression of being one of the older ones but was very clean and the service in the club area was good, as was the food. My room was a good size for a single person on a business trip and had a good view of the harbor, but the wardrobe was probably the smallest one I have seen. And the ironing board was very scary. But these are minor points, overall my stay was very good and I will be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: try for a room on the harbor (Mody Road) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

For a short stay in Hong Kong this hotel is very conveniently located and the rooms are quite spacious. The Shuttle Service to the airport is a great convenience, all you have to do is pre book when you want to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our recent stay for two nights as part of a tour at the Regal Kowloon Hotel was just okay. The hotel is an older property located close to the harbor with wonderful views of Hong Kong Island. However, the Star Ferry is a much further walk than we anticipated. The rooms were clean and a good size.The only view we had from our room on the 14th floor was of the building next door. We had four different members of the staff try to fix the tv in the room, but all were unsuccessful. Breakfast was included and had a good presentation of breakfast foods. We enjoyed Rocco's Pizzeria across from the hotel. The pizza was delicious, and prices were reasonable. The Regal Kowloon was convenient to shopping and restaurants, but I think I would stay someplace else if I returned to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong's renowned commercial and entertainment district, the Regal Kowloon Hotel is an exquisite blend of classical European elegance and Oriental hospitality. Catering to the needs of the most discerning travellers, the luxurious hotel offers gracefully furnished guest rooms, ample meeting space for any type of event, and a variety of excellent food, including Cantonese cuisine, classic American grilled fare, international buffets, stylish healthy specialties and refreshing cocktails.Welcome to Regal Kowloon Hotel in Hong Kong! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regal Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Kowloon
Regal Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.