We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 Reviews
france and spain
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

From the moment we were met by a Red Coated Shangri-La Representative at the Arrival Hall in the Airport until the moment we were checked in with our luggage by a Red Coated Rep at the airport for our departure the whole two weeks were special. Our limousine to and from the hotel contained cool towels, bottles of water and sweets and radioed into the hotel as we approached the entrance. We were met by a man who took us straight to our room for check in. The only part we did not like was that they took a photograph of us, supposedly for client recognition by staff purposes. We were so jet-lagged having travelled for twenty-four hours we just grinned and it was done.

Our harbour view room was excellent. Large and light and airy with good aircon control (it was warmer than usual in Hong Kong for November/December). Shortly after the check-in process a ring on the door brought a tray with an orchid in a vase and a basket containing a Chinese tea pot with Chinese tea to pour into two matching cups. The mini-bar, closet and bar area have a wooden surround that bends around to the bathroom, taking away any boxiness to the room and softening it altogether. The electric curtains and lighting were perfect and there were plenty of mirrors to use for make-up etc., something that can often be a challenge in a hotel. Free wi-fi access and adapter etc., all available. The bathroom was large and the shower cubicle something I wanted to bring home.... the rough granite floor being completely non-slip.

Negative - the bed was rather hard and the sheets not of a quality you would expect in a hotel of this calibre. The towels were just alright. The turn-down service and response to any requests were flawless.

The lobby of the hotel is quite magnificent and their Christmas tree this year very tastefully done. The hotel lifts have their carpets changed every day stating the day of the week. As I said, an excellent hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    405
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
328
611
79
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Just returned from a 4 day trip to HK (me for leisure, husband for business) and we were both extremely pleased with our stay at the Kowloon Shangri-La.

We stayed in a Horizon Harbour View Room and the attention to room detail was impeccable - other hotels should take note. We were both pleasantly surprised to discover a pair of binoculars for enjoying the fabulous views, bath salts, complimentary in-room printer (with plenty of paper), a real person called for the wake up call and gave us the high/low temp, etc. All those small details added up to a perfect stay for both of us and a stay without a single ounce of inconvenience.

Location is excellent with around the corner access to the MTR (metro) as well as being near to Kowloon's popular areas for shopping or dining. Easy enough access to HK Island as well.

The staff is phenomenal - genuinely friendly and extremely good at what they do. Hi to our new friend from Texas! The hotel has a healthy bustle during peak times but even still we always had at least 2 people making sure I was helped efficiently. If the management is reading this - I want to especially mention that the bell/door men are exceptional time after time. After insisting they could ride with me in the elevator (they never asked), they were so kind and made the best small talk. Everyone together made it feel less like just another hotel and more like *my* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We are a family of four (20 and 22 year old 'children') who recently stayed at the Shangri-La. We booked a deluxe harbour view room for us and the kids had a deluxe twin room on the same floor. The staff were without exception always friendly and efficient. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and good sized bathrooms. After reading many reviews on hotels in Hong Kong there were many comments on small sized rooms which is why we chose to spend more than we originally intended to get good sized rooms as we were staying 10 days.

Whilst we were there our son celebrated his birthday, and when he returned to his room that night the staff had left a birthday cake for him! There was some noise (workmen) near our room one morning and we complained - it resulted in us being upgraded to a suite - which meant we had a separate lounge and bedroom, fabulous - and were left fruit, chocolates and a letter of apology - they went beyond what was necessary.

We loved Hong Kong and did plenty of travelling on the trains - we found the location of this hotel great. The view of the harbour didn't disappoint and was a highlight of our stay. The rooms were spotless and each evening when the staff came to do the 'turn down' they would also tidy up - more so than we have previously experienced. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Shangri-La and Hong Kong for a great holiday!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Our Stay in Shangri-La was wonderful - everything that you could think about was there. Perfectly clean. Stuff was very helpful. Breakfast buffet offered so huge variety of delicious food that we never wanted to leave it. .Shangri-La is perfectly located within walking distance or a short ride from many landmarks and we enjoyed so much late evening walks along the bay. Cannot wait to be there again:)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We came to the Shangri La for an extended long weekend trip with Friends, and it was absolutely fantastic! From the moment we got out of the airport, taken in an immaculate clean car to the hotel, where we were checked in immediately and able to get into our rooms ealier than normal! The view from our room rivalled some of the best restaurants in town!

If its in the budget, organise a harbour view view with the horizon club- well worth the extra $$!! The Shangri La Horizon club would have to be one of the better executive clubs we have stayed at. The club rooms were so quiet and really helped with the 'down time' after a good days adventuring through shopping centres or markets!! Breakfasts were made freshly for you, with almost every choice available on their menu!! The cocktails were fantastic in the evening, as were the sandwiches and cakes avilable through out the day.

Location wise, the hotel was right next to the train station and made commuting over to the Island extremely easily and cheap.

I would most definately recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing comfortable and luxurious hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Haven’t stayed here at the Shangri La for a couple of years, but thought I would give it another try as Id heard the rooms were being renovated. I discovered the excellent service is still here in abundance, most of the staff recongnised me immediately with a warm welcome. The renovated room I have on the 16th floor is spacious, clean and finished with high end fittings including plush carpet, rich dark wood and thick block out drapes. The bathrooms have been completely gutted and reconstructed eliminating the bath but more than making up for that loss with the most wonderful spacious shower producing GREAT water pressure (at least in this room). Of course there is always what some refer to as the best buffet in Hong Kong on offer …a little noisy as it is so popular but the extensive offer of dishes soon takes your mind off any other distractions. Great Stay ..high recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Perfect location, stunning harbour review room. Friendly, attentive staff and great breakfasts in the Club lounge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.