We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangrila - Hong Kong. Really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Shangrila - Hong Kong. Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I came to Hong Kong to give a talk on lung cancer at this hotel.
The drive from the airport was long but smooth going through some great sites of the islands
The lobby is awesome with lovely paintings fountain and flower arrangements.
The checkin was smooth and efficiently.
The room is large and well planned.
The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is also roomy but the shower is tiny but with a rainwater shower. The view from my room is towards the harbour - quite a lovely view.
There was a pot of nice Chinese tea and fruit -really welcome after the sleep interrupted night flight from Bangalore
Great place to stay !

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear govindbabu, we are pleased to receive your compliments and we found it encouraging to know that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your support and recommendations, we are pleased to know that after your long flights, you found the welcome and facilities as you would have anticipated from your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    457
    87
    22
    17
See reviews for
379
722
92
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is well positioned and we didn't need to walk far to get anywhere. The room was fantastic and very clean. The shower is amazing. We didn't eat in the hotel but the staff were very helpful in recommending a couple of restaurants for us to try. All the staff in this hotel make you feel very welcome, which is lovely in a hotel of this size. The swimming pool was great, if small, after coming back from a day in the Hong Kong heat. There is also a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi (lovely and hot as it should be).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Dreamfields11, thank you for your time to share your memories of a delightful stay. We are glad that you were impressed with our guest room, Health Club and the care extended by my colleagues. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip and hopefully, we will be able to introduce you to some of the culinary delights in our signature restaurants. Best Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I could certainly name a lot of things on what we enjoyed most in our stay from Kowloon Shangri-La like the spacious rooms, delectable selection from cafe kool, convenient and strategic location but what tops the list is thr commendable and delightful SERVICE! The hotel made sure that we leave the hotel happy and satisfied all the staff from the bellman - Arnel, to the front desk managers - Raymond, Jay and Lucy; Cafe Kool waiters all the way to Mr. Ulf Bremer, hotel GM. What they did was above and beyond on what we expected and because of that me and my family are unanimous in saying that we found our home in Hong Kong. We were a total of 9 guests booked 3 rooms for 5 days. We have travelled the world from Asia, to the Americas, to Europe to Caribbean and we have been bowled over by service only once which was in Ritz Carlton Millenia Singapore but our recent stay in Kowloon Shangri-La tops our most memorable list and we are sure to come back. In fact from now on we will make sure to book Shangri-La wherever we go. #ShangriLalifer

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Jerrica P, my colleagues and I are thrilled to read your wonderful comments. It is indeed most satisfying for us to learn that you have experienced such a nice stay which was above and beyond your expectation. We have shared your nice compliments with Arnel, Jay, Lucy and the Café Kool colleagues, who are all motivated to be shining examples of great hospitality. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your second home in the near future. Yours, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The room is big and clean. Hotel in a busy but quiet spot, easy access to train station. The hotel staff is very helpful and pilot. Breakfeast is greast with lots of western and chinese foods options.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear X L, thanks for choosing Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your compliments and are glad that you have enjoyed an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Sincerely, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have stayed at 3 Shangri-La hotels in the past month. Each of them has been excellent albeit they offer different attractions. The Hong Kong hotel has spectacular views over Victoria Harbour but the level of excellent service is not different across the Jakarta, Singapore and Hong Kong Shangri-La. They obviously have the recipe right.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Geoffrey B, we are grateful for your compliments and are all pleased to have delighted you with our Shangri-La hospitality. We hope to welcome you back soonest. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed two nights at the shangri-la on the way to china. As always. Had a great stay. I stayed in a horizon club harbour view room. The extra service provided is worth the money, they are very accommodating and can organise just about anything from recommending and booking restaurants to organising tours. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room. One of the best harbour views in the world especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear AM502014, it was our pleasure to take care of you and thank you for your continuous support - we cannot wait to welcome you back on many happy return visits. Yours truly, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The garupa on rice cracker was outstanding, the lamb appetiser was very tasty and big enough to share , the soup hot and sour was the best we have had in hk
the decor was very relaxing and we were not rushed a pleasant evening. Only comment is waiter needs to be a little more attentive, certainly worth another visit.
The restaurant like the hotel pays close attention to guest needs and makes you feel good to be there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Smb1600, thank you for your compliments as well as feedback, that we have gladly shared with our culinary and service teams at our Michelin two-starred Shang Palace. We are pleased that you found your experience enjoyable and hope to welcome you back for many more gourmet delights. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.