We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pocket Wi-Fi on Us
Ranked #12 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Egham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

had a stay at this hotel before a cruise,very elegant hotel.bedroom spacey and very comfortable,all amenitiescavailable.ideally situated for everytjing in city centre.great restaurants.good gym and swimming pool.if on right side great views of harbour.all staff are polite and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Malcolm W, thank you for your gracious comments. Great to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,144
    368
    75
    17
    10
See reviews for
288
533
70
397
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

great location. Lobby is beautiful. Rooms are very nice and big. includes spacious work desk.
Service is the best i ever had!!!very Friendly Staff. short trip to HK island through any of the tunnels. will stay here again next time i vist

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear madrich36, thank you for sharing your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found getting to Hong Kong Island easy from our location. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just spent 4 nights 15th-19th April 2013 at Shangri-La, Kowloon. From the moment we arrived at the airport, even though our bags were held up for 30 minutes, the Red Carpet treatment was evident. We chose to use their transfer service and went to the desk they have there to pick up our transport. The transfer car which was an "S" Class Mercedes. Normally an "E" Class is used but this was a nice ride and the driver superb. When we arrived everything was 5 star as we expected, this was the reason we converted to Shangri-La. Check in was a breeze and the "welcome" tea was greatly appreciated. We booked a Horizon Club Executive Suite and this was quite large and very comfortable. We were lucky enough to meet The Resident Manager who is a most charming, gracious and helpful lady. She even joined us for a chat one evening in the lounge which was very nice. We ate some meals, lunch and dinner, at The Shang Palace and the food is what is expected from this restaurant. The host, who also was at breakfast as well as lunch and dinner, ensured our every need was met. We had breakfast at The Horizon Lounge only once as the selection in Kafe Kool is much greater but no difference in quality. The concierge was perfect in helping us select a couple of day trips. The location is great and from the terminus next door we were able to get a bus to wherever we wanted to go. Checking out was very easy, I did this in the main reception area and my account was accurate. Our bags were loaded into the car and when we arrived at the airport a young lady took our luggage on a trolley right up to the airline check in. I have to say this was truly a 5 star hotel. Most certainly we would return and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Horizon Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear AUSSIEmike99, thank you for your wonderful feedback and review. I am delighted you enjoyed so many of the facilities and services of the Hotel and I will surely share your comments with the Team. Thank you for recognising our Resident Manager, Linda. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very well located close to the harbour front and a short walk to the Star Ferry terminal as well as the hop on/off bus stop.
Very spacious lobby and good efficient service.
Good shop.
Good restaurant with nicely presented food and very accommodating staff. We tried eating out elsewhere but found the hotel the best value and choice.
Breakfast very nice with plenty of food and the added bonus that you can grab a bag and make up a snack pack from the delicious breads and cakes.
Room a little dated but spacious and comfortable.
I had some trouble using the in room printer to print off my boarding pass but this was quickly resolved by using the complimentary services of the business centre.
Great little camera shop over the road to the left .
In all I would recommend this hotel as convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

hi, stayed at Kowloon hotel in Kowloon Hong Kong. Very nice hotel, very clean, excellent staff, provided anything we needed for room. Great location right next to Metro, in fact, from lobby you can walk down into metro and get anywhere in Kowloon, Lantau island and Hong kong, makes getting around very easy! Definately get the 3 day unlimited Metro pass.

Room Tip: Pay little bit extra for Harbor view, nice. And eat at the local restaurants, better food and much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear scubafun1234 thank you for your review and recommendations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First trip to Hong Kong. Location was great - very close to the MTR and easy walk to the Star Ferry.

Our first impression wasn't good. Although we were a family with small children, and arrived at midnight, we were shown to a very smelly smokers' room which did not have the extra beds in that we had booked. To his credit, the Service Manager, William Chien, found us another room quickly and was very helpful throughout our stay.

We did not have a harbour-view room ,though this didn't matter, as the weather was very misty during our stay so there was no view to speak of!

The live music in the lobby area was lovely and the staff were all very helpful, slick service.

The room itself was very corporate in style - functional, practical but lacking in character, inevitable I suppose for this type of City hotel. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jslcherry, thank you for your feedback. I was concerned to learn you were given a smoking room, particularly as you were travelling with children. I am please my colleague William made alternative arrangements for you and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and lobby entertainment. Thank you for your constructive comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Hong Kong and our first at the Shangri-la Kowloon. We stayed in another fine hotel on previous visits but this is our first choice from now on.

We have stayed in Shangri-la hotels in Beijing and Singapore and been delighted so we had an idea of what to expect. Even so, this hotel greatly exceeded on expectations. The lobby is impressive, the room, with harbor view, was excellent. Shangri-la hotels are known for the quality of their buffets and the Kowloon branch was no ezception. Heaps of both Asian and Western dishes, well-preoared and well-served.

We had dinner in the hotel's two-star Chinese restaurant and my wife called her meal memorable--the best on our vacation. Considering we had been on a luxury cruise ship and stayed at a Four Seasons resort on Bali, that is high praise indeed.

There were plenty of the little touches that make a hotel stay special. The car that picked us up at the airport had seat backs that delivered a massage as we rode. A charming hotel staffer met the car, whisked us through check-in and got us to our room very quickly. As quick as it was, our luggage was already in the room.

A very lovely stay in a very lovely hotel--right on the water, close to shopping and the Star Ferry to Hong Kong island and our first choice in Hong Kong from now on.

Room Tip: You do want a harbor view--facing the awesome skyline that is Hong Kong island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Luckysdad, thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La and found the location convenient. I am also pleased you enjoyed the meal at Shang Palace and will share your feedback with the Team. Look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Reservation Counter, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;