We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pocket Wi-Fi on Us
Ranked #12 of 653 Hotels in Hong Kong
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love Kowloon a great area. The Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong is fantastic pricey but great service and big rooms. The best part for me was that the carpet was changed in the elevators every day to reflect the day 7 days and carpets named for each day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ripb747 thank you for staying with us. Good to hear you appreciated the carpets in our elevators - helps remind our travel weary guests which day it is, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    386
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
298
555
71
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chepstow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a stay here in March 2013. The hotel location is very good. Room I had was very clean, spacious and well equipped. Very good breakfast & restaurant service. Bathroom was OK though no bath, only shower.

The only issue I had during my stay was at check in..... I asked for a quiet room and was told this was possible if I paid extra for an upgrade ! I did not accept the upgrade 'at extra cost' offer given the existing rate was expensive enough, So I was given the room grade I originally had booked and all was OK. I would have expected this level of hotel to try first to find me a quiet room rather than try and sell an upgrade first....disappointing............

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear fivesheds, many thanks for your review. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comments about the upgrade offered at a price - something that many guests appreciate, however I do understand that finding you a quiet room should have been our first priority. We will take this into considerable in future and thank you for bringing this to my attention. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at this property for many years and have gone through the ups and downs, new manager, new staffing etc, howeever it saddens me to report that my Hong Kong Home has fallen from its premier days. Its no reasonable to blame this fall on the influx of less educated mainland China visitors, its really about staying true to your brand identity. Lots of staff changes, cleanliness is off, spa is often dirty, and many complaints from old time staffers. Its become a far less personal experience, its just another 5 star property among the sea of many in a very changeing Hong Kong. The propertys downfall is represenative of the changes and steep declone in this region since July 1997, however busiuness is business and it seems that the heart of the ShangriLa stronghold is crunbeling. By all means stay at this property, but lower your expectations.

Room Tip: Stay in an Horizon Room and if youir budget permits facing the Harbour or side Harbour room. Check y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear DRueben1330, thank you for sharing your feedback. I was most concerned to learn of your disappointment & I will be contacting you directly to obtain further details and hope to make amends. We thank you for your constructive comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I like the shangri la Kowloon so this is a biased review, but aren't they all? The only issue is price. If you are price sensitive then paying 400usd a night for a Kowloon hotel might be too much, even if thats half the going rate of the hong kong island shangri la. I won't bore you with much reviewing of rooms etc. expect shangri la standards. It's great. I would however like management of the hotel (are you reading tripadvisor?) to know that the bell hops welcoming guests and fetching the taxis are the best in Hong Kong. I hope they are paid handsomely because they deserve it. They can get you a cab and make sure it goes where you want it to when there are no cans available anywhere else. Courteous and professional. They are the strongest interface between brand and customer and they do their employer proud.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Riiiicola, thank you for your review and thank you for recognising our bell & concierge team - I know many of our regular business travellers appreciate their friendly & efficient hospitality and I am lucky to have them as colleagues. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was greeted at the airport as I have pre-booked the limo service with the hotel. Smart move. Their elegantly dressed and poised hotel Staff were waiting for me and took my luggage to the car where a smartly dressed driver was waiting for me. All knew my name and treated me like royalty. Impressive. The same was true at hotel arrival with their "lobby Ambassador" (actual job title) who together with 2 or 3 Staff carried my to my room to do the check-in sitting at my own desk. Classy! They made me feel like a star, and I am used to being in hotels around the world. Warm tea was waiting for me in my room and all was just perfect.

The hotel is beautiful with great lobby and adjacent rooms. My executive room was a treat overlooking the harbor and the Hong Kong skyline with all expected 5 star amenities. Breakfast room is busy as this is a large hotel wioth over 700 rooms, but even there the service was outstanding.

Location is great, walking distance to the famous Peninsula hotel and the elegant shops of Canton Road.
Highly recommended

D0n Travel

Room Tip: Ask for harbor views if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear D0ntravel, many thanks for your feedback - delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La - booking a hotel car from the airport makes life so much easier for our guests as our airport representitives are on hand to help as soon as guests exit from baggage collection. We appreciate your kind comments and thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Recently we had a chance to spend 4 days at the Shangri-la Kowloon, HK. What impresses me most about this hotel is their attention to detail. Everything is always in place and never a spec of dust. We have always been met at the airport by one of their uniformed drivers and taken directly to our hotel. A cool towel to freshen up on the drive, bottled water and refreshments make the trip very special. Clearly that's fun but once you arrive and they take you to your private check-in you know you're no longer in Kansas. The staff is as friendly and professional as you could ask for. Our room overlooked Victoria Harbor and at night we could see the lights of Hong Kong Island. The hotel is located close to everything and especially the Metro and the Star Ferry. I don't think you could ask for more. Live a little and go back again and again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear CruiserDeluxe, thank you for your review and for your compliments. Arriving by Hotel car allows us to anticipate your arrival and usually makes check-in very smooth, I am pleased you enjoyed the experience. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have to admit the lobby decor is really over the top - Chinese Baroque I call it but the service is excellent and the room was spacious and lovely as one would expect for a 5-star hotel. We upgraded for a view of the Hong Kong skyline. Just after we checked in a man with a little padded basket containing two tea cups and a pot arrived. He poured our tea as the nightly light show put on by the skyscrapers on Hong Kong Island lit up. Spectacular!

The hotel is well situated for transportation and to walk along the water toward the Star Ferry terminal.

We had some quick meals in the lobby bar area - the food was excellent and not too expensive. Our room came with breakfast in the restaurant - the variety and presentation was an experience - I took lots of photos to remember it.

Room Tip: A water view adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear babbagecarrier, thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your meals in Cafe Kool and the views from your room. Thank you for staying with us at Kowloon Shangri-La, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Reservation Counter, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.