We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri La Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,844 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
“Shangri La Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time here having stayed previously at Island Shangri La and in town for a conference so wasn't too fussed about the view from the room. As a result looked out on the back streets, if I had stayed on vacation however would have booked a harbour view room as the panorama of the island in front of you is pretty impressive. Rooms are very comfortable and typically Shangri la - slightly old fashioned but decor and fittings are of a high standard along with a great bed.
Having paid extra for the Horizon Club with check in on the club floor was an added bonus along with a great breakfast and evening cocktails and a view across the harbour to Hong Kong Island.
Tapas bar for drinks and snacks is handily placed just off the lobby and there are plenty of places to eat in close proximity to the hotel, both local and western.
Conference facilities and catering were excellent and did not miss the natural light as pointed out in other reviews.
The Kowloon Ferry Pier is within walking distance along with the subway the shopping district of Nathan Road.
Along with the assistance of the helpful and friendly staff you cannot go far wrong with the hospitality of the Kowloon Shangri La.

Room Tip: Horizon Club roms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review - pleased you enjoyed the conference services and facilities of the Hoteln as well as the Horizon Club - the Kowloon Shangri-La is well located for many of the amenities that Hong Kong has to offer. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    405
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
327
611
79
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked 2 rooms with The Horizon Club, Harbour View room in Nov 2012. The hotel has a very convenient location, with many restaurants within walking distance and the Tsim Tsa Tsui station, a mere 5 minute walk away. A taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us HKD 280.

Checking in was okay. We were ushered straight to the Horizon club floor for check-in. One of the rooms was not ready at check-in (at 4pm), but at least we had one room to freshen up in. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, although I feel the Horizon Club in Taipei was more personal and genuine. For example, after we checked into the Kowloon Shangri-La, we were not shown to the room, and they got our luggage mixed up with another room's. I had to return to the counter three times before my room was ready at almost 5pm. The young man at the counter had promised to send up the key card to the lounge where we waited, but had failed to do so.

The rooms are large, and well renovated. Bathrooms are clean and well designed. I love the bathroom amenities provided. The room was equipped with a Nespresso machine and a Chinese tea set (not sure if it was a welcome drink, as it was only provided in one of the two rooms, only on the first day). Beds are firm and luxurious. The view you get from the room is phenomenal. Whether day or night, it was great to relax in the armchair watching the hustle and bustle in the harbour. Internet was fast and reliable. It is complimentary to all Horizon Club guests.

Breakfast was plentiful and food was good. There was not much variation in the selections, but then you get all the usuals (local and international cuisine) which to me is more than enough. The cocktails were great at the lounge and the service was impeccable.

Getting around from the hotel was easy. You can get a taxi easily. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the nearby shopping malls. Signage to the MRT station was clear and straightforward.

We asked the club front desk to help us book ferry tickets to Macau. There was a service charge for this, but we found out eventually in Macau that there are a few ferry terminals and the one that was booked for us turned out to be an hour away (including the traffic jam) from our Macau hotel, when there was a nearer one just 10 minutes from the hotel. Again, this was dealt with by the same young man who checked us in. So, a word of advice, please specify which ferry terminal you want before you ask for help, as these intricrasies would not be explained to you when you ask for ferry tickets from the Horizon Club.

Overall, the view from the room was so spectacular that it shone through the imperfections that we encountered. We would definitely stay here again, but hopefully I won't be dealing with this same young man next time. The rest of the staff were great and hospitable.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the lifts as it seems a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive comments. Whilst I was pleased you enjoyed your stay I have noted you experienced a few problems on arrival and hope this did not cause too much inconvenience. We will be addressing these issues with our Team for immediate improvement. Thank you for your review which is much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location, views and service. Near all the shops and restaurants. Beautiful room, very clean. A few tax minutes or subway stops to wherever you may want to go in HK, including hikes in the hills of Kowloon. Only the 25 ft (not 25 meter!) pool disappointed.

Room Tip: the harbor view is splendid, you see most of Hong Kong island - worth the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 2nd visit to Hong Kong and 1st to the Kowloon Shangri La. We are staying in a Horizon Club room and from check in onwards, the service and staff have been excellent. Joe in the Horizon Club has been very helpful with recommendations for shopping, eating and places to visit. The evening cocktails in the Horizon Club are always a good way to finish your day.
We will be leaving in 2 days and will be sad to leave this excellent hotel and the helpful staff, however we will recommend the Shangri La to all of our friends who visit Hong Kong.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and for recognising Joe, one of my colleagues on Horizon Club. I was delighted you enjoyed the service and facilities offered on the club floor. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Shangri La is located slightly to the east of the bustling part of Kowloon, so it is close enough to enjoy the activity, but also to escape. It is a well equipped 5 star hotel. The rooms are very large, and 5 star. The restaurants are good. The gym is adequate, the indoor pool fairly small.

The convention facilities are good as long as you don't want natural light as they are underground.

Opposite and next door are smaller malls, with larger higher quality ones within a couple of blocks. There are tailors everywhere asking for business. Cheap things include luggage, tailored clothes, jewelery. The top end fashion shops are at global prices. Food is the full range of prices. Breakfast in the hotel was around US$30 for an enormous selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review with your constructive comments. We do have a great location, close enough to all the major amenities in Tsim Sha Tsui but far enough for some peace & quiet. Most of our larger function rooms are below the lobby, however we do have 5 smaller rooms with natural daylight & views of the harbour - perfect for smaller business or social gatherings. Thanks for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always look at TripAdvisor for hotel recommendtions, and everyone has different experiences at any given hotel. We love Shangri-la and stayed at three of them on this past trip (October), beginning with Kowloon and moving on to Xi'an and Guilin in China. None of them disappointed. The brunch buffet at each one had different regional choices as well as western-style breakfast food, but all were spectacular. Great service, accommodations, beautifully appointed rooms, professional staff who speak excellent English. We felt, at the end of each day, that we were returning to our own little oasis--a hotel that soothes and mitigates jetlag!

Room Tip: We had a premiere room with a partial harbor view (which we did not ask for). Quite lovely--quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for staying with Shangri-La in the three cities you visited - great to hear you enjoyed the hotels. Look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Shangri-lamis my favorite chain of hotels when travelling in Asia. So when for the first time I was to visit Hong Kong I had no doubts where to stay.
Arrival, check-in, staff at the reception just confirmed my expectations. Swift, professional, helpful.
But the room, and especially sleep quality was sub-standard. The room with "canal view" turned out to be a room above restaurants and facing a busy street. Forget about sleep. On top of that aircon was much too loud.
Good restaurants, good choice of meals for breakfast. But a major disappointment as far as the most important part of hotel stay is concerned - sleep. Not recommended.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for rooms on top floors. Perhaps it helps....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Whilst I was pleased you found my colleagues efficient and friendly I was most concerned to learn that you were disturbed by noise. I will be in touch to obtain more details so that we can have the room you stayed in thoroughly checked. Thanks for the valuable feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.