We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to stay at the Harbour View Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pocket Wi-Fi on Us
Ranked #11 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Try to stay at the Harbour View Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked 2 rooms with The Horizon Club, Harbour View room in Nov 2012. The hotel has a very convenient location, with many restaurants within walking distance and the Tsim Tsa Tsui station, a mere 5 minute walk away. A taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us HKD 280.

Checking in was okay. We were ushered straight to the Horizon club floor for check-in. One of the rooms was not ready at check-in (at 4pm), but at least we had one room to freshen up in. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, although I feel the Horizon Club in Taipei was more personal and genuine. For example, after we checked into the Kowloon Shangri-La, we were not shown to the room, and they got our luggage mixed up with another room's. I had to return to the counter three times before my room was ready at almost 5pm. The young man at the counter had promised to send up the key card to the lounge where we waited, but had failed to do so.

The rooms are large, and well renovated. Bathrooms are clean and well designed. I love the bathroom amenities provided. The room was equipped with a Nespresso machine and a Chinese tea set (not sure if it was a welcome drink, as it was only provided in one of the two rooms, only on the first day). Beds are firm and luxurious. The view you get from the room is phenomenal. Whether day or night, it was great to relax in the armchair watching the hustle and bustle in the harbour. Internet was fast and reliable. It is complimentary to all Horizon Club guests.

Breakfast was plentiful and food was good. There was not much variation in the selections, but then you get all the usuals (local and international cuisine) which to me is more than enough. The cocktails were great at the lounge and the service was impeccable.

Getting around from the hotel was easy. You can get a taxi easily. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the nearby shopping malls. Signage to the MRT station was clear and straightforward.

We asked the club front desk to help us book ferry tickets to Macau. There was a service charge for this, but we found out eventually in Macau that there are a few ferry terminals and the one that was booked for us turned out to be an hour away (including the traffic jam) from our Macau hotel, when there was a nearer one just 10 minutes from the hotel. Again, this was dealt with by the same young man who checked us in. So, a word of advice, please specify which ferry terminal you want before you ask for help, as these intricrasies would not be explained to you when you ask for ferry tickets from the Horizon Club.

Overall, the view from the room was so spectacular that it shone through the imperfections that we encountered. We would definitely stay here again, but hopefully I won't be dealing with this same young man next time. The rest of the staff were great and hospitable.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the lifts as it seems a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive comments. Whilst I was pleased you enjoyed your stay I have noted you experienced a few problems on arrival and hope this did not cause too much inconvenience. We will be addressing these issues with our Team for immediate improvement. Thank you for your review which is much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,101
    354
    73
    16
    9
See reviews for
271
514
68
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location, views and service. Near all the shops and restaurants. Beautiful room, very clean. A few tax minutes or subway stops to wherever you may want to go in HK, including hikes in the hills of Kowloon. Only the 25 ft (not 25 meter!) pool disappointed.

Room Tip: the harbor view is splendid, you see most of Hong Kong island - worth the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 2nd visit to Hong Kong and 1st to the Kowloon Shangri La. We are staying in a Horizon Club room and from check in onwards, the service and staff have been excellent. Joe in the Horizon Club has been very helpful with recommendations for shopping, eating and places to visit. The evening cocktails in the Horizon Club are always a good way to finish your day.
We will be leaving in 2 days and will be sad to leave this excellent hotel and the helpful staff, however we will recommend the Shangri La to all of our friends who visit Hong Kong.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and for recognising Joe, one of my colleagues on Horizon Club. I was delighted you enjoyed the service and facilities offered on the club floor. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Shangri La is located slightly to the east of the bustling part of Kowloon, so it is close enough to enjoy the activity, but also to escape. It is a well equipped 5 star hotel. The rooms are very large, and 5 star. The restaurants are good. The gym is adequate, the indoor pool fairly small.

The convention facilities are good as long as you don't want natural light as they are underground.

Opposite and next door are smaller malls, with larger higher quality ones within a couple of blocks. There are tailors everywhere asking for business. Cheap things include luggage, tailored clothes, jewelery. The top end fashion shops are at global prices. Food is the full range of prices. Breakfast in the hotel was around US$30 for an enormous selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review with your constructive comments. We do have a great location, close enough to all the major amenities in Tsim Sha Tsui but far enough for some peace & quiet. Most of our larger function rooms are below the lobby, however we do have 5 smaller rooms with natural daylight & views of the harbour - perfect for smaller business or social gatherings. Thanks for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always look at TripAdvisor for hotel recommendtions, and everyone has different experiences at any given hotel. We love Shangri-la and stayed at three of them on this past trip (October), beginning with Kowloon and moving on to Xi'an and Guilin in China. None of them disappointed. The brunch buffet at each one had different regional choices as well as western-style breakfast food, but all were spectacular. Great service, accommodations, beautifully appointed rooms, professional staff who speak excellent English. We felt, at the end of each day, that we were returning to our own little oasis--a hotel that soothes and mitigates jetlag!

Room Tip: We had a premiere room with a partial harbor view (which we did not ask for). Quite lovely--quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for staying with Shangri-La in the three cities you visited - great to hear you enjoyed the hotels. Look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Shangri-lamis my favorite chain of hotels when travelling in Asia. So when for the first time I was to visit Hong Kong I had no doubts where to stay.
Arrival, check-in, staff at the reception just confirmed my expectations. Swift, professional, helpful.
But the room, and especially sleep quality was sub-standard. The room with "canal view" turned out to be a room above restaurants and facing a busy street. Forget about sleep. On top of that aircon was much too loud.
Good restaurants, good choice of meals for breakfast. But a major disappointment as far as the most important part of hotel stay is concerned - sleep. Not recommended.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for rooms on top floors. Perhaps it helps....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Whilst I was pleased you found my colleagues efficient and friendly I was most concerned to learn that you were disturbed by noise. I will be in touch to obtain more details so that we can have the room you stayed in thoroughly checked. Thanks for the valuable feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband were on our 25th wedding anniversary trip and this was our first time in Asia Hong Kong was our first stop for six days then off to Kuala Lumpur -Singapore -Thailand/ Bangkok and then staying in Thailand going from Bangkok to Hau Hin for the remainder our our Months holiday/25th wedding anniversary.
We were going to be staying at the Shangri-La hotels in all the main city’s and used a boutique type hotel in Hua Hin so the one in Hong Kong was going to be the flag bearer for the rest of the chain I must say we were not disappointed the reports and reviews we view were pretty much spot on.On our arrival to the hotel we were met with a warm smile and greeting from all staff members fast check in ( although we thought the travel agent had upgraded us to a harbour view to our disappointment this was not the case and we paid the extra for the privilege the staff knew we were going to be staying at all the other three destinations using their hotel chain but still charged us for the upgrade it would have been a nice gesture from them and showing a bit of loyalty to their customers hence the very good value score) still move on it we would not have missed looking onto the harbour area with all the boats and the view at night so pay we did. The room in the hotel was superb great space king size bed fridge two lounging chairs and table in the bay window overlooking the harbour the bathroom fittings were to a very high standard and the shower was great. The staff kindly sent us up a card some chocolates and a lovely bottle of champagne on the first day to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary nice touch and all items were quality chokies and champers.
The hotel breakfast that everybody talks about is sublime I cannot think of anyone leaving there breakfast still looking for anything from the many parts of the world they are catering for and not being able to have it the chiefs will cook you anything you could ask for if you can’t find it the juice bar fresh fruit bar is massive and fresh breads and patisseries all made in house if you find a better breakfast selection anywhere else in the world let me know this place would take some beating quality. The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing we asked of them was a bother all done with grace and a smile thanks. The hotel is situated in a good spot not too far away from all the main areas shops restaurants bus trips and ferry terminal all within walking distance there are several pubs on the harbour side just next to the hotel with live bands playing every night and a bit of pub grub if you need some we did not use the restaurant in the hotel but the bar was nice. In Hong Kong the shopping is amazing name a shop and you will have it there. From the hotel you can walk past the bus terminal as you come out the hotel and go left and take the escalator just to the right of the bus depot and this will take you up into a garden with lovely water fountains nice place to chill out and carry on through the gardens and you will come to the bridge that you can see in my photos this will take you across the main road to the harbour edge the hop on hop off bus stops here and this is the beginning to the movie star walkway with a couple of bars and coffee house. Keep walking up the movie star walkway and it will take you up to the main ferry terminal with local ferries and pre arranged boat trips all in this vicinity this area also has the laser show at night worth a visit no matter what side of the harbour you are on you can also take the local ferry across to Hong Kong island where again you can use the hop on hop off buses or go visiting the local areas.
The Big Bus Company bus we used for two days was good value and great just to do what you wanted when you wanted and at your own leisure. We used a tour company the first two days and it was all getting a bit rushed we still went back to areas we had seen on the first two days but this time at our pace. Hong Kong island is full of surprises beaches Disneyland Ocean Park Aberdeen Harbour Stanley Market The Peak Tram and observation deck a must do the best view over Hong Kong you will find just lots to do in so short a space you won’t take it all in but try it great. Hong Kong was great better than I imagined we enjoyed the people and the hotel would I go back to this hotel again no problem thanks Shangri-La for the stay from two very satisfied customers.
PS we did not use the Spa but people we spoke to enjoyed it hence the very good.

Room Tip: Alaways book a room on the harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at Kowloon Shangri-La to celebrate your 25th Anniversary. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in Hong Kong with the many attractions it has to offer. Hope to like Thailand and Malaysia too, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.