We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Kowloon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pocket Wi-Fi on Us
Ranked #12 of 653 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good choice in Kowloon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Shangri La is located slightly to the east of the bustling part of Kowloon, so it is close enough to enjoy the activity, but also to escape. It is a well equipped 5 star hotel. The rooms are very large, and 5 star. The restaurants are good. The gym is adequate, the indoor pool fairly small.

The convention facilities are good as long as you don't want natural light as they are underground.

Opposite and next door are smaller malls, with larger higher quality ones within a couple of blocks. There are tailors everywhere asking for business. Cheap things include luggage, tailored clothes, jewelery. The top end fashion shops are at global prices. Food is the full range of prices. Breakfast in the hotel was around US$30 for an enormous selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review with your constructive comments. We do have a great location, close enough to all the major amenities in Tsim Sha Tsui but far enough for some peace & quiet. Most of our larger function rooms are below the lobby, however we do have 5 smaller rooms with natural daylight & views of the harbour - perfect for smaller business or social gatherings. Thanks for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    385
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
297
555
71
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always look at TripAdvisor for hotel recommendtions, and everyone has different experiences at any given hotel. We love Shangri-la and stayed at three of them on this past trip (October), beginning with Kowloon and moving on to Xi'an and Guilin in China. None of them disappointed. The brunch buffet at each one had different regional choices as well as western-style breakfast food, but all were spectacular. Great service, accommodations, beautifully appointed rooms, professional staff who speak excellent English. We felt, at the end of each day, that we were returning to our own little oasis--a hotel that soothes and mitigates jetlag!

Room Tip: We had a premiere room with a partial harbor view (which we did not ask for). Quite lovely--quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for staying with Shangri-La in the three cities you visited - great to hear you enjoyed the hotels. Look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Shangri-lamis my favorite chain of hotels when travelling in Asia. So when for the first time I was to visit Hong Kong I had no doubts where to stay.
Arrival, check-in, staff at the reception just confirmed my expectations. Swift, professional, helpful.
But the room, and especially sleep quality was sub-standard. The room with "canal view" turned out to be a room above restaurants and facing a busy street. Forget about sleep. On top of that aircon was much too loud.
Good restaurants, good choice of meals for breakfast. But a major disappointment as far as the most important part of hotel stay is concerned - sleep. Not recommended.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for rooms on top floors. Perhaps it helps....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Whilst I was pleased you found my colleagues efficient and friendly I was most concerned to learn that you were disturbed by noise. I will be in touch to obtain more details so that we can have the room you stayed in thoroughly checked. Thanks for the valuable feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband were on our 25th wedding anniversary trip and this was our first time in Asia Hong Kong was our first stop for six days then off to Kuala Lumpur -Singapore -Thailand/ Bangkok and then staying in Thailand going from Bangkok to Hau Hin for the remainder our our Months holiday/25th wedding anniversary.
We were going to be staying at the Shangri-La hotels in all the main city’s and used a boutique type hotel in Hua Hin so the one in Hong Kong was going to be the flag bearer for the rest of the chain I must say we were not disappointed the reports and reviews we view were pretty much spot on.On our arrival to the hotel we were met with a warm smile and greeting from all staff members fast check in ( although we thought the travel agent had upgraded us to a harbour view to our disappointment this was not the case and we paid the extra for the privilege the staff knew we were going to be staying at all the other three destinations using their hotel chain but still charged us for the upgrade it would have been a nice gesture from them and showing a bit of loyalty to their customers hence the very good value score) still move on it we would not have missed looking onto the harbour area with all the boats and the view at night so pay we did. The room in the hotel was superb great space king size bed fridge two lounging chairs and table in the bay window overlooking the harbour the bathroom fittings were to a very high standard and the shower was great. The staff kindly sent us up a card some chocolates and a lovely bottle of champagne on the first day to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary nice touch and all items were quality chokies and champers.
The hotel breakfast that everybody talks about is sublime I cannot think of anyone leaving there breakfast still looking for anything from the many parts of the world they are catering for and not being able to have it the chiefs will cook you anything you could ask for if you can’t find it the juice bar fresh fruit bar is massive and fresh breads and patisseries all made in house if you find a better breakfast selection anywhere else in the world let me know this place would take some beating quality. The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing we asked of them was a bother all done with grace and a smile thanks. The hotel is situated in a good spot not too far away from all the main areas shops restaurants bus trips and ferry terminal all within walking distance there are several pubs on the harbour side just next to the hotel with live bands playing every night and a bit of pub grub if you need some we did not use the restaurant in the hotel but the bar was nice. In Hong Kong the shopping is amazing name a shop and you will have it there. From the hotel you can walk past the bus terminal as you come out the hotel and go left and take the escalator just to the right of the bus depot and this will take you up into a garden with lovely water fountains nice place to chill out and carry on through the gardens and you will come to the bridge that you can see in my photos this will take you across the main road to the harbour edge the hop on hop off bus stops here and this is the beginning to the movie star walkway with a couple of bars and coffee house. Keep walking up the movie star walkway and it will take you up to the main ferry terminal with local ferries and pre arranged boat trips all in this vicinity this area also has the laser show at night worth a visit no matter what side of the harbour you are on you can also take the local ferry across to Hong Kong island where again you can use the hop on hop off buses or go visiting the local areas.
The Big Bus Company bus we used for two days was good value and great just to do what you wanted when you wanted and at your own leisure. We used a tour company the first two days and it was all getting a bit rushed we still went back to areas we had seen on the first two days but this time at our pace. Hong Kong island is full of surprises beaches Disneyland Ocean Park Aberdeen Harbour Stanley Market The Peak Tram and observation deck a must do the best view over Hong Kong you will find just lots to do in so short a space you won’t take it all in but try it great. Hong Kong was great better than I imagined we enjoyed the people and the hotel would I go back to this hotel again no problem thanks Shangri-La for the stay from two very satisfied customers.
PS we did not use the Spa but people we spoke to enjoyed it hence the very good.

Room Tip: Alaways book a room on the harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at Kowloon Shangri-La to celebrate your 25th Anniversary. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in Hong Kong with the many attractions it has to offer. Hope to like Thailand and Malaysia too, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel continues the great tradition of the Shangri La hotels in China. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the food selections amazing. We were greeted by friendly staff at every turn. There was easy access to the Avenue of the Stars where we watched the evening laser show and were awed by the lights on the buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and friendly service. Look forward to welcoming you back to Kowloon Shangri-La again, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

wonderful hotel, staff in all areas very helpful they go that extra step to making your stay perfect , rooms spaicous clean and comfortable , food amazing would highly recommend the angelina restaurant

Room Tip: we upgraded to an horizon floor it was well worth it when you see all the extras you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Delighted to learn you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the Angelini Italian Restaurant. Thank you for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nedlands, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What makes a hotel great goes beyond nice comfortable rooms and beautiful lobbies, what makes a hotel truly great is its staff, the human heartbeat of a hotel. The really impressive thing about Shangri-La hotels is they have mastered the art of hospitality service and this hotel more than lives up to their reputation of excellence.

The staff at this hotel are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble and they all happily make that extra effort to assist. I was always left with the impression that they genuinely do value you as a guest, they are a credit to the hotel.

Everything was as smooth as silk, from being greeted at the airport, the limo drive to the hotel and check in at the Horizon Club reception. I had a Horizon Harbour View room which by Hong Kong standards was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The views of Victoria Harbour were amazing especially at night.

I dined at Cafe Kool several times. Its a busy restaurant but I only once had to wait to be seated and that wait was only a couple of minutes. The buffet had a large variety of food to suit every taste and there's a good menu selection too, surprisingly the cost was very reasonable. If you have a sweet tooth or just want to indulge a little the Deli Kool has a good selection of really delicious pastries.

The location is really good, there is an MRT close by and Nathan Road is within an easy walk. There are many restaurants close by including a couple of steakhouses, a great pizza place and Bulldogs which is a cool bar and grill with views of the harbour.

There's no shortage of taxi's in HK and the doorman at the hotel makes sure the driver knows exactly where you want to go and the fares are cheap.

Having stayed at the Shangri-La in Singapore and Kuala Lumpur as well as this one in Kowloon, I'm now a huge fan of the hotel chain. Shangri-La hotels simply know how to look after their guests, the service is impeccable, the rooms and facilities are second to none and I will now make a point of booking with them in the future. I highly recommend the Shangri-La in Kowloon, try it, you wont be disappointed unless you're simply impossible to please.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear you found the Hotel well located, and delighted you found the service attentive. Thank you for your kind words about my colleagues - it's in their nature to look after visitors the best way they can. Thank you for your loyalty to the Shangri-La brand, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.