We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Asia and our first Shangri-La Hotel used on this trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free use of pocket Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Asia and our first Shangri-La Hotel used on this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband were on our 25th wedding anniversary trip and this was our first time in Asia Hong Kong was our first stop for six days then off to Kuala Lumpur -Singapore -Thailand/ Bangkok and then staying in Thailand going from Bangkok to Hau Hin for the remainder our our Months holiday/25th wedding anniversary.
We were going to be staying at the Shangri-La hotels in all the main city’s and used a boutique type hotel in Hua Hin so the one in Hong Kong was going to be the flag bearer for the rest of the chain I must say we were not disappointed the reports and reviews we view were pretty much spot on.On our arrival to the hotel we were met with a warm smile and greeting from all staff members fast check in ( although we thought the travel agent had upgraded us to a harbour view to our disappointment this was not the case and we paid the extra for the privilege the staff knew we were going to be staying at all the other three destinations using their hotel chain but still charged us for the upgrade it would have been a nice gesture from them and showing a bit of loyalty to their customers hence the very good value score) still move on it we would not have missed looking onto the harbour area with all the boats and the view at night so pay we did. The room in the hotel was superb great space king size bed fridge two lounging chairs and table in the bay window overlooking the harbour the bathroom fittings were to a very high standard and the shower was great. The staff kindly sent us up a card some chocolates and a lovely bottle of champagne on the first day to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary nice touch and all items were quality chokies and champers.
The hotel breakfast that everybody talks about is sublime I cannot think of anyone leaving there breakfast still looking for anything from the many parts of the world they are catering for and not being able to have it the chiefs will cook you anything you could ask for if you can’t find it the juice bar fresh fruit bar is massive and fresh breads and patisseries all made in house if you find a better breakfast selection anywhere else in the world let me know this place would take some beating quality. The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing we asked of them was a bother all done with grace and a smile thanks. The hotel is situated in a good spot not too far away from all the main areas shops restaurants bus trips and ferry terminal all within walking distance there are several pubs on the harbour side just next to the hotel with live bands playing every night and a bit of pub grub if you need some we did not use the restaurant in the hotel but the bar was nice. In Hong Kong the shopping is amazing name a shop and you will have it there. From the hotel you can walk past the bus terminal as you come out the hotel and go left and take the escalator just to the right of the bus depot and this will take you up into a garden with lovely water fountains nice place to chill out and carry on through the gardens and you will come to the bridge that you can see in my photos this will take you across the main road to the harbour edge the hop on hop off bus stops here and this is the beginning to the movie star walkway with a couple of bars and coffee house. Keep walking up the movie star walkway and it will take you up to the main ferry terminal with local ferries and pre arranged boat trips all in this vicinity this area also has the laser show at night worth a visit no matter what side of the harbour you are on you can also take the local ferry across to Hong Kong island where again you can use the hop on hop off buses or go visiting the local areas.
The Big Bus Company bus we used for two days was good value and great just to do what you wanted when you wanted and at your own leisure. We used a tour company the first two days and it was all getting a bit rushed we still went back to areas we had seen on the first two days but this time at our pace. Hong Kong island is full of surprises beaches Disneyland Ocean Park Aberdeen Harbour Stanley Market The Peak Tram and observation deck a must do the best view over Hong Kong you will find just lots to do in so short a space you won’t take it all in but try it great. Hong Kong was great better than I imagined we enjoyed the people and the hotel would I go back to this hotel again no problem thanks Shangri-La for the stay from two very satisfied customers.
PS we did not use the Spa but people we spoke to enjoyed it hence the very good.

Room Tip: Alaways book a room on the harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at Kowloon Shangri-La to celebrate your 25th Anniversary. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in Hong Kong with the many attractions it has to offer. Hope to like Thailand and Malaysia too, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    472
    92
    23
    17
See reviews for
391
738
96
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel continues the great tradition of the Shangri La hotels in China. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the food selections amazing. We were greeted by friendly staff at every turn. There was easy access to the Avenue of the Stars where we watched the evening laser show and were awed by the lights on the buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and friendly service. Look forward to welcoming you back to Kowloon Shangri-La again, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

wonderful hotel, staff in all areas very helpful they go that extra step to making your stay perfect , rooms spaicous clean and comfortable , food amazing would highly recommend the angelina restaurant

Room Tip: we upgraded to an horizon floor it was well worth it when you see all the extras you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Delighted to learn you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the Angelini Italian Restaurant. Thank you for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nedlands, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What makes a hotel great goes beyond nice comfortable rooms and beautiful lobbies, what makes a hotel truly great is its staff, the human heartbeat of a hotel. The really impressive thing about Shangri-La hotels is they have mastered the art of hospitality service and this hotel more than lives up to their reputation of excellence.

The staff at this hotel are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble and they all happily make that extra effort to assist. I was always left with the impression that they genuinely do value you as a guest, they are a credit to the hotel.

Everything was as smooth as silk, from being greeted at the airport, the limo drive to the hotel and check in at the Horizon Club reception. I had a Horizon Harbour View room which by Hong Kong standards was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The views of Victoria Harbour were amazing especially at night.

I dined at Cafe Kool several times. Its a busy restaurant but I only once had to wait to be seated and that wait was only a couple of minutes. The buffet had a large variety of food to suit every taste and there's a good menu selection too, surprisingly the cost was very reasonable. If you have a sweet tooth or just want to indulge a little the Deli Kool has a good selection of really delicious pastries.

The location is really good, there is an MRT close by and Nathan Road is within an easy walk. There are many restaurants close by including a couple of steakhouses, a great pizza place and Bulldogs which is a cool bar and grill with views of the harbour.

There's no shortage of taxi's in HK and the doorman at the hotel makes sure the driver knows exactly where you want to go and the fares are cheap.

Having stayed at the Shangri-La in Singapore and Kuala Lumpur as well as this one in Kowloon, I'm now a huge fan of the hotel chain. Shangri-La hotels simply know how to look after their guests, the service is impeccable, the rooms and facilities are second to none and I will now make a point of booking with them in the future. I highly recommend the Shangri-La in Kowloon, try it, you wont be disappointed unless you're simply impossible to please.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear you found the Hotel well located, and delighted you found the service attentive. Thank you for your kind words about my colleagues - it's in their nature to look after visitors the best way they can. Thank you for your loyalty to the Shangri-La brand, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I particularly like this hotel as the location is perfect for me. It is located in the heart of Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui area where food and shops are all very concentrated. The hotel has great decoration and the facility is perfect. I will stay here again next time when I come.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your comments and good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a Deluxe Harbourview Room for 6 nights and it was fantastic. The room is beautiful with all of the refinements that you would expect but what makes it perfect is the view. Hong Kong island from your bed is a sight to behold.

The service at the hotel was excellent. Tea set delivered on arrival along with chocolates as an Anniversary gift. We had breakfast each day and there is a vast choice.

The staff are exceptional. From finding a taxi, restaurant recommendations, good tailors, what to see and do. Nothing was too much trouble. Very professional.

Would have no hesitation in staying here again. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe Harbourview or above. The views are worth the extra. Also the breakfast is exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff. Well located if you are returning/leaving for China by train. Only 50 metres to an MTR entrance. Business facilities & club floor recommended.

I also used the airport limousine service when travelling to the airport, what a hassle free travel & check-in experience.

Room Tip: Treat yourself & get a Harbour view room, stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,464 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#14 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#6 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#33 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.