We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for working or exploring hong kong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pocket Wi-Fi on Us
Ranked #11 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great base for working or exploring hong kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The Shangri-La has excellent, detail oriented staff - from suggesting things to do, giving directions, managing luggage, working an event, anything. They were nice, accommodating, and anticipated my needs. The horizon club at the top is a very nice place to relax. My hotel room was huge, and the view was beautiful. The gym was pretty good. Free wifi throughout. Convenient location to Nathan road, star ferry, and red line. There's a free shuttle to the express train to the airport. Stay here if you can afford it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    405
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
326
605
78
467
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Was only here for one night. It's got very good food and the staff was super nice. We had a pretty massive room which was good. The MTR station was only a few minute walk from the hotel so that's good. There's lots of great shopping areas and restaurants nearby. When getting a taxi, the staff would have a slip of paper of their licence plate for if there would be a problem, you'd already have the information there. The hotel is just very comfortable and it's great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Great to learn you found the Kowloon Shangri-La comfortable and well located. Thanks for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our last stop on our world trip before returning to Sydney. We have stayed here previously on our way down to Australia.

As always a stay at the Shangri-La chain is a welcome event and Kowloon did not disappoint. We had a Horizon Harbour View Room and the money was well worth it - the view was amazing. Add to that the fact there was an included club room with evening snacks and drinks and we were super chilled.

The Hotel now is right by the MTR - so easy access to anywhere in HK. We used it to do a one day trip to Disneyland.

The food was a consistently high quality - the Buffet is well worth going to - it will not disappoint.

The staff as always are very friendly and approachable. They were wonderful with my two boys.

Room Tip: Again, it pays to book with them direct - try to see if you can get into the Horizon club floor if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I was pleased to learn we looked after you and your family and you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel. Thank you for your review, Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As big fans of Shangri La hotels, we were extremely pleased to stay on Kowloon Bay in Hong Kong - our room had an incredible view of the skyline, though at a pretty steep cost.

The breakfast buffet was high quality - I recommend you buy ahead of time through their website if you can, it was a good discount. They also had tasty afternoon treats at very moderate prices.

If Trip Advisor did 1/2 stars, I'd give this 4 1/2 due to expense of the room, and one issue we had - our friends at check-in had to wait more than 20 minutes after being told their room wasn't ready. Meanwhile, everyone else in line, including us, were able to get right into our room. However, they fixed this after complaint by upgrading our friends to a suite - well worth the 20 minutes, I think. Service otherwise was very high quality, and friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a harbour view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Appreciate your constructive comments and pleased you enjoyed the hotel. I am sorry to learn your friends room was not ready immediately - sometime this is because we have identified something that needs to be fixed. I am pleased our staff extended some flexibility to ensure they were not kept waiting too long. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We 3 had a triple sharing room for a shopping weekend. If you plan on only sleeping in the hotel you will do fine by being in any room. However if you would like to chill in the room, you need to insist on a room with a view of either the harbour or street. Unfortunately our room #730 only had sliver of a view of the harbour and the rest, a concrete building right in front of us. Disappointing. You can expect traditional Shangri-la Group 5 star friendly service, however the hotel is cramped with people dining at Cafe Cool and the lobby lounge at weekend. The Tapas bar is slightly less packed but no drinks served unless you have their buffet for sunday lunch. Seem such a waste of opportunity to me! The other pain point is the musty odor of carpets in the corridor of the rooms. Plus points include, great location, great concierge and check out services, friendly employees all round, plentiful taxis and a convenient well connected subway line Tsim Sha Tsui East station right in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Floor 7 has a musty odor through the corridor. Unfortunately our room #730 only had sliver of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Horizon Club. Our spacious room had large windows overlooking the harbour and was a pleasure to spend time in. The staff throughout the hotel were absolutely exceptional. The situation is great with an easy walk to Nathan Road or a stroll along the harbourfront. The MTR station right outside the hotel makes getting around easy. A 7eleven store right next door is good for forgotten items! I would unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The harbour front rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a great location. The harbor is so close and shops are near.
There is even a close metro stop.
The lobby is beautiful with a good harbor view and we spent time there having drinks or desserts and just relaxing while enjoying the live music.
The rooms were lovely and we were greeted with a pot of tea and fruits.
The service at the reception desk and the concierge desk was exceptional.
Special thanks to Sonia and Ricky.
We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet

Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: No.64 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.