We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the world's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Island Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pacific Place, Supreme Court Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #9 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the world's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

I've been fortunate to stay at some of the world's best hotels, and this is up there... just sensational... the lobby, the bars, the rooms, (most of) the room views. And the pool... for a city centre pool this is hard to beat -- you can almost touch the amazing Bank of China building, and when the light falls this is an amazing place to be. The service is world class... its almost impossible to find fault

A world class hotel and a benchmark for almost all.... The Penninsular seems a bit out of the way in comparison!

  • Liked — Service, Glamour, Location, Quality --- and the Pool!
  • Disliked — Little signs of age in some of the rooms...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    194
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
183
281
88
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

best service. best pool. best restaurants. best room size.

over numerous stays at the island shang it always amazes me how they go beyond the normal to make every stay special. something about this hotel just makes it more welcoming than the conrad or marriott which it shares the area with.

great facilities to keep children happy.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

I stayed at the Island Shangri-la Hong Kong for a period of 9 nights in December 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Check-in

Having booked a limousine transfer to the hotel, upon my arrival at the Island Shangri-la, I was warmly greeted by no less than three staff members who approached the car. This included a bellboy, guest relations staff member and a receptionist. It was a wonderful experience and truly makes you feel welcome to the hotel. The guest relations staff member then escorted me to my suite for in-room check-in.

Accommodation

The Executive Suite is generously appointed with a living room, bedroom, main and guest bathroom. The desk is stocked with all necessary business equipment such as a print/fax/copy/scan machine, stapler and clips and the bathroom comes equipped with all required amenities such as a comb, nail clipper, mouthwash and other standard items. All curtains are electronically controlled and a large fruit bowl, which is replenished relatively frequently, is provided in the living room. The main drawback is the small size of the main bathroom with no separate enclosure for the toilet nor double sinks. Overall however, the suite is very well maintained.

Dining

During my stay, I enjoyed the buffet breakfast daily at Cafe TOO. This is one of the most expansive buffets I have dined at with many food stations scattered throughout. In addition to the usual hot food, pastries, Chinese dim sum and fruits and cereals, rice congee and noodles can be cooked fresh when you order. The main drawback, in my opinion, is the large size of the cafe. When all tables are occupied, the noise level is high and the staff are often overworked, resulting in a significant reduction in service quality.

Lunch at the Summer Palace chinese restaurant is also a great experience. The presentation of the food is excellent and the service superb. As expected, however, this comes at a high price.

Service

This was one of the most impressive aspects of the Island Shangri-la. Everytime I encountered a staff member, be it receptionist, housekeeping or the front door staff, they were always smiling, warm and willing to help. Staff wish you a good day upon departing the hotel and welcome you back when are you arrive back at the hotel. Housekeeping is very efficient and rooms are cleaned quickly.

Location

The hotel is extremely convenient, being situated above the Pacific Place shopping mall complex which offers a vast array of brand name goods and food outlets. It also means that undercover access to the MTR system is available. While the access is not as convenient as the JW Marriott and Conrad (which offer direct access using the hotel elevators while Island Shangri-la requires use of the hotel elevator and the Pacific Place glass elevator that becomes very hectic at times), it is nonetheless very convenient.

Facilities

The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre which is very well equipped and maintained.

Conclusion

This is a particularly impressive hotel that I am sure ranks highly among the top hotels in Hong Kong. If you are staying on Hong Kong Island, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

The Shangri-La chain once again proved to me their industry-leading strength in comfort and service. Upon check-in, we upgraded to a deluxe room which entails a larger living area, free in-room wi-fi, breakfast at the top floor restaurant, and more. They were unable to accommodate our party of three with a room with two beds, but we found that most of our hotels in Asia had only king or two twin rooms, although the rolloway bed was the most comfortable one I slept on the entire trip.The room was beautifully decorated and had a high-floor view of Victoria Harbour and the forest of skyscrapers in Kowloon. The bathroom featured a separate television, which only prolonged me in getting ready in the morning while I watched CNN.

Beneath the hotel on the street level are a series of restaurants and Pacific Place, a Versailles-sized shopping mall selling anything from high-end purses to unlocked, imported iPhones. We were able to walk from mall to mall and find ourselves on the other side of the city. The hotel is in an excellent location adjacent to Hong Kong Park and is only a short walk to the central business district.

What was most impressive of the hotel was perhaps their service. We forgot to pack an extra power adapter, so we made a visit to the gift shop in the lobby. They didn't sell any there, but they promised they would send a loaner to our room. The adapter beat us to our room. The front desk staff were also very willing to give good directions, and the doormen had a bevy of local knowledge. They also would write our cab number on a slip of paper in case we forgot valuables inside the cab.

The hotel's elegance, service, and convenient location made it the perfect place to stay in Hong Kong-- but for USD$500/night, it better be.

  • Liked — Amazing service
  • Disliked — High price tag
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This was my Sixth or Seventh stay at the Island Shangri la. I stay at many hotels but this one is absolutely my preferred one. Rooms are comfortable (suites even better...) view is fantastic.
Service is willing and efficient. Breakfast is the best I ever experienced at any hotel.
Staff make you feel at home.
At one of my our stays my family had three suites. We ordered a complicated room service order (Japanese, Indian Chinese and Italian dishes). Everything arrived at the same time, in the right temperature and very tasty.
Can't wait for the new New york, Paris & London Shangri la hotels to open.

  • Liked — View, service and food
  • Disliked — Slow internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Spent three nights here during our honeymoon, and the staff went out of their way to make it special. The room was excellent with a fabulous harbour view.

As far as accommodation and service were concerned, it's one of my best hotel experiences. The only downsides to our stay were (1) the dinner in the hotel's haute cuisine restaurant, Petrus, which was good, but not good enough for the prices charged (our best meals in HK were in Nobu and in "M at the Fringe"); and (2) the afternoon tea in the lounge in the Shangri La, which didn't live up to the standards of a five star hotel.

  • Liked — The room and the staff
  • Disliked — Afternoon tea
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I'm in HK very often on business and stay in a mid-range hotel (Bishop Lei, see entry in TripAdvisor) but this time a client paid for a couple of nights in the Shang. I used to stay there many years ago when, after the Asian crisis, rooms were about the same price as the Bishop Lei is now! The Island Shang always used to feel very brash and arriviste compared with the grandes dames of the Oriental and the Peninsular, but it's matured well and has become a real classic. The service, in particular, is off-the-scale attentive, practical, polite, and effective, as only the Hongkies and the Swiss deluxe hotels can pull off.

The decor is "dress to impress" chinoiserie, like it or hate it, but it has scale and grandeur. All rooms are high floors (the middle of the building is offices) so even the Peak view (=rooms at the back) have great views. Nice bathrooms, not as high-tech as some super-5 star hotels, but big baths and plentiful toiletries including bath salts, a great touch. The rooms are big and comfortable, with big desks, and a kettle (hooray!). The minuses are that the internet is very expensive and rather idiosyncratic (had to re-log in every time I opened a new browser window), and the minibar is predictably outrageously priced.

The pool was closed for a party one day, and closed for emergency cleaning the next (must have been quite the party!) but the Conrad's 25m pool is one minute's walk away and offered reciprocal usage. Room service was fast and good, and breakfast in the cafe was comprehensive, pleasing the highly cosmopolitan clientele (contrast the almost club-like concentration of middle-aged white men you'd find at breakfast in the Mandarin's Grill Room).

But the main take-away is that this has matured into a really classy high-end hotel, with its own character. Paris Hilton becomes Judy Dench... well, not quite, but give it another quarter-century and it'll be there!

  • Liked — a classic top quality hotel
  • Disliked — internet service in the room was clunky
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Pacific Place, Supreme Court Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.