We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with a hint of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Island Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pacific Place, Supreme Court Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #9 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with a hint of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've always enjoyed staying at the Shangri-La in Hong Kong. Last stay was 8 years ago and this time, my experience there is equally pleasant. I enjoyed their comfortable bed, ample bathroom amenities, a wide selection of TV channels, expansive in-room dining menu, location, free wifi and complimentary fruit basket.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    178
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
173
270
83
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Can't go wrong staying at the Island Shangri-La hotel in Hong Kong.
This hotel has the 5-star decadence (in a design which is traditionally old school luxury with lots of marble and trim, but yet didn't look 'old and dated') of a luxury stay. Stayed 5 nights - and was treated with excellent service through-out. The hotel is centrally located near the Admiralty MTR at Pacific Place and only a HKD20 (~US$2.50) taxi trip to more places which was perfect (Boy are taxi's cheap in HK!). As for a habour view room if possible, and try out the pool and gym which has all the necessary equipment to get a proper full body workout (and has towels, water and fresh fruit readily available which was fantastic). For meals, check out Cafe Too - which has a delicious buffet! The hotel is expensive, but it was a very enjoyable stay and would stay again if I had to pick a hotel on HK island.

Room Tip: Habour view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Island Shangri-La this mid-March. The service was excellent, and the rooms were clean and spacious. I was there with my husband and two young boys, so I was worried about convenience. The buffet in the hotel is amazing, and they were very considerate of my son's allergies. Moreover, this location is outstanding! We were near many great sights, shopping and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel since 2000, and have fond memories of it as we held our engagement party there. I recently returned after a 3-year absence, having been staying at hotels closer to my office. The hotel is very much the same, with classic decor and luxurious furnishings. Everything was in very good condition, and of course, spotless. Classic does not change, but I would suggest adding some modernity to keep in tune with the times. The Horizon Club lounge in particular was stiff, formal and uncomfortable. Contrast the club lounge in Ritz-Carlton Beijing which manages to be both formal and comfortable. So an excellent offering, which could use a little new pizzaz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there many times and always love to return. I am travelling on business a lot and thus you need a place where you can at least feel home. Walking into this hotel always feels for like coming home. Friendly staff (and always meet the same people), very nice smell every where in the hotel, like in every Shangri-La Hotel around the world, great spacious rooms with fabulous views, nice pool. Location is also great, very central, close to Wan Chai also.

There is really nothing negative to say about this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I will need to re-calibrate my Trip Advisor ratings after a recent stay at the Island Shangri-La in Hong Kong that was filled with unexpected comforts. This hotel is definitely in a class of its own. Rooms are luxurious - decor is lavish and definitely not understated --with gorgeous Asian touches and numerous modern amenities. Rooms unusually large, with spectacular city or harbour views - a very welcome retreat from the terrible air in Hong Kong. Bars and restaurants are all unique - and lacking that big hotel "cookie cutter" feel.
The service is great - a bit impersonal because this is a huge and busy hotel - but always friendly and extremely obliging. We enjoyed several of the restaurants - two have live music every night. If you like a hotel with "buzz" and action - this is the place for you. If you want peace, you'll need to stick to your room. The breakfast buffet is really very good --with 5 different cultures' cusines represented - but its enormous and chaotic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La for a week,

We travelled with our son, while husband had to wok, so i spent most of my time with my son, hotel staff was extremely helpful and joyful with our son. Hotel Service was excellent, from the beginning of our stay to the end.

Concierge who i went to everyday to help me plan my days where super helpful, probably the best concierge service i have experience. Rooms are a good size, old style classic which i LOVE and a good size. They set up a cot for our son and also gave us a Baby pack which was great everything we needed was in it, although we had our own things we thought this was very thoughtful.

Our hotel room had great views, the room was big and clean and very comfortable.

The hotel is connected to Pacific Place Shopping mall which also has a supermarket which was very handy for our son.

Food at the hotel was excellent loved Cafe Too. If you join up to Shangri La Circle membership you will be given some kind of discount on breakfast and possibly good, Check it out

Great Location, Great hotel i would Definitely go back and i would highly recommend it, i felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Pacific Place, Supreme Court Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.