We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Island Shangri-La Hong Kong to your Saves list
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Upgrade & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excellent service and convenient location - linked to Pacific Place mall with good restaurants and designers stores. Well equipped gym and Housekeeping do an immaculate job at keeping the rooms in good order. Fifteen to twenty minute walk to IFC and it's easy to catch a taxi to Kowloon etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I used this hotel for a recent business trip to Hong Kong. The office is in Pacific Place and this is very convenient. I have previously stayed in the Conrad when in Hong Kong, but, this was far better.

Club rooms are fantastic, the views from the 52nd floor upward are superb (if you get the weather) and the club lounge is more than adequate.

I arrived having lost my baggage at the airport, in only my suit rom the day at work, the reception managed to find me a pair of shorts and a t-shirt for me to wear in the room. Excellent service from the off!

When I arrived in the room, I was greated with a pot of tea in a hamper, a box of choclates and a pineapple biscuit in a small "dim-sum steamer" style box, the room was spacious and well maintained.

When my bags arrived, the bell hops brought them to my room (firstly sending a note to say they arrived), excellent service.

Only one complaint, due to the amount of floors, there is a fairly long wait for the lifts, at one point I waited for over 5 minutes, which seemed crazy.

Room Tip: Set off early if you are needing to take a lift from a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_In_Singap0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

At least, certainly the best I've stayed in. Someone with a great eye for detail has thought through the experience of a guest. Accommodation is excellent, breakfast has amazing variety, the views (in any direction)are fantastic, but what makes it really outstanding is the service — there's always someone ready to help, without it being in any way oppressive. A great place to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank too_much_travelling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay here at every opportunity when visiting HK. The hotel is ideally located an supremely well maintained. Neighbouring Conrad and JW Marriott hotels are both good second options but do not stack up to the Shang. Stunning pool with IM Pei's Bank of China masterpiece in the distance. The restaurants are all top class. Stunning harbour views from the lounge at the top of the hotel. Hot tea is waiting in your room when you first check in. Very good gym facility. In short, the ideal place for business travel and for visiting tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantoloking, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in a high floor room with a sweeping view of Hong Kong harbor. Excellent amenties and technology. Service was awesome, the bell hop zipped me over to my destination in a hotel car when I was running late and the taxi line was a mile long. Good buffet breakfast. The bar kept me hydrated!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightlevel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Mostly I am not in the mood to write a review but I stayed so many times in
this hotel and I feel I should say it again. This is one of the best city hotels
I have stayed in the past years. How many times ? I can't remember again but
7 or 8 times and my recent visit in late november was again TOP OF THE TOP!!
The interior is Shangri-La ! Nothing else , you might like it or not if you are a design
guru you should in the Upper-House but if you like a bigger hotel with luxury touch
and splendid restaurants, you feel like home here. I always mention a quiet room in
my bookings and so I had no to comment on this while check-in , my room was far
away from the elevators , perfect. I would like to mention again the Cafe Toe for
breakfast and dinner-buffet, what a choice and I am not a big eater so I see happy
people around putting up their dishes with Lobsters, Sashimi and all the fine delicate food.
Extremly efficient staff here. Congratulation again, this hotel is top-notch in all senses unless
the Spa which I only visited once some times ago and which did not convince me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topofthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

absolutely outstanding experience. service excellent, rooms beautiful. breakfast buffet was best I've seen. close to shopping and very easy to get around. staff were very helpful with our 2 year old and check in experience easy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmusementPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 696 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 696 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 3,872 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#