We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Room Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Hotel in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love the hotel and would go back or recommend to anyone. After the very difficult time though customs it was great to see the man with the sign for the hotel and the smile on his face was great. He had a car sent for us and the great time began. We loved this hotel and our visit to Hong Kong

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    59
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
99
208
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a Christmas lunch in La Chiesa and the food was great and the service was marvellous. Even Father Christmas came! I am sure that the food would be as good every other day of the year. Christmas lunch was good value compared to UK prices.

Room Tip: This is a landmark hotel and is one of the best in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a special occasion so we decided to go to HK and stay at ThePeninsula Hotel. It was marvellous! The room was fantastic: spacious, light and with an equally appealing bathroom. The facilities included everything you could think of. You communicated with everybody through the IPad on the bedside table: concierge, food, laundry, tours. You name it and the IPad would find it! Room service was excellent and the staff were attentive and polite without being overbearing. The bars are intimate And clubby, the restaurants catered for western and eastern tastes. Every afternoon tea is served with a pleasant pianist on show. They pick you up from the airport in a Rolls Royce. To crown it all my husband wanted some made to measure shirts so we ordered them on Tuesday and they we're ready on Saturday from one of the shops in the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped by for tea and cake. Ground floor had a long queue, so went to first floor. As you'd expect, beautiful, impressive surroundings. Service was polite and impeccable and the cakes were waistline expanding beautiful. A quiet, civilised place to enjoy 'tiffin' and only £38, which for what it is, was reasonable.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the privilege to stay at this great place.

This hotel has been in Hong Kong for many years so it keeps old interior design which makes it unique.

The attention to detail is impressive, no matter where you go: the pool, spa, lobby for an afternoon tea, every detail, is just taken care of so very effectively

Highly recommended

Room Tip: High Room have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...and thus we spoiled ourselves. The location is perfect: around the corner from a metro-station, 5min walk to the Star Ferry Terminal, stunning views of Hongkong Island (as long as you book a harbour view room!).
Unfortunately our room was at the back of the hotel and the huge window was extremly dirty. They blamed it on the pollution (and the air China sends across the border is truly dreadful and frankly makes a visit to Hongkong no longer enjoyable...), but thus the "view" was like staying in a **Hotel. :-(
The room itself was great. Huge bed, very spacious bathroom, intuitive control panels for everything, plus three I-pads as seperate control units. Shoes to clean go into a box which is accessed from the outside and are there again the next morning (including your newspapers).
Breakfast is served (large) buffet style at the Verandah till 10/10.30 am and a la carte in the Lounge till noon. :-))
The Felix Restaurant on the 28th floor has great views and "creative" cooking, but we do find tradional printed winelists easier to read and to compare than the I-pad versions which seem to be the rage nowadays...
A must visit is the woodpaneled Bar on the 1st floor. Colonial luxury surviving.
Last, but not least, the fitness center is huge and the SPA sublime. The sauna could be much hotter (set only to 75C). If you do want to have a massage, you better reserve when you book your stay as they are pretty well booked (ditto if you plan to have afternoon tea, the line was LONG!)
And if you can afford staying here, you can afford taking one of their Rolls Royces to the airport ("only" about US$ 170 more than a taxi).

Room Tip: Definetely book a harbour view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience in details following your recent stay at The Peninsula Hong Kong. We are delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and you benefit from our comprehensive hotel services and its convenient location. We regret that you found the windows in the guest room was dirty. Please be assured that we do have outside window cleaning on a regular basis. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Once again, we appreciate your kind comment and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Yours sincerely,

Raoul Hoelzle
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is perhaps the most meticulously perfect combination of luxury, old world and 5 stars service.
I can't say more about how happy we are to stay at this hotel.
The view is breath taking. It is also super convenient to go anywhere from this hotel.
Bravo!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui , Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.