We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a few minus points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #7 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a few minus points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed a night on 13th August as a treat for the family with three birthdays imminent, including my husband's 50th. Travelled as a family of 2 adults and 3 children (9,12 and 15). We were really looking forward to this stay as we had been in a cheaper hotel sharing a room for the past 3 nights!

We had booked two interconnecting Courtyard rooms. We arrived at around 11am hoping to make the most of our very brief time there but were told by the receptionist (who sounded Eastern European) on check-in that neither room would be ready before 2pm and one of them could be much later. She said that the hotel was full when we asked whether other rooms were available, and suggested that we wait in the lobby (more a dining area than seats with comfortable chairs and sofas) or go out shopping - the latter not especially helpful as the rain was torrential.

A quick look at the hotel website showed there were other courtyard rooms available so we told the same receptionist that we were prepared to take the non interconn rooms. As she started mumbling about it not being possible we were already wondering whether we had made the wrong move in not booking the Four Seasons. More helpfully she offered us the use of the swimming pool, but then another receptionist/manager intervened to apologise for the wait and offered us a suite that could be made ready asap. So we enjoyed a swim and poolside lunch (the first rate staff at the luxurious pool and spa restored our confidence in the Pen) then had a look at the 2nd floor suite. It wasn't quite as practical as a pair of interconnecting rooms, since it had only one bathroom (plus an extra loo) and could only accommodate two foldaway beds so we had to share our bed with our 9 year old. That said, it was pretty impressive: huge, impeccably clean with impressive chandeliers, sculptures and paintings, a great shower, latest tech gadgetries (including a bathroom TV with a waterproof controller in the bath) and had a glimpse view of the harbour. The housekeeping staff were great - nothing was too much trouble for them. Great too was the receptionist or manager who offered the alternative accommodation - the upgrade was nice but more importantly he acted quickly, thoughtfully and in the customer focused way that we would hope to take for granted in a deluxe 5* hotel. Husband received a lovely little cake and birthday card.

On checking out we were served by the same lady we encountered on check-in. The bill she prepared wrongly included extra charges for breakfast - she came up with reasons why this was so but husband patiently pointed out that breakfast was included in our package. Nevertheless we love the Pen despite some negatives mentioned, and we would really like to go back (have to start saving now :-)) when we return to HK next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    36
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
122
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Peninsula is undoubtedly the hotel of Hong Kong and for good reason! The ambiance, the superb staff, great location make it the obvious choice amongst its rivals. Simply cannot imagine why someone would not chose the Peninsula if given a choice. Keep it up!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

From the moment your and and step into the Rolls Royce to ride to the Peninsula,you know you are for a treat. I have stayed two times in this hotel and it is one of the best hotels in the world. An experience maybe few hotels (the imperial at Vienna,or the Mandarin at Bankog) can match. It has very comfortable rooms with a great view to the bay,from we're you can enjoy the daily laser show at the other side. The club sandwich at the hotel lobby is the best in the world,and priced accordingly.
It has a good selection of restaurants,and shopping at the lower level.
The spa is world class,and the swimming pool has a stunning view of the bay
It's also conveniently near the ferry,were you can hop to the other side of the bay.
But primarily this is about service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying here was absolutely amazing! The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The beds are soft and so comfortable that you can literally sink right into the mattress and feel nicely tucked in. There is even a wide variety of TV and movie channels to choose from. If there is a hotel that describes luxury, this is it.

Compliments to the friendly and professional staff who made my family's stay here an enjoyable and memorable one, and special thanks to Paul (the butler assigned to us) who made our Peninsula experience truly wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My next stop in my trip was Hong Kong. Our suppliers brought us to the hotel from the airport. Check in was a breeze and the reception informed us one of their Rolls Royce cars will bring us at check out back to the airport. What a way to end a stay! My view was great of the room and nothing more to mention that this hotel even stands out more than what was a five star hotel in my book. I sampled all their restaurants and although pricey they absolutely match the quality on offering as well as the service. I had one waiter work at a restaurant for dinner and the next day while having lunch in the lobby he came up to me and asked me if all was to my likening. That's my felling of the property; staff being groomed to take care of customers to their best at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Style, class colonial heritage. Picked up by the rolls royce and driver. Corner room. Quite like having ypur own reception. Turn right to the lounge dining room left to your bedroom. Feels like home but 5 star. Amazing bathroom. Hong kong views at their absolute best.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Peninsula several times over the last 5 years. The experience starts at the airport when one is greeted at the flight gate and escorted through immigration to the Rolls Royce that will drive you to the hotel.

Rooms are large and well furnished and have now been refurbished and the become very high tech while retaining the old charms.

Will certainly stay here again. if you do then please experience the Peninsula Tea Time at lobby level.

Absolutely superior hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.