We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #7 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staying here was absolutely amazing! The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The beds are soft and so comfortable that you can literally sink right into the mattress and feel nicely tucked in. There is even a wide variety of TV and movie channels to choose from. If there is a hotel that describes luxury, this is it.

Compliments to the friendly and professional staff who made my family's stay here an enjoyable and memorable one, and special thanks to Paul (the butler assigned to us) who made our Peninsula experience truly wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
119
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My next stop in my trip was Hong Kong. Our suppliers brought us to the hotel from the airport. Check in was a breeze and the reception informed us one of their Rolls Royce cars will bring us at check out back to the airport. What a way to end a stay! My view was great of the room and nothing more to mention that this hotel even stands out more than what was a five star hotel in my book. I sampled all their restaurants and although pricey they absolutely match the quality on offering as well as the service. I had one waiter work at a restaurant for dinner and the next day while having lunch in the lobby he came up to me and asked me if all was to my likening. That's my felling of the property; staff being groomed to take care of customers to their best at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Style, class colonial heritage. Picked up by the rolls royce and driver. Corner room. Quite like having ypur own reception. Turn right to the lounge dining room left to your bedroom. Feels like home but 5 star. Amazing bathroom. Hong kong views at their absolute best.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the Peninsula several times over the last 5 years. The experience starts at the airport when one is greeted at the flight gate and escorted through immigration to the Rolls Royce that will drive you to the hotel.

Rooms are large and well furnished and have now been refurbished and the become very high tech while retaining the old charms.

Will certainly stay here again. if you do then please experience the Peninsula Tea Time at lobby level.

Absolutely superior hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning! Beautiful from inside and outside.
This property it is an outstanding and remarkable demonstration of what Hospitality stands for.
I was impressed by the commitment and passion the the entire team from HK to Executive Office in pleasing myself.
Well done in several aspects.
LQA & LRA completely full score!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukdahan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the reasons we traveled to Hong Kong this time was to visit the recently renovated Peninsula, and we was not disappointed.

We booked a deluxe suite, and when my mom and I checked in a little bit before noon the suite was not ready ( and for us it was no problem) but a duty manager quickly offered us a few drinks and when we came back around 1.00 pm the room was still unclean so they went far beyond my expectation by offering a superb complimentary lunch at their Japanese restaurant which my mom enjoyed a lot. What a service!!

However, we later found the service to be a bit inconsistent, varied from the very professional staff at front desk and the smiling faces at the restaurants to some inattentive bell boys. This is a minor spot but I'd like to mention to the management since guests tend to expect a lot from the Peninsula.

In terms of hardware, the hotel and the suite were nothing short of spectacular - more than 120 sqm of living space with huge dining table and beautiful living area overlooking the Victoria harbor. The suite is tastefully decorated in every detail with the Peninsula's glamor , and it is also very well functioned to offer guests over the top comfort and please almost every need. My mom loves the hidden mirror , the custom nail dryer , the super high tech swishes and their iPads that controlled almost everything wirelessly. I do love the free movies on demand , the hidden power sockets and the free international calls. Well, they have done a great renovation job ,and undoubtedly, this renovation will easily keep the Peninsula as one of the world's most renown hotel for a long time.

Thank you the Peninsula, hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Hong Kong during your recent visit. I wanted personally to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind words about our hotel service and the success of our renovation, in particular the state-of-the-art facilities in guest rooms.

We strive to maintain The Peninsula’s renowned standards of service, so your report of receiving inconsistent service among our staff is a concern to us. Please be assured that we have shared your comment with our management. We will devote more efforts into trainings to ensure the service provided by our staff are level. Please accept my sincere apology on the lapse of service.

Once again, we deeply appreciated your valuable comments, and it is always through guest’s comments where we could improve the service level of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when I would be happy to ensure that we meet and exceed your expectations.

Your sincerely,

Raoul Hoelzle
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children aged 7 and 5) stayed at The Peninsula for the first time in March for 6 nights. We have been to HK twice before (both times for work) and stayed at a neighbouring property, but always made a promise to ourselves that if we were to come back to Hong Kong, we wouldn't stay anywhere else but The Peninsula. And boy, was it the best decision we ever made!! From the Rolls-Royce waiting for us at the airport, to the spectacular entrance of the hotel, to the in-room check-in, to every mod-con you could possibly imagine and much much MORE, there simply are not enough superlatives available to describe the magnificence that is The Peninsula Hong Kong. We stayed in 2 rooms: a Deluxe Harbour View Suite which interconnected with a Grand Deluxe Harbour View room....plenty of room for the 4 of us to relax and unwind! The rooms themselves are a sight to behold. Such luxury and refinement you have to see to believe. We LOVED the touchscreen tablets located all throughout the rooms, which enabled us complete control over everything from our room service selections to our curtains, and even our TV volume. Oh, and the TV's in the bath were a huge hit with our kids!!!!! The newly-renovated rooms are so indulgent and glorious that you could just sit in your room for hours enjoying your own private oasis and the magnificent harbour view. The pool area was completely divine, with such enormous, opulent columns and surroundings not normally found in big city hotels. The staff were always attentive to our needs (at times, a little TOO much so, as we started to feel a little uncomfortable that we allowed our children in the pool, despite them being on their best behaviour with no splashing our shouting!). Concierge were spot-on with all their restaurant and activity suggestions, and organising a chauffeured vehicle to transport us around HK was done with ease. Unfortunately we were unable to get into Felix as it was booked out, however we went to Spring Moon twice with our kids and the Peking Duck is something we will NEVER forget! Nor will we forget the once-in-a-lifetime experience of High Tea in the Lobby watching the world go by, or the exquisite daily breakfasts we had at The Verandah. The way the staff welcome you by name every time they greet you is truly impressive and sets them apart from many of their competitors. An extra-special mention goes to Guest Relations Executive, Henry, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was perfect in every way. From checking us in on our 1st night, to calling us throughout our stay to make sure everything was going well, to arranging for us and our kids to go on a behind-the-scenes tour of the hotel's Chocolate Room (wow wow wow!!), to even being there to say goodbye as we checked out of the hotel. So many special touches are just a given here: the children's welcome pack with their own teddy bears/slippers/robe/activity pack, daily fresh fruit and flowers, and the list goes on. Even though there is no Kids Club as such, our children were definitely welcome and there were plenty of things for them to do. The Space Museum was a huge hit and is literally right across the road, not to mention the Museum of Art, Ocean Park, The Peak and Disneyland.....a childrens' paradise! Would I recommend this hotel? A huge resounding YES! Is it expensive? OF COURSE it is, it's one of the finest hotels in the whole world, but it's an indulgence that everyone should have at least once in their life if they have the opportunity. So, all-in-all, one of the most amazingly memorable family holidays we've ever had. The property...the people...the sights...the hospitality....it all combined to make The Peninsula Hong Kong a 5-star experience in every way!

Room Tip: ANY room with an obstructed view of the harbour is an absolute MUST if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.