We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel with top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #7 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Berne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top hotel with top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Peninsula Hong Kong for 5 nights in July 14. The hotel is glamerous and service is at top levels.

We had a fantastic room in the old building on the 5th floor with quite a good view of Victoria harbour. The room is classic chic with all you can imagine. It's high tech and you can find just everything - even chargers for every kind of mobile device. The only let down was the two doors to the two rooms netx to ours. The insulation was very bad and you could hear just every noise from the rooms beside.

Breakfast was of very good choice and very nicely presented (on 1st floor). The pool area is superbly maintained with again very attentive service. Also the bar on level 1 was very nice and worth a visit - almost more than Felix on the top floor where blinds obstruct the view and there's not really a good choice of seats to enjoy your drink.

We had a wonderful stay - really enjoyed the grand old dame of Hong Kong. Will definitely return on another visit to HK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
116
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wishaw scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our 4 th visit to this magnifcent hotel,
Front desk was very welcomimg and friendly.
Room was beautiful and every think was worked off a selection of ipad type machines.
Coffee machine also in room which wich was new to us . As it was myself and my husbands wedding anniversary we were delighted to recieve beautiful chocolate cake and champagne, totally surprised. Vanity mirror available at the press off a button .bathroom tv still there to the delight of my daughter. T V was great .
Felix bar view was amazing and cocktails good. Toilets very unusual but a great view.
Room service was amazing , we had it twice.
Breakfast was out of this world.
Staff very friendly and welcoming , always happy to please.
Pool staff amazing as was the ladies'in the changing room areas.
Spa = pure luxury .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong. Arriving at the airport I had pre-arranged to be picked up by one of the hotels 14 Peninsula green stretch Rolls Royces.. We were met at the Rolls upon arrival and were wisked to our suites. The rooms recently were renovated and are a techno marvel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The pool was amazing with great views of Victoria Harbor. I had a problem with one of the stores in the lobby and hotel management came to my rescue. Afternoon tea was great and a must do, staff will make a reservation for you, and the breakfast buffett was not only a great deal but had a huge assortment of foods both western and asian. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were in a king suite with vue on the baie and it was wonderfull!!!
Service excellent, Nice old colonial hôtel, tea time delicious, best swimming pool (romanian style ).
Marvelous bed and all services in the room, yummi room service and all staff ready for any request.
Just love it
I strongly recommend this hôtel with best location in HK, much better than being on the Island!!! Ferry very close wich is very charming way to cross to HK! Haven't been to restaurant there wich is a shame.
Spa also at the top of service with very Nice philosophie ( arrivent one hour before to start relaxing etc...)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't review staying at the Hotel as we were staying at the Mandarin.The Hotel is very impressive, I have visited it before christmas and had the pleasure of seeing their amazing decorations. This time we went for their traditional afternoon tea - Hotel guests can book but not non residents - fair enough! we arrived at 2.45pm and it was packed, 5 groups in front of us but we were seated by 3.15pm. by 4.15pm the lines had stopped - so, go later if you don't want to wait to be seated. The 4 piece band playing on the mezzaine was delightful. Check out the wonderful shops on the lower level. The afternoon tea consisted of 2 scones, 3 finger sandwiches, 2 savoury pastries, 1 fruit bread slice, 4 delicate petite cakes plus jam and cream. We decided to add a few extra sandwiches but left some cakes untouched. You can order much less for a reasonable amount. My jasmine tea was really weak and almost cold - that's the only negative I can say about the experience - a must do in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Assistant Food and Beverage Manager at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Hong Kong to Australia! It is with great pleasure to read your complimentary comments about our hotel’s festive decoration. Your positive notes with regards to our Lobby’s live music entertainment have likewise been well received and are much appreciated. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the disappointing flavor and serving temperature of your jasmine tea and please rest reassured that the issue has been addressed with the team in order to avoid similar happenings in the future.

Again I would like to thank you for your valuable time taken to share your recent experience with us and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Marco Schuchter
Assistant Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While I did expect a good product from The Peninsula, this grand dame and her beautiful staff simply blew me away, climbing straight to the top of my rankings.
You see, it is very rare for a landmark property the size of The Peninsula to be able to to provide the levels of service usually associated with the finest boutique hotels. In this age of massive corporate hotels, true luxury is seldom seen from the service staff, for while a hotel may be grand, I have found that it is only in intimate properties where one gets to know the staff on a warmer level. This is simply not the case at The Peninsula, where by the second night many of the staff knew me by name, my preferences, and the concierge staff were absolute diamonds. They helped in many a situation, sending their men out to get things done for me at no charge at all, and arranging Rolls-Royce transfers to and from the airport at our request.
Overall, there are few hotels in the world able to deliver the product that The Peninsula does, and in light of that, even at the relatively high rates, this property is a compelling value. If you can afford it, stay nowhere else in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed on their anniversary package which apart from being amazing value was a really special experience.
We were in a harbour view suite in the old hotel wing. It has been expertly renovated and is everything a luxury hotel should be. Small touches make the difference and the peninsula delivers.

One gripe...you can't wear flip flops to breakfast (if you are MALE). Not a major problem I guess but it would be good to be told in advance rather than be turned away at the restaurant!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.