We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tech and history combined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 581 hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“High tech and history combined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding in April 2014. Having stayed previously at the Four Seasons in Hong Kong, the Peninsula offered comparably fewer facilities, most notably the spa/pool. Our deluxe room was lovely and we appreciated the early check-in and fruit platter. It was wonderfully convenient to stumble upstairs after the wedding, but we could have had a better value experience next door at either the YMCA or the Sheraton. That said, service was almost too polite - the cleaner switched off the vacuum as we passed in the corridor, lest our delicate ears be disturbed :p

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
89
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I love the Peninsula and have been staying here for years. Renovations have been carefully executed, the hotel and it's rooms are gorgeous, and there is much to love. But the training of the staff has suffered a bit, everyone seems a bit confused, I had to ask for many things twice, and while everyone was pleasant and wanted to be helpful, the exceptional service I've always associated with the hotel wasn't delivered. The Japanese restaurant was especially disappointing, both the service and the food. The hotel is still great, but definitely not operating on all thrusters.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived Feb. 27th for a 7 night stay at this outstanding hotel. Our suite was large, well appointed with a large bathroom and housekeeping maintained it beautifully. The staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was special. Each morning the buffet breakfast was large and the variety was plentiful. We are still talking about the best Peking duck we ever had in the Spring Moon dining room. For a wonderful view of the harbor, Felix was outstanding for dinner and the view.
But it was the concierge service that will always be remembered as the best we ever experienced, and specifically, do to Brian at the Concierge Desk that we had great private tours, he sent us to the best local Asian restaurants and made sure that our first stay in Hong Kong would be a memorable one. Brain made our stay special. He is a true professional and an asset to the Peninsula brand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Only one night here, wish we could have had longer.Perfect stay from start to finish.The large newly decorated room had every comfort, with lights, curtains, etc controlled from several tablets around the room. Lovely bathroom with excellent amenities. The room was on a high floor so wonderful views of the harbour and the light show.Afternoon tea and breakfast were both delightful, beautifully presented.
A memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a four night stay here in April 2014 (room 2212). The room itself was superb, my opinion not merely a function of the fine view over the harbour. All the little things that are so often a small irritation in hotel rooms had been thought of. There were plenty of electricity sockets, and no need to crawl around on the floor either as both the room desk and the bedside tables had sockets and even phone chargers. There was a Nespresso coffee machine, a hairdryer and even a nail dryer for those with such a need.

The shower was excellent, with strong water pressure, a well-placed shelf and even a seat. Oscar de la Renta shampoos were provided. All the functions of the room, such as the curtains and the "do not disturb", were controlled from a pad by the bed. Even the drawers were labelled so it was easy to find the laundry bag etc. There was a chaise longue with a convenient shelf, ideal for reading. The bed was comfortable and had excellent flexible, directed bedside lights, much better than the often inadequate fixed lamps that so many hotels provide. A little cabinet is provided by the door for getting shoes shined and returned without needing staff to disturb the guests.

The staff were excellent in the hotel, helpful and plentiful. The gym was good and there was an attractive swimming pool and sun deck. Breakfast was a buffet though you could have omelettes etc made to order. All in all this was a really well thought out experience, the room exceptionally well designed and the staff carefully trained. I travel a lot and it is rare to encounter a hotel experience this flawless. I have stayed here in the past and will happily do so in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was class at its best from the suite to the spa to the pool to high tea to restaurant Felix at the top. Can't wait to go back for a few days during my next trip. We didn't leave the hotel the entire 24 hour stay and it was as romantic as cab be for celebrating my 40th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being whisked through the airport we arrived in style in a Rolls Royce. The room was well-appointed with a great view of the Hong Kong skyline. Breafast is a sumptuous affair, the Felix bar a must visit. The hotel is very central with easy access to ferrys and trains. Service was friendly and efficient. The Peninsula met every expectation!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the Hong kong skyline. Higher is better because of the museum of art di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.