We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tailor-made Privileges
Ranked #6 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel..I went to the peninsula for afternoon tea. It was extremely busy and we had not booked the lounge. Staff then suggested the verandah which was busy too. They refused to say what the wait may be. They then suggested we try the felix on the 28th floor which is apparently accessed by a different elevator. We had a 2 year old in a buggy and my 67 year old mother and we spent 20 minutes going back and forth to find the elevator we needed.
The felix has mind blowing views but again the service was very poor. Apparently, they can't do cheese sandwiches for vegetarians! Had to ask thrice for a refill of my cup of tea...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Psachdev,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us via Tripadvisor. I very much regret to learn that your afternoon tea experience at The Peninsula fell short of your expectations.

We strive to continuously improve the quality of our customer service and will certainly review your valuable comments with our team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you highlighted in your review.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future when I would be happy to personally ensure that we meet and exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Tsang
Director of Food and Beverage
Email: kevintsang@peninsula.com
Tel: +852 2696 6690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    65
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
105
223
33
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Choosing a big established 5 star city hotel can seem like a safe choice, but so often they're trading on past glories. Too long since the last refurb, dated with the food offering, robotically institutionalised staff, the whiff of naffness seeping from every pore.

Not so at the Peninsula. I'd read about the Peninsula and its fleet of Rolls Royces since I was a kid. I didn't have any recent personal recommendations so I checked out Tripadvisor and it was still highly rated so I took the chance.

I loved that everything worked seamlessly. We were met at the door of the plane by a hotel representative and a buggy, not sure if that's standard. At first I felt this was unecessary (we are not invalids) but by the time we had driven what seemed like a mile through Hong Kong airport I really appreciated it. We were accompanied through customs and baggage reclaim and handed over to another representative who took us to our waiting green Rolls Royce.

Our arrival 30 minutes later at the hotel was followed by further handovers until we were comfortably in our room on the 27th floor overlooking the harbour. The extra cost for a harbour view is so worth it. The room very cleverly uses its approx 550 sq ft to give a separate dressing area, sleeping, sitting and writing areas, a small dining table and luxurious marble bathroom. The room looked newly fitted and appointed with the extreme precision of a luxury yacht. Modern lacquered wood furniture and fabric wall coverings all very high spec. Everything was controlled by electronic pads scattered around, even above the bath. They all worked and were straightforward to use.

Tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi and even free telephone calls if you press the Internet calls button on the phone. We didn't get to try any of the restaurants except for breakfast on the first floor which was exceptionally well laid on with a wide range of choices. Most city hotels in this league have an indoor pool but they're generally quite gloomy. Here they've given a double height space on the 7/8th floor with open glass the whole length of one side onto terraces overlooking the harbour. Clean classical design with white marble columns make this a very pleasant space to spend time in. The hotel is also well placed for dining at several good restaurants in One Peking Tower, shopping on Canton Road, and taking the Star Ferry across to Hong Kong Island. Extremely courteous staff ensured a very happy 3 nights here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It has been updated recently and the rooms were extremely nice and large. We had a room overlooking the harbor and the view was beautiful. Service was good. The amenities were very good. International tv, wifi, good food. Free long distance, to anywhere, was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Only if you cannot afford, simply the best hotel in Hong Kong . No other hotel can compare. Wifi , shower, bed , pillow , air condition , tv, service , from roof to floor , nothing but the best. Easy to get around , close to MTR. All the best restaurant inside the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If your travels have you heading to Hong Kong for a stay why not stay at one of the best hotels in Hong Kong? I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and this is one hotel that I look forward to staying at. First of all they have THE best service....no questions about it. The doormen are dressed in white to welcome you to the lobby and the service doesn't stop!! Be sure to get a room that looks over the harbor and you will just be mesmerized by the view. Regarding the rooms...all I can say is a great night's sleep and NO WORRIES. You can safely walk from the hotel to any type of entertainment or food that can be found anywhere in Hong Kong. It is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct for beat rate and room location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It is one of the premier luxury hotel brand in the world and this property lived up to its advertisement. The renovated rooms are gorgeous and the service top notch. Free internet phone is a big plus for those who needs to make international phone calls and the free movies make those nights where you just want to stay in pleasurable. Everything is not perfect however, but nothing that really made us not want to stay in this hotel again. The coffee machine in our rooms were broken and despite daily checks by the maid no one caught the big red light that indicated it was malfunctioning. We do not drink coffee so it was not a big deal for us. We had complimentary late check out from our package but the tv stopped working after 11... in both of our rooms. So its either coincidental or bad policy. Not that we needed to catch one last movie before our flight so once again, not a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Maishanghai

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our services and newly renovated rooms met your expectations.

However, it was with great concern that I got to know of the unnecessary occurrences during your recent visit. I would like to apologise for the malfunction of the in-room coffee machine and the television not working until your departure. Please rest assured that these issues have been addressed and fixed.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Peninsula, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Resident Manager
Phone: +852 2696 6565
Email: xavierpougnard@peninsula.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were back after two years and had the pleasure of staying in their recently renovated rooms. There is something about the Peninsula Hong Kong that makes it very special, from the moment the impeccable white-dressed doorman welcomes you in the lobby. Service is really the best we have ever experienced (even by normally high Asian standards). The new rooms are fabulous with a very modern decor (and amazing technology) keeping an elegant hint of Asia. And swimming on the 8th floor overlooking HK island is priceless... Still our favourite urban hotel in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.