We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of its kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ultimate Luxury Privilege
Ranked #7 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 425 Reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of its kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were wowed from the time we stepped into the hotel until the day we left. A heritage hotel in hongkong. Top service. Rooms are well maintained and everyone tried to please us in all the ways possible. Thank you Peninsula Team.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    51
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
173
25
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wow !! It really is the best of the best,very opulent in every way .The rooms have all been refurbished and even if a little small they are equipped with the latest amenities, from the flat screen, to block out and electronic blinds, to coffee makers , all the phone adapters ever, etc.. Make sure you do request a room with the arbor view (,it is the view over Hong Kong) .The service is impeccable ,the concierge? a magician (they will get anything done for you).High tea its a MUST,even if you don't book and there are people waiting, just ask and the staff will accommodate you.Must have breakfast on the first floor,the FOOD ? YUM!! But to all the cold people out there, it is extremely cold due to subzero air conditioners so do tell the staff but still bring a COAT!! An other must is Felix( the Michelin) restaurant, THE FOOD is AMAZING( and i am very fussy) and don't forget the laser show at 8 pm over the city ,so do request a table over looking the city.I do recommend the Rolls Roy pick up from the airport ,worth every penny. Highly recommend the helicopter ride over the city , the only way you get to understand Hong Kong.
.

Room Tip: Do ask for harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

100 Years & this hotel still stands for elegance & grandure
visited the Hotel for drinks @ Felix's Fabolous views of the city but couldnt understand why the designer had the floor to ceiling double floor windows clad with venetian blinds!!! stuck out like a sore thumb!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's hard to live up to high expectations but the Peninsula was just awesome. My wife & I stayed 3 nights in mid-July 2013 with our 12-year old daughter. We splurged for the airport transfer by Rolls Royce and the hotel staff met us as we got off the plane at the gate - before customs & immigration - and he even picked up our bags from the carousel. The room was high tech to say the least. Touchscreen controllers for everything (lights, curtains, thermostat, TV, etc.) I was pleased that the room included plenty of outlets to charge our computers, iPhones, etc. without the need of any adapters for our North American style plugs and had at least one USB charger too. (it's mostly 220, but modern cameras & phones allow for the higher voltage if you can plug them in).

We used the pool to unwind for an hour and it's large - great for laps - and has a nice view. The jacuzzi wasn't heated.

We ate at the breakfast buffet at The Verandah three times and it excellent. Service, presentation, everything was top notch. We ate at the Spring Moon once and it was good food, but service seemed slow and dishes were pricey. Also had high tea in "The Lobby" which is billed as "Afternoon Tea in total grandeur" - exactly as advertised.

I know for my family, this hotel has become the hotel that all future hotel stays will be compared to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A truly amazing experience. We arrived for our two day stay at the Peninsula only to be informed that the hotel had taken the liberty of upgrading our room to a Harbor View room in the new tower and what an upgrade. Truly the view in the room must be if not the best then close to one of the most stunning views of the harbor. Who needs the postcards when you can take a photo out the window and get a picture just as fine? Superb!

Our baggage newer made it to our flight from London. This was reported at the airport and also informed to the staff at Peninsula. The staff truly made a lot of effort to get our baggage out before we left two days later calling for information at the baggage reclaim numerous times a day. In the end our luggage arrived before our departure to Australia. Superb!

Truly, if ever you have the opportunity to live at this great hotel do it. You will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here as a last night stop-over treat on the way home from Australia - and it couldn't have been nicer! We stayed in a recently refurbished deluxe room - no view, but no less splendid for that. The room was delightful - full of gadgets and gizmos including tablet controlled TV, blinds, lights etc. There is a TV in the bathroom and a very luxurious marble bathroom it is too! The bed was large with fabulous linens and the towels were big and fluffy. The staff were great - we were collected straight off the plane and ferried in a golf buggy through the very large and busy Hong Kong airport straight to our waiting car. On arrival we were shown to theroom and then a pot of welcome jasmine tea was served. In the morning papers are delivered through an internal post cupboard system so that they are not left outside your room! We ate in Felix restaurant which was OK, but a bit faddy (the menu is presented on iPads, but then the waiter writes down the order!) - but breakfast in the lobby was lovely. I'm only sad that we had just 1 night here, but next time I'm in Hong Kong this will be the place for me!

Room Tip: If you've seen the Hong Kong view before then don't bother with paying more for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

There is something about grand ol hotels and their over the top elegance that only the super riche and moneyed elite can conjour up. Such is the effect of arriving at a place such as the Peninsula. While there are many grander super uber huge mega towers for the traveling elite, these older babes show us all how it all began.

When in HK do as the Brits do if you can!
I took my 6 yr old daughter and my father here for the P's classic afternoon high tea. Yes its a small fortune but still an affordable one and quite a fun ride.
The 3 tiered tray of delicious goodies, the dishes, cutlery, meticulous waiters, the rich gazing, the wannabee gazing, against the wonderfull historic backdrop of this elegant ol dame. I cant think of a better way to step out of HKs bustle. Suspend time, honor of the Queen for a few wonderful afternoon hours and then, when our ready, unclick that clock and head back out to get clobbered again by HKs never ceasing energy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.