We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Mobile Offer
Ranked #6 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stellar Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stellar hotel and service.
Expensive but you get what you pay.
Hotel staff from drivers, reception, housekeeping, restaurant and concierge were polite, courteous and helpful,
Great location. Close to transport and shops.
Indulge in breakfast or afternoon tea in lobby. Great ambience.
Put it on the bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    70
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
122
252
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. The hotel, fresh from its $450 million HKD refurbishment, is well appointed throughout, and although a few things could be improved is a great option should you be looking for a touch of old world, well appointed modern rooms, and good service. More details should you wish...

Arrival
I'd highly recommend the hotel Rolls Royce airport transfers ($1600 one way, or $2900 return). Escorted from the gate in a buggy, you are soon through immigration and customs. Upon arrival at the hotel, check-in is in-room - and was efficient and informative.

The Suite
The Grand Deluxe Harbour View Suite was very spacious (130 sq metres) and exceptionally well appointed, with views on three sides of the tower. See photos. No small touch has been overlooked - universal device chargers, noise cancelling head phones, iPhone connectors, Nespresso machine, free VoIP calls and in-room movies, and printer to name a few. Decor is contemporary, and the integrated tablet control system allows you to control most electronic devices in the room from one device.

The Bars
'Salon Ning' bar & club definitely was the highlight of the venues - with good service and a great 1930's Shanghai theme. 'The Bar' had disappointingly unattentive service, with a large albeit predictably main stream whisky selection and classic decor. 'Felix' on the top level of the tower has a great view, however service and drink selection again was disappointing.

The Food
Breakfast in the Lobby was a la carte, and although good it wasn't great. Room service was well presented and tasty.

The Spa
Recommended - a good selection of treatments, very relaxing and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment I arrived in hong kong I had per arranged to be picked up at the airport by the hotel was as I hoped there was my driver dressed perfect waiting by the green rolls Royce he was charming and very present and when I arrived at the hotel thay were ready for me up graded to a suite very nice like I expected a person on every floor 24 hours a day to make sure you have every thing you need and that your stay is the best you can have the food beyond good and afternoon tea in lobby wonderful your going to have the time of you life at this hotel it truly is a grand hotel and yes it cost but you know that already oh I must mention I took the helicopter back to airport from hotel roof heliport I couldn't resist that was the high light of my trip and that was affordable ?

Room Tip: The suits are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

"The Peninsula Hotels strive to provide high quality service"
This is what one would expect from this address.
Unfortunately we experienced a lobby café --- freezing cold and were served by the most unfriendly staff!
5 o'clock tea: After the order of tea the finger food arrived shortly after, but for the tea we've had to wait more than 20 minutes. Not even finished we were asked if we're ready for the check.
Soon after, while I was still eating, one of the waiters took away my plate. Obvoiusly
they wanted us out!
Although we had extended check out till 6pm, the cleaning lady pushed us every 5 minutes to get out of the room as she wanted to clean it up! IT WAS NOT 6pm yet!
The Peninsula I knew from previous years became a simple tourist hotel!
For sure I can't recommend it to any of my friends and partners!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed her in November 2012 - abolsulely amazing hotel. Brilliant location from the some of the main shops and even there markets.

they have recenetly refurbished there rooms and - WOW they look brilliant. Loved my stay there and the staff where always so helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a harbour view room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location of this hotel is superb.right next to the avenue of stars and bay.beautiful view of hongkong.. next to museum of art. Great service. High tea in the lobby for view and relaxation. Can take the ferry over to hongkong very cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wandered in on a hot day to sample the gargantuan, old world charm and imbibe a little blatant colonialism.
Very pleasant greeting before we sat down for cocktails or the famous afternoon tea - to be told politely that the dress code forbade open-toed shows. My be-sandalled feet walked disappointingly back to the beautiful entrance. No complaints: it was my fault for being a scruff!

Room Tip: Smart casual to even walk in: NOT scruffy tourist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,462 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.