We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new hotel of choice in Hong Kong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Peninsula Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ultimate Luxury Privilege
Ranked #7 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“My new hotel of choice in Hong Kong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. The hotel, fresh from its $450 million HKD refurbishment, is well appointed throughout, and although a few things could be improved is a great option should you be looking for a touch of old world, well appointed modern rooms, and good service. More details should you wish...

Arrival
I'd highly recommend the hotel Rolls Royce airport transfers ($1600 one way, or $2900 return). Escorted from the gate in a buggy, you are soon through immigration and customs. Upon arrival at the hotel, check-in is in-room - and was efficient and informative.

The Suite
The Grand Deluxe Harbour View Suite was very spacious (130 sq metres) and exceptionally well appointed, with views on three sides of the tower. See photos. No small touch has been overlooked - universal device chargers, noise cancelling head phones, iPhone connectors, Nespresso machine, free VoIP calls and in-room movies, and printer to name a few. Decor is contemporary, and the integrated tablet control system allows you to control most electronic devices in the room from one device.

The Bars
'Salon Ning' bar & club definitely was the highlight of the venues - with good service and a great 1930's Shanghai theme. 'The Bar' had disappointingly unattentive service, with a large albeit predictably main stream whisky selection and classic decor. 'Felix' on the top level of the tower has a great view, however service and drink selection again was disappointing.

The Food
Breakfast in the Lobby was a la carte, and although good it wasn't great. Room service was well presented and tasty.

The Spa
Recommended - a good selection of treatments, very relaxing and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    50
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
80
172
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hana, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment I arrived in hong kong I had per arranged to be picked up at the airport by the hotel was as I hoped there was my driver dressed perfect waiting by the green rolls Royce he was charming and very present and when I arrived at the hotel thay were ready for me up graded to a suite very nice like I expected a person on every floor 24 hours a day to make sure you have every thing you need and that your stay is the best you can have the food beyond good and afternoon tea in lobby wonderful your going to have the time of you life at this hotel it truly is a grand hotel and yes it cost but you know that already oh I must mention I took the helicopter back to airport from hotel roof heliport I couldn't resist that was the high light of my trip and that was affordable ?

Room Tip: The suits are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

"The Peninsula Hotels strive to provide high quality service"
This is what one would expect from this address.
Unfortunately we experienced a lobby café --- freezing cold and were served by the most unfriendly staff!
5 o'clock tea: After the order of tea the finger food arrived shortly after, but for the tea we've had to wait more than 20 minutes. Not even finished we were asked if we're ready for the check.
Soon after, while I was still eating, one of the waiters took away my plate. Obvoiusly
they wanted us out!
Although we had extended check out till 6pm, the cleaning lady pushed us every 5 minutes to get out of the room as she wanted to clean it up! IT WAS NOT 6pm yet!
The Peninsula I knew from previous years became a simple tourist hotel!
For sure I can't recommend it to any of my friends and partners!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed her in November 2012 - abolsulely amazing hotel. Brilliant location from the some of the main shops and even there markets.

they have recenetly refurbished there rooms and - WOW they look brilliant. Loved my stay there and the staff where always so helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a harbour view room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location of this hotel is superb.right next to the avenue of stars and bay.beautiful view of hongkong.. next to museum of art. Great service. High tea in the lobby for view and relaxation. Can take the ferry over to hongkong very cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wandered in on a hot day to sample the gargantuan, old world charm and imbibe a little blatant colonialism.
Very pleasant greeting before we sat down for cocktails or the famous afternoon tea - to be told politely that the dress code forbade open-toed shows. My be-sandalled feet walked disappointingly back to the beautiful entrance. No complaints: it was my fault for being a scruff!

Room Tip: Smart casual to even walk in: NOT scruffy tourist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've been to HK half a dozen times before but only last year decided that I would splurge for the experience of staying here. I used to walk past it and tell myself I'll stay here the next time I visit. It was well worth the wait. Everything was superlative, from the rooms to the service to the high tea to the location.
We also opted to be picked up at the airport by their Rolls Royce! Included was the special guide who waited for us as soon as we got off the plane, not after claiming our luggage but right at the door of the airport when we landed. They scooted us off on a cart and whizzed past everyone else through the insider's shortcut to the luggage pickup and customs area. We got there ahead of the other passengers and we were out of HKG airport less than 20 minutes after landing. Now that was definitely an experience.
Now that we're planning another trip early next year, I want to repeat this experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.