We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and great for a family outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Excelsior, Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Centrally located and great for a family outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at Excelsior for almost 5 days in last week and the experience was very good. The thing that stands out about the Hotel is the location. It is centrally located just next to the MTR station and is a paradise for shoppers as you have a multitude of malls next to it. WTC, SOGO, Times Square are all close by - walking distance. There is an IKEA store next door incase any one is interested in that kind of shopping. The other good thing about the place is that it has enough eating joints around and in wide variety. In the five days, I could locate an Indian, vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican, Thai, American dining place and the list can go on . It is endless. Finding a reasonable pub around to have a drink can be a challenge especially if you are looking at a cost effective option, but even that is just 10 min away by walk.

The food at the hotel is very good. For those who are sea food lovers, it offers a wide variety of the same. For the vegetarians and the chickenetarians like me, its is great place as it offers Indian as well as good continental food. Breakfast is very good on the first floor. And the Dickens bar too is great place to be. The roof top bar is an nice quiet place with breathtaking view.

Rooms are excellent. Well lit. Well furnished. Room service was apt and timely.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Take the Harbour facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    703
    249
    43
    17
See reviews for
223
318
125
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are coming to Hong Kong to shop and want to stay on the island, this is the place to be. It is about 5 steps from the World Trade Centre, 2 minutes from SOGO and the MTR, so it is very easy to get around. The staff at reception were incredibly friendly and helpful, concierge were helpful albeit slightly rude, but that's to be expected in HK. I would stay again based on the location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The service is good, starting with the guy at the front desk. He gave me a surprise upgrade to a harbour view room (although the view is nothing great, but the floor area of the room is larger). My room rate came with buffet breakfast. Upon hearing that I will not be able to eat the buffet breakfast on my last morning as I have to leave the hotel by 6am to catch my early morning flight, he changed the buffet breakfast to room service for me which I could order before and eat in the room or takeaway.
The room was pleasant and had two single beds and a sofa with lots of space on the desk for me to put my laptop to work. They even had a souvenir tin in the shape of the hotel of gummy candies for me to take away. Complimentary drinking water was plentiful (OMG 6 bottles!!)
The buffet breakfast was good and had a wide spread. The room service breakfast was also good although the eggs benedict was a tad salty.
This is my second time staying at this hotel for business and I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultanpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Excelsior, Hong Kong is a very decent property. Starting with it's location, It is located in Causeway Bay. You simply come out of your hotel and you are facing World-Trade centre, a mini-mall which is adjacent to this property. You walk hardly 50 - 100 meters and you find yourself in the midst of one of the best street markets and a lots of food joints. The MTR - Mass Transit Railway (Metro of Hong Kong) is just behind the Hotel. Broadway - One of the electronic outlet chain is just behind the Hotel. Fortress - another electronic retail store is also within 200 - 300 meters of Hotel. Take the Exit -1 of Causeway Bay MTR and you will find yourself standing in Matheson Street (A happening place in evening) in front of Times Square, one of the fanciest and elite Mega-Mall of Hong Kong.

Now getting back to the hotel, The rooms are a bit smaller than compared to other countries but then Hong Kong has a limit of expansion, that's why these guys expand vertically, hence it's the city with maximum no. of sky-scrapers. The rooms are comfortable and contains all the essentials plus an iHome dock to complement your iPods and it is an Alarm clock too, an exclusive amenity which I didn't find anywhere else, may be in my forthcoming journeys, I might find it common. The room doesn't offers free Wi-Fi, a set-back, though a minor one. The internet is available for charges in the form of ethernet connection. The closets are ample with electronic safe. The furnitures offer a lot of drawers. Restroom contains all the usual stuff. The lavatory only offers dry usage as there is no Health-Faucet installed, so Indians and other hygiene conscious citizens of their respective country please take note of that.
The breakfast is continental, LAVISH and tasty too. Fruits are organic and fresh. Local cuisines are a temptation, just don't miss them.
Front desk & Concierge are courteous, polite and helping, up to the extent of catering chargeable articles free of cost ( in my particular case, medicines and AA-size batteries for my kids toys).
Overall, I am satisfied and may repeat my stay.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms above 20th floor. The view will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've always stayed at The Excelsior in Hong Kong, and after this trip, always will. My luggage didn't turn up at HKG, so when the check-in clerk found out, he arranged for housekeeping to send up a bag of essentials - socks, t-shirt, shorts, etc - and then took care of all the chasing up of the bag. I was very impressed. The bag arrived 2 days later. We had a full harbour view Executive Room on floor 29 - 2907. The rooms are a little dated now, (almost exactly the same as they were in 2003 when I was last here), but perfectly fine, well looked after and with decent amenities. The Executive floor was a nice retreat too, with beers, wines and canapés on offer. I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If choosing a Harbour View room ask for XX04, 05 or 06. the XX07 rooms are neaerer the edge of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for five nights in late June / early July 2014 following a visit in 2012. While some of the rooms / amenities could benefit from some renovation, the overall disposition is very good.

The check-in is very efficient and all staff helpful - especially the waiting staff at breakfast [which is superb].

One key reason for returning is the excellent location for access to the mass transportation systems, restaurants, shopping and Victoria Park.

On the downside, the non provision of free access for wifi - even in lobby area - and limited seating capacity in the lobby area are matters which could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

In order to get to know Hong Kong properly I chose for the first part of my trip a hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui, which I really liked, and for the second part The Excelsior in Causeway Bay.
My main complaint about this hotel is how deceiving the website is about the size of the Superior Side Harbour View room. When after a long flight I walked into this room I felt terribly disappointed and couldn’t believe my eyes. I was too shocked to take a picture, but I am looking at the website right now and I must say that the person who took the photo was certainly an artist because it made it look good. According to the website the room measures 30 square feet, it sounds like a joke but the space in the wardrobe and the bathtub is of course included because there is no way the bedroom measures that. To make matters worse the door to the bathroom is a sliding door which doesn’t close properly and therefore offers no privacy at all. Unless you and your travel companion are pigmies (and I mean it) travelling with one tiny suitcase which you don’t intend to open with both of you in the room, I strongly recommend to choose a bigger room on a high floor, despite the price, or another hotel.
I ended up paying for an upgrade and I found myself in a bigger but still dated room which included access to the executive lounge. The worst and most unwelcoming executive lounge I have ever seen.
Something else that I found disappointing is the fact that even if the hotel is the only place in Hong Kong where you can buy the famous Lord Stow’s Egg Tarts, those cakes were not included in the expensive breakfast buffet. Every morning the same food was available with no or very little variation and there was no decaffeinated tea, I had to bring my own tea bag. I also expected a tastefully decorated breakfast restaurant, like the one in the hotel I had stayed before in Tsim Sha Tsui, but the most beautiful thing in the restaurant was the plastic tablecloth which showed old photographs of Hong Kong. The ceiling was like the one in a factory.
On the positive side, the location of the hotel is good, it is really close to the MTR .It is also worth tasting Lord Stow’s Egg Tarts which are for sale in the coffee shop on the ground floor, they are warm and delicious .

Room Tip: Don't choose the Superior Side Harbour View room, it is too small.Even on a very high floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.