We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Excelsior, Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Excelsior on a number of occasions and always go back as I can't justify spending twice the price or more to stay at one of the more well known five star places in central or above Pacific Place. Great service and great location for a multitude of restaurants. I love this part of town as it feels more like Hong Kong rather than somewhere like Pacific Place which could be any shopping mall in any part of the world. Yes the rooms are looking a bit tired and old fashioned and it could really do with a refurb but for me the quality versus price was a perfect match.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    634
    221
    40
    15
See reviews for
183
285
116
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very close proximity to good shopping districts within Hongkong island. Such as Times Square, World Trade Center and Sogo. Business travel to Central, Wanchai, Causeway Bay and Taikoo are all within 5 or less train stations away. Also good for couple to getaway for a quick shopping trip on the Hongkong island beside those good shopping areas in Kowloon district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. Located walking distance to causeway bay mtr and close to restaurants and shopping center like sogo. Breakfast was included in the package with free wifi which is a plus. I requested a king bed but was told that it was not available during checking and have to settle for a double which is too small for my liking. The hotel also provide free shuttle to hong kong mtr station which is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on route to new Zealand . We were in an executive superior suite it was fantastic and included free express check in/out, breakfast,afternoon tea,refreshments all day,excess to executive lounge on top floor. Our view over the harbour from our high flour was spectetular. We really enjoyed our stay here as we were treated like celebitories. I would recommend staying on the executive floor,it's not really all that expensive considering all the extra perks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recommended by friends of my son who lives in Hong Kong, the hotel is pure class from the moment you walk through the door, through the check in process, the restaurants ( which I will review separately) and on up to the rooms with their beautiful views, amazing bed linen and super appointments. And oh, to find a mini bar that you don't have to mortgage your house for, an iron and board (essential after a long trip with clothing squashed into a suitcase) and once again, free wifi and internet (some hotels just don't get it that its 2013) although to be fair they offered that for up to 4 connections but only gave it for my iPad. The in-house band was world class, breakfast restaurant brilliant with more choices than you'd ever need, and best of all, you felt really secure.
My best tick though goes to the concierge station. It was a mine of useful information and the concierge team makes or breaks a hotel. This one is outstanding. Only one or two niggles, no room service menu, and an over the tiny bath shower, but thats being a bit nit picky when the rest of it is so good. How good? Ive booked back in for three days when i get back from Macau. That should tell you!

Room Tip: Ask and pay a bit extra for the harbour view, its outstanding, you wont want to leave the room, ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked into this hotel on the way to Australia. We were upgraded to a harbour view at no extra charge. The views were stunning.We had an adjoining room with our children and they were lovely.
Booked in for breakfast and the man making fresh juice of your choice should not be missed...a very pleasurable stay. They are building in front of this hotel however so the views may not always be there which is a real shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location with fabulous views of the harbour. Friendly staff, very clean, great room and bathroom, very clean. good facilities. Only had breakfast but was brilliant.
Concierge was a real help as this was my first trip to HK and he directed me to some fantastic restaurants that the locals use- good value and awesome food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.