We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 star luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Retreat Offer
Ranked #5 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,500 Reviews
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“6 star luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

This is the first time I stayed in Mandarin Oriental after its renovation and I was pleasantly surprised with the extensive luxury of the room, decor, amenities and most importantly the 'little' personal touches. For example, I was travelling with a fiction novel, and when I got back to the room, I found that the turn-down service has inserted a bookmark in my book, Wow !!!!.,

  • Liked — the friendly and professional service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    201
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
412
137
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Someone said this about the USP for a hotel - there are 3 most important criteria for a hotel and they are 1) Location, 2) Location and 3) Location!! Thats true about Mandarun Oriental Hotel in Hong Kong. Its right in the middle of the CBD - with access to the Central MTR station or the Hong Kong MTR station (where one can check in for the airport) in walking distance along with the Central Pier for the ferry being a stone's throw away. Not to mention the walking distance access to the famous Lan Kwa Fong (the most happening evening night spot).
To top it all - the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. But the icing on the cake is the Salvatore Ferragamo complimentary toiletries!! The bar is fabulous - with (surprise! surprise!) - a live band from west indies. The bar serves some great "Gunner" (ginger beer with ale and bitters).
Its one of the best business stays I have had in any city.

  • Liked — Convenient location and fabulous bar for post office business discussions
  • Disliked — The entrance and the reception area can be deceptively unattractive for such a great hotel.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

=== Stay : 3 nights at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong in May 2009

=== Location : the hotel is next Central station, exit F, in CBD area. The tram is less than 3 min walk from the hotel, 5 min walk from Airport Express Hong Kong terminal, 10 min walk from Central pier, 10 min walk from the nightlife area of LKF.

=== Room : Harbor room #1023 on 10th floor with partial view of the harbor. The room is comfortable, nice with bright modern decoration. The window runs from the ground to the ceiling. The view is partially obstructed by buildings between the M.O. and the harbor. During daytime the view is not astonishing but when comes the night it becomes fanstistic with the lights in Kowloon on the other side of the harbor. The king size bed is huge and comfortable. The desk is next the large window providing view on the harbor and Connaught road.

=== Bathroom : bathroom is large and superb with black marble and tiles. There is a cabin shower and a bathtub separated by a sink.

=== Amenities : internet is charged 160 HK$ for 24h. The in-room safe is large enought to fit a laptop. Electric plugs on the desk can fit plugs from most of countries. Large flat TV. In-door swimming pool a bit small. Sauna is well equipped.

=== Service : great helpful staff. High level of service one can expect from a Mandarin Oriental.

=== Conclusion : fantastic hotel for splurging.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Where to start, where to start....Airport I guess...ordered the Meet and Greet Service from the hotel which was great, a personal attendant meets you just outside the walkway of the airplane and gets you into a cart and zooms you to customs, then picks you up outside of custom gets your bags and passes you on to the Hotel attendant at the airport....my limo wasn't ready but I had a quick espresso and they whisked me to the waiting Mercedes S Class with driver and hat and all....Very nice indeed...once you get in, you get a bottle of water and a cold cloth...very nice touch...
Ok, now when you arrive at the Hotel, its kinda like 5 people showing you the way to the desk or to the check in person, but I have to stress...this is so over the top amazing...I have never seen anything like that....I didn't even stop at the desk and was taken to my suite.....upon arrival I actually wanted the upgraded Oriental Suite and they accommodated me immediately (up-charge...). Now the Oriental suite is something else I tell ya....marble everywhere, 2 Plasmas, walk in closet, huge bathtub, HUGE Shower and 2 Marble Sinks, a work station and a sofa...amazing!
Now to the Service: My friend and I would joke about the room service....as soon as we went for a coffee or something....we swear they would rush into our room and make it perfect....we even tried leaving a towel on the floor and yup upon our 15 min return it was gone...haha....it was insane....I watched the turn down service myself and 3 people would come in like a Blitz and turn the whole suite into a cocoon of peace....music and all....absolutely stunning!!
We dined at the Michelin Rated Pierre on the top floor and it was very good and indicative of the one Star it received, I think to move up to the 2 or 3 star level they will need to add a few small things, however Pierre Gagniere was actually in town from France and we met him which was a treat...very heavy food but worth the experience and a beautiful view of HK...
The spa and gym were great also....
Now I visited the onsite Barber shop and let me tell you the Mandarin Wet Shave is an absolute MUST....man he even massaged my eyeballs!! haha...amazing shave...didn't have to shave for like a week....great stuff...
Breakfast was very well done in one of the restaurants and we tried the buffet which was fine....
All in All the Service is absolutely out of this world....I am currently at a 5 Star Hotel in South Africa and everything seems to bug me now after experiencing the absolute BEST.....I have been ruined by this experience...lol....but what you gonna do....just stay here and enjoy...I know I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel along Connaught Rd last April 16 to 18. This was our second time at the Mandarin Oriental. The location is ideal, for business trips and shopping. Landmark, a highend shopping mall with all name branded stores you can imagine, is a minute walk behind the hotel. Prada and Louis Vuitton are very near. The Hotel is close to the shopping in Queens Rd Central. Also accessible to shopping in IFC Mall.

The Hotel is also quite near to the bars and night life in Lan Kwai Fong.

For transportation access there is an MTR conveniently located at the back of the building besire the Mandarin. The Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui is a five minute walk. In the IFC Mall, you will also find the Hong Kong Stations of the Airport Express (where you can do an in-town check in of your bags rather than carrying them with you to the airport) and the MTR Tung Chung LIne (which will take you to Disneyland).

The hotel is also near the City Hall, where you can enjoy great dimsum lunch at Maxim's.

At the top of the hotel is the Man Wah Chinese Restaurant which serves excellent Chinese food. You have to try the fried rice!

As for the rooms, we stayed in a Superior Room last April, which was already very spacious. King sized bed, fluffy pillows, 50 inch HD TV, I-Pod Dock, etc. Wireless internet is also available at a price. The room also had all accessories you would need to connect your electronic gadgets to the TV. A small TV screen is also conveniently located in the bathroom area. The bathrooms come with a tub and bath with a two (2)-headed shower sprinkler. Bathroom toiletries are by Hermes (They smell so good!). We also stayed in a deluxe room with a Harbour View wherein you could watch TV in the bathroom while taking a shower.

The hotel also serves buffet breakast, with a mix of continental, american and chinese dishes.

It's an expensive hotel BUT you will definitely enjoy your stay. Perfect place to relax. You definitely would not mind not leaving the confines of your hotel room

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel exceeded in every department - service, food, location, rooms - the lot!
A brilliant experience and can only echo what others have said. Just book it.
Thank you Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

From the moment the Mercedes picked me up at the airport, the Mandarin provided one of the best hotel experiences ever.

The location is superb, close to the major sites and great shopping. Although I recommend a room with harbour view, the view itself is not what it once was. You either face a tall building or a huge construction site (no noise, though).

The regular rooms are not the largest in HK but the level of comfort is very high, including many unusual features. The hotel maintains a standard of housekeeping, including for the turndown service, that is now very rare in city hotels.

I tried several restaurants and two stand out: Man Wah for the Chinese food and the Clipper's lounge for the breakfast buffet. Each restaurant creates a different and very stylish atmosphere, and I also enjoyed the Chinnery and Cafe Causette (next to the excellent cake shop, where I bought some strawberry and rose jam). Two bars (M and Captain's) are smoking areas but only until the full smoking ban comes into force on 1 July (HK is a heaven for non smokers).

The hotel has a beautiful spa, with a very large and elegant fitness room, a fully equipped sauna (including hot and cold plunge pools), an indoor pool (rather small but with a stream that allows to swim laps) and a treatment area with a Chinese tea lounge. One unforgettable moment was the time spent at the Barber for a shave in a 1930s Chinese decor.

What really stands out at the Mandarin is the service, some of the best I have seen so far at any hotel, including in Asia (I also stayed at the Peninsula this time, and service was a big disappointment compared with the Mandarin). Just one example among many: while having lunch at Man Wah, I was escorted by a lady from the reception to the restroom, where a liveried butler opened the tap and handed me a towel and hand lotion (Connaught and Claridge's in London used to do this, but I am not sure they still do).

Definitely worth a trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.