We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to Mandarin brand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #5 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to Mandarin brand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Can not fault this hotel. Everything was of a very high standard as you expect of this brand. Received upgrade to Oriental Suite, great views, ice ready in room on arrival, good food, and lovely bar at top of hotel with great views. We stayed for 3 days, and wish it was longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    206
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
189
434
142
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

They don't miss much at this hotel. The redone rooms are very nice and there are many restaurants to choose from. The only negative is the food at breakfast. It is good but mostly cold and not as good as it should be. Also, it is subtle but the Mandarin gets a classy clientele...mind you, if you use the word classy...you have no class and don't know what it is!

Room Tip: Figure a way to get Barbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSHongKong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong and regret to hear that you are disappointed by our breakfast.

Please accept our sincere apologies and may we invite you to email us at mohkg-guestcomments@mohg.com that we may contact you directly. May we ask if you had breakfast in Clipper Lounge or Cafe Causette?

We assure you that your constructive feedback will be taken seriously and corrective action taken as appropriate. We also hope to provide you with a satisfactory response upon full investigation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aqua Chiu
Social Media & E-Commerce Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We just finished a four night stay here and it was perfect. From the airport meet & greet, check in at the room,service in the restaurants and concierge, it is just flawless. We travel extensively around the world and this is one of the best hotels anywhere. Do not hesitate to book the Mandarin, it is fantastic !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have been staying at the Mandarin-Oriental off and on for nearly a decade, and never get tired of it. There are many superb hotels in Hong Kong, but non of them compare to the understated extraordinary service a guest receives at the Mandarin-Oriental. I note understated because I have had the sense at other top hotels in Hong Kong that the staff are trying too hard to please. At the Mandarin-Oriental, superb service appears to come naturally. An example of this service was a member of staff seeing me clean my glasses with a tissue. When I returned to my room later in the day, I found a microfiber cloth awaiting me. Add to this level of service, the best location in Hong Kong, iconic restaurants and bars, exquisite fitness facilities and spa, and rooms and common areas that define comfort. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: There is no need for all the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just adore it here - between us this was our 30th stay! Incomparable service and attention to detail, down to baby proofing our room with corner protectors and electrical plug covers. We will continue to come back over and over again to our home away from home.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

One of the best hotels in Hong Kong. Service level is excellent. Rooms are one of the best. Location is excellent if you have work in HK island area. Next to all the major business areas and banks. Breakfast was amazing. A bit pricey but worth it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new norcia Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights after considering other hotels because of the high price. We had stayed here 4 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed the stay but prices seemed to have spiralled. We decided to splurge, book a harbour view room and feel like we were in HK. Check in was ok and we were shown to our room. We had been upgraded to a huge suite BUT the harbour view was minimal. We headed out for the evening but were not happy so on our return we raised this with the assistant manager. He apologised but could not offer a harbour view until tomorrow night. We negotiated a complimentary breakfast to compensate and then he offered to organise a car to take us to the airport at the end of our stay. Feeling happy and content when we moved to the harbour view room the contentment moved up a level. The small attention to detail ( jet lag roll on, eye masks and foot soother spray) which appeared one day after the other were a delight. The concierges were amazing. Their knowledge and suggestions were first class and the online and seat booking of our next flight was taken care of confidently. Everything is of an extremely high calibre and although you pay for it, they are a notch above the best.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbour view room to enjoy this magnificent harbour and hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.