We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When excellence is accompanied by tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #4 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
Milano
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
“When excellence is accompanied by tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed three tmes in this great hotel over the last two months. At the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong you feel the weight of a tradition of excellence the moment you walk in the front door. From the check in, to the rooms, to the room service, to the concierge desk, to the restaurants, the fitness centre evreything is faultless and obviously the product of decades of attentive management. It is a place where you are made to feel at home by al the staff, where you want to return over and over again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the iconic Hong Kong Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,065
    176
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
157
362
128
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Truly "THE" hotel to stay at whilst in Hong Kong. An historic time capsule, incomparable service, amazing, authentic restaurants and spa. Perfect location in the heart of Central. I return every time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited the MO a week before Chinese New Year and we could not have made a better choice.
From the moment we arrived until the day we left, we were treated like you would wish to be treated always in a 5* hotel. The staff on arrival welcome you by name and the checking in formalities are done professionally and quickly and within minutes of been to your room your luggage is there too.
We had a room with panoramic views over the harbour on a high floor as we had requested with a large floor to ceiling window. They even provide you with a pair of binoculars so you can watch the ships go by. The room is well equipped with everything you will need and the bathroom all in beautiful marble and with all top amenities.
The hotel has some of the best dining restaurants in Hong Kong, from the bar/pub on the ground floor, a Hong Kong institution in its own right, to a Michelin star Cantonese restaurant at the top floor with stupendous views across the city.
The location is the best for both business and shopping within walking distance of everything within the Central area. It's also close to the Star Ferry and the Peak Tram if you want to do some sightseeing.
I have been staying at the MO for many years and every visit is more pleasurable than the one before. In my view the best hotel in Hong Kong with the best hospitality and staff to match.

Room Tip: High floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I just finished a week long stay at the Mandarin Oriental, where I stayed with a friend to celebrate Chinese New Year. The location is fantastic and the service is mostly really really good to exceptional. The room layout is smart; it's not an overly large room, but everything was set up for you to actually use it. The fitness room and spa are also great and over the week we ate at 4 of the restaurants. So for service, when it was exceptional, it took your breath away how someone would member your name and what you liked, it made it all very personal. However, the concierge service was inconsistent, the staff in Cafe Causette tried to convince 'we' really didn't want to eat there, yet we watched them graciously admit others, and also the servicing of the room was quite inconsistent. Billing is a bit sad because when you pay over $700 a night, you just don't expect to have to pay $10 (especially when it is free throughout Hong Kong) for internet and get an additional $50 service charge when you eat at the included breakfast buffet. Just a bit strange - it's liked they haven't completely committed to being a 5 star establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong at the start of a two-week trip through China. It could not have been a more perfect stay. The service was excellent and the amenities were very nice and pretty. The location of the hotel is exceptional because it was near everything we wanted to see, including walking to the tram and the star-ferry, both of which are very fun and exciting. The concierge was also very kind and helpful, and helped us find the best restaurants and attractions. Overall, the stay was very pleasant and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Was in Hong Kong on a business trip the 2nd week of January. Had always been recommended to try MO. Well, I finally decided to try it out. And I must say, I am definitely impressed with the service provided and how meticulous they are in ensuring that their guests feel as comfortable as possible. I will commend especially to their In Room Dining team. They not only provided expedited service but was extremely detailed as well.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the3rdrock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hadn't been back for a while, they surprised me with an upgrade to a corner suite and a complimentary spa massage to make up for an issue I had on my last visit 5 years ago. Nice touch and pleasant surprise - I'd forgotten about the free massage!

The corner suite was excellent. Service, room decor, ameneties, Nespresso machine, walk in wardrobes, stand alone baths, super duper standalone showers etc were all faultless which you'd expect at these prices. The standard rooms can feel like an outstanding business hotel but the corner suite felt quite special. On par with The Oriental in Bangkok.

Whilst they couldn't give me a super late checkout, I was offered use of a courtesy room for an hour to freshen up before my late night flight. This was effectively a standard room which was more than adequate and much appreciated. Thank you hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter. Do ask for non-smoking if you prefer this, sadly in Asia people still smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.