We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Quality all the way. The Mandarin Oriental still stands head and shoulders above most other hotels in Hong Kong. Excellent facilities, top class service. At the heart of Hong Kong the Mandarin is ideally placed for business or pleasure. Indulge yourself and you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    232
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
211
478
154
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Hong Kong and China.Stayed once again at the Mandarin Oriental.What a fabulous hotel from the spectacular location to the rooms and staff,everything is top-notch.We had a suite which was perfection.The furnishings were beautiful the linen and towels beyond just good.I travelled with my fiancee Bea and she was bowled over by the entire experience.The staff waited on us hand and foot and we wanted for nothing.If I have ever stayed at a better hotel I can't remember.

Room Tip: It dosn't really matter but be guided by the check-in staff if in doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Mandarin in Hong Kong. Booked through Amex Centurion, therefore had the benefits... I was upgraded to a very nice Mandarin suite, which was amazing! Great friendly service throughout. The only downside might be some waiting time at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from two stays at this hotel - once at the beginning of a trip to mainland China and another for my last two days before returning home. I cannot say enough about the quality of the staff and the quality of the rooms. Everything down to the smallest detail is first class. I hope I can return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Really superb luxury hotel, with splendid location. We stayed here as part of our 3 week trip to Thailand & Hong Kong.

Arriving from Koh Samui after 8 days of relaxation, we were looking forward to Hong Kong as something very different! We had arrived over the Chinese New Year Holidays and found everywhere decorated and very festive, including the Manadrin Oriental.

Our room was on the 17th floor (out of 25) and on check in we were asked if we would like to move to a room with a front harbour view as there were to be fireworks over the bay to celebrate the New Year. We upgraded, I think the cost was very little, about $100 US, but the view was superb as was the firework show which lasted for nearly an hour.

Our room was adequate, not large, but then space in HK is at a premium, the bathroom was newly refurbished, and a little small. The shower was set up to flow onto the floor area beside the bath, so it splashed all over the tub etc, not well designed!

The breakfast in the Clipper Lougne was magnificent, with both wonderful waiter/waitress service and a huge array of both western and oriental foods of all descriptions arranged as buffet presentation - I counted 16 different fresh fruit options. A great way to start for a day of energetic sightseeing.

We did not eat in any of the other restaurants, as we were out most of the time, however we visited them all to see what we may have been missing. The view from the 25th floor Chinese restaurant was outstanding and we could quite see why it was so highly regarded.

When we came to leave, our flight was late at night and the hotel were able to arrange a late check out and we kept our room until 6pm with no extra charge - very helpful.

All in all a very stylish hotel, although now, one of the smallest building on the island, when it was opened in 1963 it was one of the very tallest; we would recommend it to visitors to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for a high level floor, and a room with a view across Victoria Harbour towards Kowloon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is definitely the best location for a hotel in Hongkong. Service is top notch, especially the Concierge staff. My husband and I had tea, what a wonderful experience from the silver to the pastries and the homemade jam. The services of the barber shop particularly the Shanghainese pedicure is phenomenal. Everything went well - room upgrade, late checkout, rooms now have a clothes steamer and coffee machine, I can go on and on...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The entire hotel staff could not have been more professional. We had a very serious situation happen to one of us that was not related to the hotel and every person from the hotel offered us help in any way we needed. They went out of their way to help us and offered assistance and checked up to see if we needed anything. Anytime we were walking in the hotel lobby at least one person from the staff would ask if they could be of any assistance to us. They could not have been anymore helpful to us. Everyone from the bell man all the way to the managers were top notch and could not have been any better. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I will defiantly be staying here upon my next visit to Hong Kong. The rooms were very nice and clean. Hotel in a good location. All around great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.