We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Retreat Offer
Ranked #5 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Asuncion
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Legendary Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for two nights during a recent business trip to Hong Kong. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. We booked for a double twin room since I was traveling with my brother. So, while they were trying to have our room ready, we walked around Central for about two hours, and when we returned, the room was still not ready. Another hour passed by and since it was taking way too long, they upgraded us to the ocean view room. I must admit that my expectations were a little too high because of the legendary reputation of this hotel. After having stayed in three Seoul Hotels before arriving here, I didn't find the service extraordinary. I really think the hotels in Seoul have the best services in the world.
What makes this hotel in Hong Kong a legend? Well, besides history and all the royals that stayed at the hotel, I think it is the great location. It is in the center of Central, where all the main corporate buildings are located. The rooms were luxurious and what I really liked throughout the whole building was that special scent. You could even smell it in the streets surrounding the hotel.
The concierge was very helpful with some reservations and inquiries we made. The gym is equipped with Technogym.
The waterfront is being redesigned with a great garden, so if you reserve an ocean view room in the future, you will enjoy a nice view of the garden and the Kowloon skyline on the other side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    200
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
180
411
137
631
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benahavís, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently stayed at the Mandarin and I have to say that every single member of staff truly understood customer service, It was a pleasure to see and to receive. All the staff went that extra mile when asked a question or for assistance. These days it is difficult to find this service and I think the management and staff really make you feel welcome and your pleasure and requirements is what they are their to provide. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many hotels not one of them provided the same service to me the customer as the Mandarin Oriental, I highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of a holiday or stop over in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Executive room, back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while on business in Hong Kong. This hotel is fantastic in terms of location, ambiance and service. Great welcome, very attentive staff, bedrooms luxurious and full of great touches and mod cons. Breakfast buffet varied and fresh. Gym on 24th floor well equipped and spacious. M bar on 25th floor - great cocktails, views and cool tunes! Location of hotel in Central is tops for business quarter and luxury shops/restaurants. Will definitely be back...

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Mandarin Oriental HOng Kong - what do you want more in life.................
I had the opportunity to stay again at Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong. Nothing changed - still one of the best Hotels I know in the world.
As we came from Doha and the Airline "forgot" our luggage in Doha we arrived without our luggage.
The Hotel ( concierge) was a great help to communicate with the airline and helped us to get the luggage as soon as possible. As we stayed only one night in Hong KOng and we had a quite long flight behind us - the Hotel helped us with a "survival box" We received in our room fresh underwear, t shirt, socks, shirt and additional toiletrees. Thank you soo much for this. It saved our afternoon and evening in HOng Kong. We could go for dinner in fresh and clean clothes.
Mandarin Oriental - just the BEST

Room Tip: try to get a room with Kawloon few - facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Ive spent two nights in this hotel for my business trip to Hong Kong. Location is perfect with a walking distance from the business district and the shopping stores, hence It doesn't matter wether you are there on business or pleasure, it is the place to be in. Excellent service is provided by all staff. The room is large and spacious. It provides study desk, separated toilet from the bathtub and the shower area, Hermes toiletries, nespresso machine, and a steamer to iron your cloth with instead of the ordinary iron! The gym was good in size with plenty of technogym machines. Last but not least the food quality in the Cafe causette is very good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently returned to the Mandarin HK and from the minute you arrive at the front door you are made to feel like you have come home.
Everything about the hotel just oozes charm and character. In the sixteen years I have been visiting it has been refurbished and modernised more than once but has lost none of its style and grace. Nothing is ever too much trouble regardless of whether it's restaurant reservations for the concierge or another pillow from housekeeping.
Now it is time to count the days until my next visit to HK and the MO.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We've travelled extensively across Asia, Australia and to a less extent Europe and this is possibly the best 5 star hotel ever. From the moment you're greeted at the entrance to the surprises you find within your room (such as "jet lag calming oil") you would not be disappointed. Yes it is expensive and possibly can't be justified as part of a big trip - BUT if you're in HK for only a few days and/or have a special occasion to celebrate then it's worth the splurge. The rooms have been renovated yet retain a uniquely Chinese feel, the gym is good and the location is perfect - only a few mins walk to the star ferry and central station. Overall loved it and would hope to be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.