We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Retreat Offer
Ranked #5 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,499 Reviews
Missouri50
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in October of 2011. Very nice hotel. Room set up was a tad strange, but service was impeccable. Way above board on service. Not sure as to value as someone else was picking up tab for room. Restaurant was good, as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    201
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
411
137
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just recently stayed for one night. this hotel is definately the best i have ever stayed in. The staff in every department couldn't do enough for me, they were friendly, efficient, reliable & helpful and nothing was too much trouble and the rooom was spacious, modern, clean, well appointed and quiet. Excellent location. Bathroom was modern and the shampoo and bosy wash were fab. The mini bar is well stocked and just such a nice touch. Fresh juices each morning and the cafe for breakfast had pretty decent coffee but an excellent atmosphere.

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I will be recommending it and it will be my go to hotel for my regular visits in hong kong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roches Noire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Splendid. Nothing more to say. The best staff ever encountered at any property. Rooms are perfect and the restaurants great. Don't miss the cakes at the cake shop. The concierge has to be one of the best i have ever come across. Don't hesitate to visit this landmark.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a really lovely night here as an anniversary trip. Room was beautifully done out with lots of great touches, like a swivel mirror in the bathroom with tv inset, hatch by front door so parcels, shoes etc could be delivered without disturbing you on top of all the usual amenities you would expect in an hotel of this type. An expensive place to stay, but a great decadent treat.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor (better views and less traffic noise) facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Mandarin is ideally located, the rooms are very nice, the service is impeccable and the views from the room and especially the lounge, are extraordinary. Although the food in Hong Kong is fantastic, the Mandarin's restaurant and lounge easily keep pace. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast overlooking the harbor every morning, and a likewise terrific dinner in the restaurant.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned to the Mandarin for our 2nd visit to Hong Kong and will do so again for our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It would be difficult to find fault with any aspect of our recent stay at the Mandarin Oriental. The hotel was also one of the few hotels we visited in Asia where staff throughout the building had a ready smile.

Our room 1824, was spacious and luxurious with giant windows overlooking the harbour towards Kowloon and binoculars were provided on the small table by the day-bed.

The black marble bathroom had Hermes toiletries, combs, sewing kit etc and in the box for the shower-cap there was also a scrunchy to tie your hair up and the first square cotton wool make-up remover pads I've seen. At the side of the sink was a swivel mirror the bottom of which was actually a TV screen that could be programmed separtely from the main bedroom. All the towels and bathrobes were snowy white, super soft and thick as a duvet with the embossed Mandarin fan logo and two sizes of slippers, red small and black large.

The wardrobe had a multitude of hangers both wooden and softly padded. The laundry bags were individually embroidered for washing, dry-cleaning and pressing and when the garments were put into the bag you had to place it in a cupboard at the left-hand side of the wardrobe and press the service button. The bag was then taken away without the need for disturbing you in the room, and it was returned in the same manner later in the day.

The room safe was easy to operate and contained a special Ronald Abram jewellery care kit with a special cloth for cleaning your diamonds and precious jewels!!!!

We had breakfast each morning in the gallery where service was quick and efficient (obviously catering more for business people than tourists). The buffet contained every type of meat, fruit, bread, cereals and any other choice you could think of and a separate area to the side where chef cooked to order. The salad bowls had wonderful giant wooden tweezer servers (so much better than the usual salad spoon and fork - I did ask the concierge if I could buy these or where I could get some but was told later that it would take months to order and send to me. I think this is a missed opportunity for the lobby shop which was lacking in imagination with the choice of goods for sale, so bathrobes, hangers and the salad tongs would be ideal.

We arrived on Sunday which is not a good day in Hong Kong as it is the day off for all the housemaids who congregate all over the island having picnics, dancing, meeting up with friends, etc so many of the streets are closed to traffic and the place is as crowded as Kowloon. Both restaurants in the hotel were closed for Sunday evening service but we found alternative restaurants closeby. We had drinks in the bar in the lobby each night before going out to dinner and found it to be a lively bar with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mandarin Oriental HK has surpassed my expectations in terms of service. From the time I arrived at the airport to the concierge pick-up (with a limousine) to the personalized check-in in my room (instead of the usual front desk) to the room service to the house-keeping to the dining experiences at the hotel's restaurants....I was greeted with warmth and friendliness every step of the way. Almost every one in the team took the extra effort to ensure that I was treated like VIP and made me felt so at home.
The interior of the room was impeccable and it was very comfortable with all the conveniences easily available, that it made me want to stay in the room the whole day, despite the buzz of the city life in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for nearly 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.